They REALLY DO taste like Donuts

Hey!

Sorry I didn’t do a post this afternoon, I have been pretty busy at work. I haven’t said anything yet, but I’m re-taking my insurance exam tomorrow…so this week has been full of STUDYING. I am honestly bound & determined this time…I HAVE to pass it. I’ve been studying so much- and even making flow charts & flash cards to help me :) Gotta do this!

Oh & I don’t know if I will be posting tomorrow due to studying for the test + our drive to Jacksonville.

I also found out today that I will be taking on a NEW position at work! I’m SO EXCITED. It’s kind of a promotion- more work- which is awesome. I’ve been kind of bored at work lately, just not much to do. But now I’m taking on a TON of new work! YES!! Honestly it will make my days fly by now…instead of counting the minutes.

This morning I did a chest/ shoulder/ ab workout, similar to this one…but I just took out the back exercises & added ab exercises. I got that workout plan that I told you about from Muscle & Fitness Hers & I LOVE the ab exercises that they have- so that’s what I’ve been using for some new ideas.

Then I headed to the treadmill & did:
10 minutes- starting @ 6.0 then increasing by .3 every minute- ending with 8.7. Finished with a 2 minute walk @  3.7.

Total time: 52 minutes, Calories burned: 226

I was going to write my workout out, as usual- like each & every move, but I think everyone just kind of gets a bit sick of it…so I’ll just keep it to a minimum.

For breakfast I started with a Green monster- decided to switch it up a bit, but I still added my FULL scoop of protein powder.

GM to go

drivin' to work

I got to work & OF COURSE I knew I had to include some Manna bread in my breakfast :) I tried my favorite kind of bread- Sourdough. This was called Sunny Sourdough.

1 piece + SF strawberry jelly

I REALLY liked this bread. Not only is it SOURDOUGH..but it was CRUNCHY too. SO good!!! The only thing was that I didn’t like was that the piece was TOO small- haha! This was one of the flavors that they included that just had 1 slice per package- I think because it is their new product. But I LOVED it!!

For lunch I switched things up- YES- I am trying to change ;)

big ol' salad!

In the mix:
-mixed greens
-1 hard boiled egg white
-some strawberries & blueberries
-turkey lunch meat
-& a few croutons

I topped it with some FF Raspberry vinegarette.

Of course I had to have some of this:

Along with my salad I had another slice of MANNA Bread, but the Carrot Raisin one this time.

Another A+++++. SERIOUSLY so good. You can actually see the carrot flakes in this bread- I really like that. And one of the best things about this bread is that there are NO ADDED SUGARS. It’s all natural sweetner. Love that. Also the raisins were mushy, no hard like I have had in other raisin bread before. So many good things to say about this one. I didn’t even add anything to it- just ate it by itself & enjoyed every bite.

My afternoon snack was going to be the typical apple + pb– but when I went to reach in my lunch bag, there was NO apple. Apparently I forgot to grab it this morning. Oops! So thank goodness I had another small slice of sourdough left. I had that with some pb smeared on top.

warmed up bread + creamy pb= perfect combo!

While I was @ lunch today I ran some more errands to get some more things for Craig’s birthday party. Now I wish I could tell you / show you what I have been getting but I’m afraid the little sneak might find out.

see what I mean, sneaking some cake @ Easter

 Anyways, I did NOT do an afternoon workout, INSTEAD I spent it making/ working on some stuff for Craig. I’m SOOOO excited for him to see everything. He went to the gym for a little bit so I had the house to myself to work on it. When he got home I wasn’t ready for him yet, so I made it close his eyes & I led him upstairs so he could shower while I finished up & cleaned.

