Iron Chef Vacation

It’s Friday EVE!! WOOHOO! :D

Hope you had a good Thursday- as I’ve said before, I really like Thursdays- everyone seems to be in a pleasant mood..@ least at my office. I guess it’s just the fact that you know tomorrow is the BIG Friday! :)

No morning workout for me today, decided to sleep in- I felt like my body really needed it, I was just getting exhausted..plus it wasn’t a great night’s sleep anyways. So I saved my workout for this afternoon.

Anyways, on to today’s EATS!
This morning started with 1/3 cup All Bran Buds, 1/2 cup Multi gran Cheerios, & 1/2 cup Fruit Loops <–haha! All topped with about 1 cup of Silk¬†Almond Milk.

Toucan Sam!

It looks all healthy..and then I add the Fruit Loops. :D They are just awesome, can’t avoid them!

the cereal mix + 1/2 banana on top

Almond Milk to-go

Ok, now I have to ask. I always eat my breakfast at work- it’s just easier & gives me extra time to get ready, prep for dinner, make Craig lunch, sometimes make coffee, etc. So I decided to bring my milk + cereal to work with me. When I showed Craig my ‘to-go’ carton (water bottle) in which I brought my milk with me, he said ‘eww H that’s gross’ I was like ‘how is that gross?? it was just water, not like it was a soda bottle.’ So- what’s your opinion, is that gross?

For lunch I did a repeat of last night’s Southwest Chicken Salad.

all mixed up- salsa for dressing

Delicious! I’m trying to mix up my lunches & it seems to be working this week :)
Along with it some watermelon & cherries:


For my afternoon snack I had Fruit Crisps- from Special K. Now these are really good, but they aren’t super filling. This was my last package & I will definitely be getting more because I do really like them.

My afternoon workout is courtesy of Jessica, or should I say Mr. How Sweet :) I was looking at her ‘Fit Bites’ section on her blog the other day & I happened to stumble upon some GREAT new workout ideas. This one was called Mr. How Sweet’s Interval Workout. Now this workout is NO joke. It is SUPER intense & had me breathing heavvvvy, but I enjoyed the WHOLE thing because I knew how GREAT of a workout it was :D
I started out with a 2 minute walk @ 3.5 then I began this KILLER Interval Workout- HIIT @ it’s finest ;)

Minutes Speed
0-5:00 6.5
5:00- 6:00 7.5
6:00- 7:00 9
7:00- 8:00 7.5
8:00- 9:00 9.1
9:00- 10:00 7.5
10:00- 11:00 9.2
11:00- 12:00 7.5
12:00- 13:00 9.3
13:00- 14:00 7.5
14:00- 15:00 9.4
15:00- 16:00 7.5
16:00- 17:00 9.5
17:00- 20:00 6.5

After this I walked for 1 minute @ 3.5.

Then I headed over to do some plyometrics & ab work.
I did THREE sets of this:
10 jump squats
10 jumping jacks
10 burpees with a jump @ the end
10 plank jumping jacks
10 plie jumps

Ab work:
3 sets of 10 Russian medicine ball (10lb. ball) twists
3 sets of 30 sec. plank holds
(^they were supersetted)
3 sets of 10 V situps holding 10lb. medicine ball

KILLER WORKOUT & a COMPLETE SWEATY MESS..but pure love for it ;)

Total time: 39:51 minutes, Total Calories: 317, Max HR: 191, Avg HR: 155

Now onto a new dinner- I have been seeing QUINOA everywhere in the blog world & I had YET to try it..until tonight :D Tonight I made: 

Quinoa & Black Beans

Ingredients

  • Cooking Spray
  • Turkey Kielbasa, diced- I used Jennie-O brand
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped
  • 3/4 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 tbsp. Dried cilantro (or you can use fresh, I just didn‚Äôt have it.)

Directions

**Let Quinoa soak (in water) about an hour before cooking**

1.      Heat the cooking spray in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the turkey kielbasa, onion and garlic, and saute until lightly browned.

2.       Mix quinoa into the saucepan and cover with vegetable broth. Season with cumin, cayenne pepper, salt, and pepper. Bring the mixture to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes.

