We Fist Pumped ALL Week Long ;)

So, I’m back from the JERSEY Shore!

Sorry today has been kind of crazy, wasn’t able to do a post at work. Just catching up with work stuff & finalizing all of this stuff for Craig’s 30th birthday party. It’s been VERY a bit CRAZY. I’m super excited that we are leaving again in 9 days – back to Maryland, but it’s just a ton to plan out.

Now on to the trip we just went on :)
Our flight out was at 6:50pm- out of Orlando. My sister took us to the airport, & we arrived with about an hour to spare, so we strolled the stores, got some magazines & some other goodies. Then it was time to board the plane.

snacks for the plane/ dinner :)

reading material

getting vacation started on the plane! Craig's on the left, mine on the right

We landed in Baltimore around 9:15pm- caught up with Mike & Steph in the airport, got our luggage & then headed to Wildwood, NJ. We stopped along the way for some food- I got a turkey sub. Finally we arrived around 12.30am. We were all exhausted & I was ready to hit the bed. We all said ‘hi’ to everyone & then I had a nice date with my pillow ;)

The next morning, Wednesday, the boys- Craig, Mike (his brother), & Mr. Phil (their Dad) had a golf tee time at 9:30am- so they were off around 8:30am. I headed out for a run & then got ready to go to the beach with the crew.

I think I mentioned it before, but this trip to Wildwood is something that Craig’s family has been doing even before Craig was born. It was something his grandfather started a long time ago. Ever since then the families have been going every year & they keep growing :) When Craig & his family + cousins were growing up, they met 2 other families that go every year as well- and the same week they go (always the last week of July). These 2 families are from Philly; Craig & his family are the Baltimore group :) Here’s a picture of the group:

Wildwood 2010 group

And the group keeps growing! Babies, babies everywhere :D Love it!

Anyways, so the boys went on their golf trip & the girls headed to the beach- me, Steph & Mrs. Chris (<– Craig’s mom).

typical breakfast- sandwich thin + peanut butter &banana; & oatmeal

 We were laying out on the beach for a while, but around 2pm, Steph &amp; I decided it was happy hour time!! Oh ya, this vacation was FULL of booze. But hey, what are vacations for right?! ;) We headed up &amp; made drinks, came back to the beach for a bit, & then hung out at the pool for a while.

not really our drinks, but pretty, right?

My drink of choice is ALWAYS Coke zero, vodka & 2 limes. If you know me, you know this is what I drink :D

Wednesday night was NOT a good night for me, I started feeling sick. I couldn’t tell if it was sinuses or something I caught from the plane, since I catch EVERYTHING on plane rides..blah. Stupid weak immune system. So everyone was planning on going out to Flip Flopz- which is a local bar- but I was DEAD. I was really feelin’ whatever it was & there was NO WAY I could even consider drinking any thing.

Flip Flopz- outside

But, I had a date with:

Craig ran out to get this for me after dinner. I told him to PLEASE go without me, so he headed out with the group & they all hung out for awhile- I think he got home around 2am or 3am..I have no idea since I was at peace with the pillow ;)

Thursday morning I woke up & felt a bit better- I think it was just lack of sleep from the past couple of days- not getting much sleep before vacation because I was excited, then the night we got there, it was SO late..so I just needed to good ol’ zzzzzz’s. :D

Now Thursday was a day I had been looking forward to. This would be the day we went to the Water Park!!

 BUT this also meant that we would be getting those FANTASTIC fruity, vacation kind of drinks with the umbrellas!

Now, I have to do a BRIEF re-cap of last year’s adventure to the water park & beach club (<–which is the bar). Mike, Steph, Craig & I went here last year. Mike & Steph had been there before, but it was the 1st time for Craig & I. We rode the water slides for a bit, then we all hit the bar. And, this is a SWIM UP BAR!! YES a swim up bar in a hot tub! HOLY MOLY welcome to vacation! So we were all sitting in there, having our drinks, talking about life, & people watching…which was hilarious. Well, these drinks are $9 each, but they are WELL WORTH the $9, if ya know what I mean. So we were just ordering a few rounds here & there…but then we were all finishing up drink 4 (OMG 4 drinks!!) & I whip out my credit card &  decide that we should all have ONE more..I was beyond gone @ this point. So we all get one more & let me tell ya, I don’t remember much after this. It was one of the FUNNIEST walks back to the hotel that I’ve ever had. Apparently I was doing splits on the board walk &  we were all DYING laughing. When we got back to the room, Steph & I decided that Mike & Craig should have Crown Royal shots, but WARM!! What the heck?! Warm Crown Royal shots?! hahaha!!

