New FAVORITE Breakfast

Good Sunday Morning!!

Sorry I didn’t have a chance to post my dinner last night- twas a bit of a crazy night- & I just lost track of time. AND I went to bed at 9pm- haha- I’m just such the party animal ;)

Anyways, for dinner, I had to improvise…since as you know, I can’t use the oven. BUT on a good note, we have a guy coming out tomorrow to find out what’s wrong & to fix it! WOOHOO! So I’ll have my oven bacccckkkk! YES :D

With no oven, I turned to the crock pot. Crock pots are the BEST! I love how you can just throw a bunch of stuff in there & then a few hours later, it’s ready for eatin’- so easy & so good.

For my recipe, I turned to Ms. Courtney’s Blog & found Slow Cooker BBQ pulled chicken.  I knew I wanted chicken..just didn’t know what exactly, & then I found this :)

BBQ Pulled Chicken

-4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts

-1 can Campbell’s French Onion Soup (10 1/2 oz.)

-1 cup ketchup

-1/4 cup cider vinegar

-3 tbsp packed brown sugar (*I accidentally omitted this…totally forgot!  But I didn’t even miss it.)

-1 bottle smokey bbq sauce (*In my recipe, I didn’t measure, I just added until it looked coated enough-maybe 1/4-1/2 cup)

Directions:

Mix soup, ketchup, cider vinegar, and brown sugar.  Pour over chicken.  Cover and cook on low 8-10 hours, or high 4-5 hours, or until done.

Remove chicken from slow cooker.  Cool slightly, then shred using 2 forks.  Return chicken to slow cooker & add bbq sauce.  Mix and reheat through, about 5-10 minutes.

I followed her instructions exactly, & also made it just for the two of us. This recipe is for 4, but I just downsized it for 2- as she did as well.

I served it on Arnold Sandwich Thins.

Along with it I made corn & ‘healthified potato salad’

Here’s my recipe for potato salad:
-1lb. red potatos, diced
-1 container plain greek yogurt
-2 tbsp. dijon mustard
-1 1/2 tbsp. garlic salt
-1 1/2 tbsp. Old Bay
-salt & pepper
-2 hard boiled eggs, chopped

some of the ingredients

Boil the potatos until they are cooked, but not mushy. Then let the potatos cool a bit & add the remaining ingredients to the bowl.

my dinner plate

That was dinner :D Delish!! Perfect summer meal. Everything about it reminds me of summer- like cook outs, bbqs, etc.

I hit the bed earrrrly last night, was just not up for much. Kind of a rough night, but nothing that sleep couldn’t fix ;)

Last night I was trying to think of what I wanted for breakfast this morning & I KNEW I wanted French toast. Well, I was planning to get Julie’s recipe for French Toast strips, but when I went to her blog, I found something EVEN BETTER- I could not believe my eyes. I had to remind myself not to drool…it looked that good. :D She had created Banana Almond Stuffed French Toast- YUMMMMMM!! As soon as I saw this, my mind was COMPLETELY made up.

I only changed a few things- I did end up making strips, instead of toast..and I didn’t have almonds, so I melted 1 tsp. peanut butter to drizzle over them, as well as a sprinkling of coconut.

toast strips

2 eggs + cinnamon

I made it for both Craig & I.

Craig's plate + some eggs with cheese for him

my breakfast

This was AAAA- MAZZZZZZZZZZING! SERIOUSLY- one of my favorite breakfasts EVER! Thank you SO much Julie :D You rock!! Love all of your creations.

Well, I’m off to the gym shortly & then to catch some sun…oh & then pack…BLAH! I hate packing.

Hope you have a wonderful Sunday Funday :D

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Yay for crockpots! Hope you woke up feeling better today. Sometimes sleep is what the doctor ordered. Have a great day!

    Reply
  2. YUM girl! Glad you tried the crockpot chicken – no you’re making ME want to make some for tonight!! :)

    Reply
  3. I made french toast strips with eggplant since im cutting back on wheat. I swear its so good, you cant even taste the difference.

    Reply
  4. That chicken looks amazing!! And I love your healthified twist on potato salad. I really think greek yogurt may be the secret ingredient to all things yummy & healthy. And Old Bay = mmm! :)

    Reply
  5. Make me that chicken when I come visit. Haha, I don’t have a crockpot (I initially spelled that out crackpot…oh my), but I should probably get one for the new apartment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