Stir corn into the saucepan, and continue to simmer about 5 minutes until heated through. Mix in the black beans and cilantro.

Serves 6 or 4 (if you have one hungry boy to feed :D )
Along with this I made some Jiffy Corn Bread. I think I’m obsessed because I have to have it at least once a week. Is there anything you find yourself making at least once a week??

 

my dinner :)

¬†Quinoa is GREAT!! I can’t wait to make it again! I was actually looking around & I found a peach muffin recipe that uses it…so I might just have to try that this weekend.

Now I have a question, or a few questions for you. I’ve mentioned it before, but just in case you missed it, Craig & I are going on vacation this Tuesday! It’s his family’s tradition & I have been going with him¬†since we met. He’s been doing it since he was born- it’s just their family thing- I love that! But anyways, this year some of his cousins have decided that we should do an Iron Chef type of competition-

a lot of people in his family like to cook as well. Well, they decided to pick the teams by drawing names out of a hat & my partner is Steve- Craig’s cousin. Steve is hilarious & always cracks me up..and he can cook- so I feel like we have a pretty good chance of winning this thing! :D We have been thinking of different menus & I think we are going to try to stick to seafood, & lots of fresh fruits & veggies in the meals. For our drinks we are doing watermelon mojitos-YUM!!

Do you have any suggestions from grilled shrimp or just great shrimp recipes in general??

I think I have decided on dessert- which is a type of peach cobbler, although that’s not 100% yet either.

So any great¬†seafood / summer/ grill/ fresh fruit recipes that you have, i would LOVE if you shared- if you don’t mind! :D

I know you guys always have great suggestions & I can’t wait to hear them!

I’ll see you tomorrow- FRIDAY!!!!

nice running shoes, huh?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Mr. How Sweet’s workout is intense! I would be afraid to try that one. And I could see myself bringing milk in a water bottle for cereal. It’s not like you mixed the milk and water. That would be gross.

    Reply
  2. I would totally bring soy milk in a water bottle. Hope you’re having a good night!

    Reply
  3. I don’t see a problem with the milk in the bottle, what’s wrong with that? And yes, thank God for Friday… Longest week EVA!!

    Reply
  4. make jambalaya or seafood gumbo!!

    and no, nothing wrong with the “to-go” milk bottle.

    Reply
  5. beastly workout girlie!! you are a machine! haha i love your to go milk bottle! gotta get your calcium in somehow, right?

    love me some good ol fruit loops!

    Reply
  6. I don’t think its gross to bring milk in a water bottle at all. I think it’s a really smart idea to eat breakfast at work, it must save a lot of time!

    Reply
  7. The Iron Chef Competition sounds so fun!!! I wish my family did fun stuff like that. Instead they are just really mean to each other. My favorite recipe for shrimp is probably shrimp scampi. But I think shrimp eggrolls would be good also. Or shrimp fried rice. Dear god I’m hungry now.

    Reply
  8. Iron Chef contest? How FUN!!! I love grilled shrimp sprinkled with cajun seasoning. I usually make it as an appetizer.
    As for fresh fruit, I’ve been wanting to make rainbow fruit kabobs for a long time but haven’t gotten around to it yet.
    I don’t think your bottle of milk is gross at all! I put juice and green monsters in all sorts of containers!

    Reply
  9. I love eating kiddie cereals, i never got to eat them as a kid though…Milk in a bottle seems fine, water better than vodka in a bottle!

    Reply
  10. Ooh I like that interval workout! And don’t worry, there’s nothing gross about the milk in the waterbottle! I have quite a few grill recipes on my blog, but this is one of my favourites: http://bit.ly/clb9Gv

    Reply
  11. Okay so the milk in the water bottle….I don’t think the concept is gross but I think it looks gross. haha! Does that make sense??

    Reply
  12. wow what a DELISH dinner!!!
    i LOVE kid cereals.. LOVE cinna toast crunch! DROOL. isnt it the BOMB?
    that workout is killer girlfrand!
    hahaha i LOVE the milk on the go! thats awesome

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