Needless to say it was a VERY interesting afternoon when we went to the water park last year!! :D I didn’t make it to dinner that night, I went to sleep around 6pm- haha!! OH SO fun & sooooo many memories. We STILL laugh about it.

So this year I KNEW there was NO way I could handle 5 drinks!! I stuck to just 2, & I wasn’t feeling 100% anyways…so I wasn’t quite myself..which was kind of a bummer. We had a great time & a lot of fun with the group. (the 4 of us + Craig’s cousins & their wives- 8 of us total)

shots, shots, shots

Friday & Saturday were pretty much the same as Wednesday- lots of beach time!! :) It was so nice just to sit back & relax- much needed.

Friday night was also one of my favorite meals- CRAB CAKES!! TRUE Maryland LUMP crabcakes!! YUMMMM

we hated it, obviously

Saturday we also decided to go on the Boardwalk before leaving. I mean ya have to- it is Wildwood :D

'watch the tram car'

games on the boardwalk

We went to a bar/ restaurant to meet up with Craig’s best friend growing up (one of them). The place was called Joe’s Fish Company.

We hung out for a bit, & then called it a night. We headed back to the condo & I packed up most of our stuff.

Mike, Steph, Craig, Me

The next morning we packed up & then headed back to Maryland for our flight how- the ride takes about 2 and 1/2 hours…not too bad. Mike & Steph dropped us off @ Craig’s parents house  around 12.30pm & we had about 5 hours until we were going to head to the airport. I took a brief nap & then decided to kill some time I would go on a run. It was about 2pm there- which for me, the weather felt GREAT compared to running in Florida. Well, I learned the importance of hydration. After drinking more than I normally do (liquor I mean), I was definitly NOT hydrated at all. So, around mile 3 I headed back to the house to grab some water & then I went back out again to do another 3 miles. After getting some water in my system I felt SO much better. It’s amazing how a little water can really help ya ;)

Our flight to head back home was scheduled for 7.40pm…well, when we got there it slowly got later & later. We didn’t get off the ground until around 8:45pm..uhh! But, hey I guess better late than never! Before our flight we grabbed some food @ a restaurant in the airport- actually sat down instead of just getting fast food to waste some time.

asian chicken salad for me

smokehouse cheddar burger for C

You’ll NEVER guess who we saw in the Baltimore airport- RALPH NADER!! He was there signing autographs for his books. So immediately I whipped out my camera & asked Craig if he thought it would be ok if I asked Mr. Nader for a picture. He said he thought it was fine…I headed straight over & he happily agreed after asking if Craig was my brother, I was like ‘ew, no!’ haha!

me (bad pic) with Ralph!

When we finally landed, around 10.40pm, my sister & her husband came & picked us up. She’s having a BOY by the way!! :D They are soooooooooo beyond excited!! And so am I! Craig & I actually picked up a baby t-shirt for them, in blue of course, that said “Pinch Me, I’m Cute” with a little crab on it. It was so cute, but I totally forgot to snap a picture of it.

This morning came WAY too quickly. I did not go to the gym this morning- I don’t think I could of opened my eyes at 5am..I could barely at 7am. One thing I did keep up on vacation was my exercise:
Wednesday: 4 mile run on the beach
Thursday: 4 mile run on board walk
Friday: 3.5 mile run + random drills during run- 50 lunges each leg, some push ups, some tricep dips, etc. (I think people thought I was crazy) More like a boot-camp style workout
Saturday: 1 hour bike ride with Craig- covered about 9- 10 miles
Sunday: 6 mile run in Maryland with lots of hills <-my favorite! (seriously)

So, today I am taking OFF & catching up on our MOUNTAINS of laundry. Oh how I love the laundry. NOT!

this is how I feel

Does laundry ever end?????

This morning’s breakfast was back to the usual- Egg whites + Sandwich thin with peanut butter & 1/2 of a banana.

For lunch I didn’t really have any fruit at the house & since I had to go grocery shopping during my lunch break, I just grabbed some summer rolls at Publix- with shrimp. DELICIOUS! Perfect lunch :D Also, grocery shopping during your lunch break is great because you have such a limited time- I had to STICK to my list! No wondering off & spending more money.

shrimp summer rolls

& 100 calorie pack of Cheese -Itz

Around 4.20pm I was feeling hungry, but didn’t know what I wanted, so I had a sugar free double chocolate pudding snack- only 60 calories- & it tasted great :)

Tonight’s dinner is courtesy of Ms. Courtney!  Ever since I saw her make this Cheesy Chicken & Rice Casserole, I have been DYING to make it but since we were having oven issues, I couldn’t. Once the oven was fixed I knew EXACTLY what recipe I would be making asap! My changes are noted below.

