He’s Backkkk!

Hey Hey- I’m back- quick huh?! :) Craig’s home & I’m so happy! I hate when he’s away…so glad to have him home! And, just so everyone knows, sorry I am behind on my blog reading as well- I promise to catch up asap. I’ve missed the readings :( But I hope that everyone had a GREAT weekend.

Tonight’s dinner is brought to you courtesy of Courtney at Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life-
Ricotta, Spinach & Sun Dried Tomato Stuffed Chicken.

Ingredients

  • 1  cups  boiling water
  • 5  sun-dried tomatoes, packed without oil
  • 1  teaspoon  extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4  cup  finely chopped onion
  • 1  teaspoon  dried oregano
  • 2  garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 big handfuls of fresh baby spinach (I didn’t measure, just eyeballed it)
  • heaping 1/4  cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese
  • 1/3  cup  fat-free ricotta cheese
  • 1/8  cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon  black pepper
  • 2  (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

Preparation

(**Before preparing tonight’s meal, I marinated the chicken in some of my favorite dressing: Kraft Sun-Dried Tomato Vinaigrette.  I let is sit for about 4 hours, so the flavor was phenomenal.) I used Ken’s Olive Oil Vingarette-

marinating chicken

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine boiling water and sun-dried tomatoes in a bowl; let stand 30 minutes or until soft. Drain and chop. (<– I skipped this part, due to time & just chopped regular sun dried tomatos)

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, oregano, and garlic; cook 3 minutes or until onion is tender, stirring occasionally.

Add spinach; cook 3 minutes or until liquid almost evaporates. Add tomatoes; cook 1 minute.

Place spinach mixture in a bowl; cool 5 minutes. Stir in cheeses, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper.

Slice each breast half lengthwise, cutting to, but not through, other side. Open halves, laying breast flat. Place each breast half between 2 sheets of heavy-duty plastic wrap; pound to 1/4-inch thickness using a meat mallet or small heavy skillet. Sprinkle chicken with remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and remaining 1/8 teaspoon pepper.

Divide spinach mixture into 2 equal portions; spoon each down center of each breast half, leaving a 1/2-inch border at each end. Fold breast sides over filling.

before folding them over

Place in a baking dish sprayed with nonstick cooking spray and bake 40 minutes.

folded & ready for baking Remove from oven and top with an extra sprinkle of mozzarella cheese and fresh basil, if desired. ENJOY!baked & ready to EAT!

SOOOOO GOOD! Going in my book of MUST MAKE AGAINs! Delicious!! Thanks for sharing Courtney :D

On the side I made some Whole Wheat pasta (did you know it’s 40 calories less than normal pasta? only 180/ per serving! Not bad, huh?)

And I just put some plain marinara on it & a bit of cheese. Oh & I added some pepperoni for Craig..I picked it out.

And I made some whole wheat bread as well- LOVE my bread ;)

My plate.

This was the PERFECT Sunday dinner. Since we were both pretty hungry- really not much for lunch…so this was filling & tasted delicious!

Tonight I hear maybe a VitaTop calling our names?? :D

I’m off to spend some time with Craig! (& finish laundry..oh yay..haha)

Have a great night.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. That looks great! Enjoy Craig being home!!

    Reply
  2. YAY!! So glad you liked it!!
    I think next time I need to make mine with some pasta on the sides…YUMM! :-P

    Reply
  3. Glad craig is back!

    Reply
  4. YAY FOR YOUR MAN BEING BACK!!!! and that meal looks AWEEESOME! love stuffed chicken!

    Reply
  5. YAY! I am glad Craig is back!!!

    Reply
  6. I have been eyeing that recipe!!!

    Looks great! :)

    Reply
  7. Yay for your guy being back! :)

    Reply
  8. Enjoy your evening!!

    Reply
  9. Oh.em.gee. This looks OUTSTANDING!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

