Bunny Food

 Breakfast this morning was a PURPLE monster :D Similar to the one I made on Monday morning. In this bad boy was: 1/2 cup strawberries, 1/2 cup blueberries, 1/2 banana, 1 plum (forgot I had those in the fridge!!), spinach, almond milk & lots of ice.

take a look on the inside...mmm

Smoothies are SO good on hot, humid Florida days. After a great leg workout this was JUST what my body wanted. Sometimes I really crave something to actually eat, but somedays smoothies are just perfect.

Today during my lunch hour, I ran to Publix to grab some stuff for tonight’s dinner & I also grabbed a box of this:

All Bran Buds

I have been looking for something else to put in my yogurt besides granola…& I wanted something with fiber. So after strolling up & down the while for a bit- I spotted this box & it won me over :)

I really liked these MIXED in with my yogurt. The thing is, I don’t think they would be very flavorful by themselves..like if I just ate a bowl for them. They tasted really grainy by themselves, but mixed in with yogurt, they were perfect!! I think if I were to eat them as cereal, I would have to mix them with something.

lunch- greek yogurt, watermelon, blueberreis & strawberries, cereal for topping

topped with All Bran!

This cereal looks like bunny food :D

This afternoon’s snack was some cherries, although I forgot to take a picture of them before I starting eating them..but I did manage to spare 2- which I captured..along with my latest issue of Oxygen magazine (my favorite)!

This afternoon’s workout was full of cardio; I started on the elliptical:

Minutes Resistance
0- 3:00 5
3:00- 6:00 7
6:00- 6:45 10
6:45- 8:15 8
8:15- 9:00 10
9:00- 10:30 8
10:30- 11:15 10
11:15- 12:45 8
12:45- 13:30 10
13:30- 14:30 8
14:30- 15:15 10
15:15- 16:15 6
16:15- 17:00 10
17:00- 17:45 6
17:45- 18:30 10
18:30- 19:00 7
19:00- 19:30 10
19:30- 20:00 7
20:00- 20:30 10
20:30- 21:00 7
21:00- 21:30 10
21:30- 22:00 7
22:00- 22:30 10
22:30- 24:30 7
24:30- 27:00 7
27:00- 30:00 5

Then I did 5 minutes of incline walking @ 3.5, 8% incline.

After that it was time for abs:
3 sets of 25 bosu ball crunches with 30lb. weight behind head (pulling rope)
3 sets of 10 stability ball passes
3 sets of 10 stability ball toe touch crunches
3 sets of 10 reverse wood choppers with 8lb. medicine ball- left side
3 sets of 10 reverse wood choppers with 8lb. medicine ball- right side

Butt exercises:
2 sets of 10 reps (each side): fire hydrants
2 sets of 10 reps (each side): fire hydrants with kick out
10 sec. leg hold in fire hydrant position- each leg

Total time: 55 minutes, Calories burned: 292, Max HR: 149, Avg HR: 120

For dinner tonight I made Jessica’s Southwest Chicken Salad

Southwest Chicken Salad

3 cups leafy romaine

4-5 ounces grilled chicken

1/4 cup black beans

1/4 cup sweet corn

1 ounce shredded, low-fat cheese

2 slices avocado, chopped

2 tablespoons salsa

1/2 corn tortilla

sea salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 400.

Slice tortilla into thin strips and spritz with olive oil. Top with sea salt and bake for 4-5 minutes, or until golden brown and crispy.

sliced tortillas

Combine all salad ingredients together, topping with grilled chicken. Add tortilla strips on top

the chicken I used- fajita flavor

crispy tortillas strips

hers & his salads

zoomed in :)

salsa for dressing

This salad was SO good- loved every bite of it. Even Craig, who normally does not consider a salad a meal, said it was really good. He said it was nice & light- which was good for the both of us…since he had just eaten a protein brownie thing before the gym.

For dessert, I also made another Jessica recipe :D I found her old blog- from a link off of a recipe that I was looking at on her blog now- and I found the recipe for Honeycrisp Apple Crisp

Honeycrisp Apple Crisp

2 honeycrisp apples

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup vanilla almond milk (or liquid of your choice)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons cold butter

Preheat oven to 375.

Chop apples and combine with 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon, salt, nutmeg and brown sugar in a small baking dish.

chopped apples

topped with cinnamon, brown sugar, nutmeg, & salt

In a separate bowl, stir flour, sugar and remaining cinnamon. Chop 1 tablespoon of butter and add it to flour. Mash with a fork until thoroughly combined and small bits of butter remain. Add vanilla and milk gradually, stiring as you go. You don’t want the mix to be watery or too thick. It should be somewhat sticky.

The flour I use- just for Kara :D

Spread dough on top of apples, and place in over. Bake at 375 for about 30 minutes, or until apples look juicy and topping is golden brown.

baked & ready for eatin'

We both enjoyed a little piece of this while watching Big Brother! Can I tell you that I’m SO glad Britney won the POV???! She’s really growing on me- I just think she’s funny.

Anyways, I’m going to call it a night- it’s late (for me) & I’m sleepy.

See ya tomorrow!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I am so glad you liked BOTH of them! :) Thanks for making them!

    Reply
  2. That apple dish looks so good. Nice workout too!

    Reply
  3. I will have to try that apple dish, it looks great! And what a cute bunny pic — so adorable!

    Reply
  4. Haha! Love the King A shout out!

    I’m all about the purple monster lately :-)

    I thought of you when Britney one, you’re girl is still hanging in there!

    Reply
  5. That bunny reminds me of Margaret Thatcher. Except Margaret Thatcher is way fatter. I hope someone sees this and thinks I’m talking about Margaret Thatcher the person.

    Reply
  6. I love that oyu added a plum! I bet that made it a little different!

    Reply
  7. Haha, I love that you’re calling the Bran Buds bunny food! I used to eat tons of Fiber One and everyone would ask if it was rabbit food!

    Mmm…The Honeycrisp Apple Crisp sounds yummy. I love fruit pies/cobblers/crisps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