Dinner tonight is brought to you by my favorite go-to girl- Jessica!

 http://www.howsweeteats.com/2010/07/26/parmesan-ranch-crispy-chicken-fingers/. (for some reason it wouldn’t let me link it, just put the whole website in)

Parmesan Ranch Crispy Chicken Fingers

1 1/2 pounds chicken tenders

2 cups lowfat buttermilk

1 packet ranch seasoning mix

2 cups panko bread crumbs

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

found this spicy Ranch @ the store, so I decided to use that instead- kick it up a bit :)

Combine buttermilk and 1/2 packet of ranch mix in a baking dish. Add chicken tenders to buttermilk. Marinate for 2 hours or overnight.

I marinated them & let them sit while I was @ work.

Preheat oven to 450.

Combine panko, parmesan, remaining ranch seasoning and flour in a large bowl. Coat chicken pieces in panko mix, then lay on a wire rack sitting on a baking sheet. Continue with remaining chicken pieces. Spray each piece with cooking spray or olive oil.

before stickin' em in the oven

Bake for 10 minutes, flip, coat with cooking spray, and bake for another 10-15 minutes

Ready Freddy

I also made some Alexis roasted potatos + mushrooms + green beans & onions.

my dinner + some other roasted veggies I heated up from the other night. I hate to waste them.

I LOVE those chicken tenders & so did Craig. Jess is AWESOME & never lets me down with ANY of her recipes, so thanks again! :)

I also made these: Muffins that Taste Like Donuts.
We are going up to visit my parents & Craig’s aunt in Jacksonville for the weekend & possibly going to see a Sun’s game tomorrow night- depending on what time we get there..& the weather. So, I thought I’d give these a shot & bring some to the ‘rents :D They always love children bringing gifts- haha!!

I decided to ‘health-ify’ them, so you’ll see my changes noted below.

Ingredients:

  • 1-¾ cup Flour whole wheat flour
  • 1-½ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoons Cinnamon
  • ⅓ cups Oil apple sauce
  • ¾ cups White Sugar Splenda
  • 1 whole Egg
  • ¾ cups Milk (I used Almond Milk)
  • _____
  • FOR THE TOPPING:
  • ¼ cups Butter 1/8 cup margarine
  • ⅓ cups White Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

Preparation Instructions

Combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.

Combine oil apple sauce,  sugar, egg and milk. Add dry ingredients and stir only to combine.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. Meanwhile, melt the butter in a bowl. Combine the white sugar with the cinnamon in another bowl.

Shake muffins out while still hot. Dip muffins in butter, then into the sugar/cinnamon mix. Let cool.

before the topping

eat me eat me!

The moment Craig laid his eyes on these bad boys, he instantly grabbed one. And I instantly heard ‘these are REALLY good.’ He says 5 outta 5!!! ROCK ON! I tried a 1/2 of one (so far) & they REALLY do taste like donuts- like cake ones. Delicious!! I suggest you make these..and fast ;)

Have a good night- I’m off to study & catch Big Brother.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Holy yum those look delicious. I havent had a donut in so long…those muffins would be a good substitute!!
    Also, love all that yummy looking bread! And what awesome sounding flavors! I could eat a loaf of bread a day (i don’t, but i could lol).

    Reply
  2. Holly you know I am terrified of Ranch dressing. How dare you. Lol just kidding. But really it terrifies me. Congrats on your promo, I’m sure you deserve it my little worker bee!

    Reply
  3. whooohooooo for new layout!

    and anything that tastes like donuts I’m all for!

    Reply
  4. I like your new layout! The muffins look pretty amazing! I hope Craig has a wonderful birthday!

    Reply
  5. Congrats on the promotion. Hope you have a safe drive to Jacksonville! I am 2 episodes behind on BB right now. Just want to toss it out there – Rachel yells too much…..as in talks REALLY LOUDLY. What is up with that?

    Reply
  6. Oh.Dear.ME. You should not have posted this recipe…I have a soft spot for donuts and MUST try these :)

    Reply
  7. Isn’t the carrot raisin bread AWESOME?!? I wish I had more of it! :)
    I’ve been seeing these donuts all over blog land. They’re definitely a must-try for this weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