Cheesy Chicken & Rice Casserole

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 2 3 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 2 cups instant brown rice
  • 1-3/4 cups water
  • 1 can reduced-sodium heart healthy condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 2 cups salsa
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1-1/2 cups cheddar cheese (I used fat-free- I did too)

    ingredients

Directions:

  1. Cook brown rice according to directions on box.
  2. Meanwhile, place chicken breast halves into a large saucepan, and fill with water. Bring to a boil, and cook for 20 minutes, or until done. Remove chicken from water and cut into bite-size pieces.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease an 8×11 inch baking dish.
  4. In a medium bowl, mix together cream of chicken soup, onion, and salsa.
  5. Layer 1/2 of the rice, 1/2 of the chicken, 1/2 of the soup and salsa mixture, and 1/2 of the cheese in prepared dish. Repeat layers, ending with cheese.
  6. Cover with foil and bake in preheated oven for about 20 minutes, or until bubbly. Remove foil & cook 5 minutes longer. ENJOY

    layer #1

    all ready!

    dinner- served with green beans- just like Courtney did :)

Well, I am SUPER tired, probably going to call it an early night tonight- ready to get back to my routine tomorrow- early gym date :D But, it’s good to be back! I’m still trying to catch up on all of my reading- I promise it will happen- don’t mind my comments being way late!!

Have a great night :)

Oh, & I’m going to join Lisa on this 30 days of insight idea- I love it! Although I might start it a few days late- probably tomorrow!

Day 01- Guilty pleasure.
Day 02- Something that inspires you.
Day 03- The five songs you would have with you on a desert island and why.
Day 04- What you imagine paradise to be like.
Day 05- A thank you letter to someone who has changed your life.
Day 06- Earliest thing you can remember.
Day 07- Favorite cover of your favorite song.
Day 08- Someone you think would make a good president.
Day 09- Five things you want to see change.
Day 10- A dream you had this past week described in detail.
Day 11- Favorite picture ever taken of yourself.
Day 12- Your favorite musical artist’s life story.
Day 13- A memory that never fails to make you laugh.
Day 14- Best mashup you’ve ever heard.
Day 15- A moment, phrase, or song that has changed your life the most.
Day 16- Something that you want to do within the next five years.
Day 17- What you want to be remembered for.
Day 18- A picture that makes you feel.
Day 19- A passage from a book that has touched you.
Day 20- A band that you immediately liked and the song that made you like them.
Day 21- Your favorite medium of art.
Day 22- Someone you would give your life up for without question.
Day 23- Most awkward first impression you feel you’ve ever given.
Day 24- Something you did as a child that other people remember you for.
Day 25- Something you would do if no one stopped you or if you knew you wouldn’t fail.
Day 26- Your definition of love.
Day 27- Your definition of the meaning of life.
Day 28- A moment you remember being completely happy in and a description of why you believe you were. What is your definition of happiness?
Day 29- What you live for.
Day 30- Ways you believe you have grown over the past thirty days.

I’ll leave you with some more pictures from the trip :)

Craig's cousin Brian getting iced

tuaca shots

Craig's cousin Shawn with his kids

Mike & Craig

hanging out on the porch

Steph, Me, Aunt Char & Kristen

Craig (eating) & me

pig that Mike won for me @ the boardwalk

view from the condo

Next Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Holls i missed you so! My favorite part of this post is of course Ralph Nader. I’m super jello of you. You look very cute on vacation, dear. I’m glad your bloggy is back!

    Reply
  2. First off, laundry never ever ever ends. I am so not looking forward to catching up on laundry when I get back home. sounds like you had a fantastic weekend!

    Reply
  3. Looks like SO much fun! Im jealous of your weekend.

    esp the water park part. Im a kid at heart and love those places.

    Reply
  4. Looks like such a great time! So funny you wrote “watch the tram car” because that’s one of the first things I always think of with Wildwood!
    Did you happen to get fudge from Douglass Fudge?!? It’s my FAVORITE!!! :-D

    Reply
  5. Looks like such a great vacation! I love the look of those fruity drinks: )
    Congrats to your sister on her baby boy!!

    Reply
  6. This made me smile…looks like a fabulous time!!

    Reply
  7. Looks like so much fun!!! Welcome back!!!

    Reply
  8. Love that you posted the pic of your airplane drinks..gave me a chuckle..haha!

    PB on sandwich thins rock!

    Reply
  9. What a great little vacation! I am so jealous of the swim up bar — I hope to go to one of those ONE DAY. That pic of the guy covered in laundry: story of my life (and yours too it sounds like!)

    I saw you posted on Biochemista about TurboFire — I am using that program too and LOVE it — I get so much energy from doing those dvds, and after you do them once or twice you know the routines pretty well.

    Reply
  10. so fun! great pics

    Reply
  1. Wedding Vow Ideas « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

