Proper Deadlifts

Good Morning! Happy Sunday!

This morning I woke up like starvin’ Marvin. So I decided to have my favorite breakfast appetizer– a piece of banana plus some new peanut butter I got yesterday from Peanut Butter & Co- Dark Chocolate Dreams.

and I put some on my banana piece..

breakfast appetizer

This was perfect & it held me over while I made breakfast for Craig & I.
I had seen this recipe on Jessica’s site for Peach Muffins. Since I picked up peaches yesterday, I figured I would try these. I changed a few things- which you can see below.

Peach Pie Muffins
2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1/3 cup sugar Splenda
1 egg (I used egg substitute)
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup vanilla peach greek yogurt
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups cup chopped, fresh peaches
My addition: 1 cup chopped strawberries
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place muffin cups in muffin tins.
Mix sugar, applesauce, yogurt and egg until creamy. Add vanilla.

Add flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Stir until completely smooth.
Fold in peaches & strawberries. Spoon the batter into the muffin tins. Top with course sugar.

look @ that batter- YUM!


Bake for 15-20 minutes, until toothpick poked in center muffin comes out clean.

baked & ready for eatin'

Breakfast: 2 egg whites & a muffin…or two.

These muffins were DELICIOUS!!!! The peach/ strawberry combination was awesome. You should make these…you won’t be disappointed. :)

Now I have to announce my give-away WINNER– LISA!

computer screen @ 1000 comments

You probably can’t see the picture too well above- it’s hard to take a picture of a computer screen, but I didn’t know how else to show ya. But, it’s kind of funny that Lisa won, because I just won her give-away for her 5000th comment- which is the package that I received yesterday. :D Can’t wait to send it to her!

This morning I woke up to a VERY sore lower back…and I know exactly what I did. It was my workout yesterday, when I was doing dead lifts. I was trying to keep my form proper the whole time, but I know that I rounded my back a few times during the various sets :( That is the cause of my pain. So, I have some tips for you about how to properly lift when doing dead lifts. I just increased my weight too fast, and that’s why my form was messed up- I was straining to pick it up..which I should of known then, but of course I didn’t- I just pushed thru it- BIG mistake- I’m paying for it today. Alieve, here I come.Ā 

I got this article from bodybuilding.com.

First, it is important to distinguish between a semi-stiff legged deadlift (Romanian deadlift), conventional deadlift (pull starts from the floor and the feet are narrow), and sumo deadlift (feet are wide and grip is inside the legs, there is less of a bending at the hip versus conventional). Depending upon which version you are referring to, there are subtle cues that will help you avoid injury. Let me provide some general tips for any of these versions.

1. The bar should never travel away from the body, the bar should remain in close contact with the body throughout the lift. This cuts down on the stress on the low back because of the reduced lever arm.

2. Concentrate on pushing through the floor with the feet (more accurately the heels). This will allow you to activate the glutes and hamstrings more and feel less in the low back. If you fall forwards your weight is not distributed correctly.

3. Keep the shoulders retracted and depressed. This helps one maintain a neutral arch and prevent from excessive rounding in the back. It also assists in strengthening all the pulling muscles isometrically in the upper back.

4. Never keep the legs completely straight while pulling. At the very end it is alright to straighten out the legs, but not during the decent or initial pull. This causes excessive loading on the low back because the glutes can not be used as efficiently.

If you do not use these and many other techniques correctly you may strain the low back. <– this would be my problem :( Ā The pain you are describing may be one or combination of problems. You may have strained the ligaments of the Sacroiliac Joint, and/or pulled the Quadratus Lumborum which is a small low back muscle that could cause major pain.

proper form

Thank fully I don’t have MAJOR pain, but it’s just likeĀ a sore pain, but not a striking pain. So I’m hoping with some muscle reliever & some stretching I can fix this issue asap! Today I’ll be focusing on my upper body…instead of lower body. I was planning to do this anyway, but it will give my lower back some relief.

I really need to work on building muscle in my lower back, I feel like it’s too weak. Do you have any suggestions for some exercises I could do?? I know hyper extensions, but I just really don’t feel like they work that well. But I could really use some suggestions, if you have them :)

Well, I’m off to get ready to hit the gym with C. Hope you have a good day & I’ll be back later :)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing this. those information are very intersting!

    Reply
  2. Hey girl – hope you’re having a great weekend. You might try doing supermans or back extensions on a ball – lie on the ball with your feet secured under something and hips on the ball – put your hand on your head like you were being arrested (as seen on shows only of course) lower and lift. Oh, and those muffins….yum!

    Reply
  3. Melissa Wen

     /  July 14, 2010

    Hi, you have a new reader :)
    How good is Dark Chocolate Dreams? I actually picked it up without meaning too – I was going to the store to buy almond butter, but the price was crazy (about $34.00 for a jar the size of the PB company’s products), so I ended up buying this treat spur of the moment. Definitely worth it! (PS, the turtle burgers in your previous post are so funny!)

    Reply
    • Hi :D
      Thanks for reading! Can’t wait to read your blog as well.
      The Dark Chocolate dreams is good…I mean, honestly I’m SUCH a plain peanut butter fan, that I’ll probably just stick with that.
      I know- almond butter is RIDICULOUSLY expensive!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

