Focus on the Abs

Good Morning!! 

It’s Monday, but I’m loving it! :) (part of my new May goals) Fake it until you make it, right??! 

This morning I woke up & headed to the gym- it was an ‘off’ day for Making the Cut, so I did some HIIT training & some other arm exercises. 

3-2-1 Treadmill Workout 

Minute   Speed 

0-1          6.5 

1-2          6.5 

2-3          6.5 

3-4         6.5 

4-5         7.0 

5-6        7.0 

6-7        8.0 

7-8        6.5 

8-9        6.5 

9-10      6.5 

10-11    7.1 

11-12    7.1 

12-13    8.1 

13-14    6.5 

14-15    6.5 

15-16    6.5 

16-17    7.2 

17-18    7.2 

18-19    8.2 

19-20    6.5 

20-21    6.5 

21-22    6.5 

22-23    7.3 

23-24    7.3 

24-25    8.3 

25-26    6.5 

26-27    6.5 

27-28    6.5 

28-29    7.4 

29-30    7.4 

30-31    8.4 

And then an additional 3 minutes to makie it a total of 4.03 miles 

Time: 34:22, Max heart rate: 182, Avg. heart rate: 164, Calories burned: 466 

After my run I did an upper body work (all are 3 sets of 10 reps) Bench presses (started with 5 lb. each side (x2), and then did 2.5lb. on each side for the last set, deadlifts with dumbbell bar (I did it w/ a 30lb. bar), Shoulder presses (w/ 10 lb. weights), dumbbell bar curls (w/ 20 lb. bar), Tricep dips on bench& then squats w/ bar on back & 10lb. each side. 

I also did some ab work- 50 situps on incline bench holding a 10lb. weight, 10 reverse crunches holding on to the back on an incline bench (HARRRD), 30 v- situps, 30 v-crunches, 25 crunches on stability ball, 50 crunches on bosu ball, 20 bridges on bosu ball & some butt exercises. 

During these weight exercises I burned 200 calories & average heart rate was 125, and max was 161. According to Garmin, that is :) 

For breakfast I had 2 egg whites, a bagel thin with low sugar strawberry jelly & margarine, and 2 teaspoons peanut butter. 

Breakfast

I’ve been focusing on my abs a lot lately in my workouts because I really want to get more definition in them. I do different ab workouts everyday. My stomach is pretty much flat, I would just like to get some more lines- if that makes sense :) I don’t want it to be super cut, I just want the middle line & maybe a few others :) 

Here’s a picture I took of my stomach before I went out to the pool- NOT to worry, I AM in a bathing suit!! :) 

stomach 05/2010

Hopefully no one finds it weird that I am putting a picture of my stomach up like this- I would just like a comparison to use in a month. With some new ab workouts that I am trying, along with Jillian Michael’s Making the Cut, I want to see if there is an improvement. I know a LARGE part of abs is what you eat. I have also been trying to be more conscious of what I am eating, although I do not want to give up on certain foods entirely. I do not think it is worth that much. I do like my after dinner sweet :) I know I don’t need it every night, which sometimes I won’t eat it every night, but I don’t want to deprive myself.Anyways, that was my morning :) Hope you have a great day!!

Do you work your abs everyday?

What ways do you ‘spring clean’ your winter workout to change it for the summer?? (like do you add more time outside, or add more cardio/ weights)

Next Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Hey! I think you could totally lift heavier on those bench presses–try it, you might surprise yourself. Don’t be afraid to lift heavier! It’s good for hte body.

    And I only do abs about 1-2 times a week! Not much for me.

    Reply
  2. peanutbutterfingers

     /  May 10, 2010

    love the workout. i may have to print that one off. :)

    i work my abs 3x a week or so.

    Reply
  3. I don’t work my abs at all! Shame!

    Your stomach looks great already!

    Reply
  4. I really need to work on my abs…I really don’t. I know it’s terrible.

    Reply
  5. Your stomach looks great already girl!! You’re going to have a straight 6 pack by the end of your shred.

    I do abs 3x’s a week on weight days.

    I do more running outside once its nice out. I LOVE tanning & running at the same time. Haha :)

    Reply
    • Thank you- I hope so :)
      Lol- I agree- LOVE the tanning time that you get while running outside!! (although I get MAJOR sports bra tan lines- haha- in all of my senior pictures from high school you could see the lines SO bad- it was hilarious!!)

      Reply
  6. And your stomach already looks amazing :)

    Reply
  7. Every time I come to greekyogurtandappleslices.wordpress.com you have another exciting post up to read. One of my friends was telling me about this topic several weeks ago, so I think I’ll send them the url here and see what they say.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

