He’s 30!! (& engaged) :)

I’m STILL here- I promise :D

Sorry I have just been a bit overwhelmed since we got back- already got RIGHT to planning everything. I have my colors picked out – which are SO not hard to guess- black, royal purple & a silver accent color…OH YES- for the Ravens :) I always loved the royal purple color, even before I met Craig & loved the Ravens…but then with my proposal, it works out PERFECTLY! I also have the date- May 27th, 2011- it’s a Friday evening. We are going to probably have it near the airport, only because SO much of his family is flying in to be at the wedding…and if I haven’t told you yet, Craig’s family is HUGE. We are probably going to look at a few venues this weekend. I have been emailing & contacting venues this week. So to make it more convinent for them, I thought it would be nice to do it near there- like at a nice hotel. Honestly I don’t care about having the ceremony in a church…never a big deal for me..and since we are not members of any churches here, it just is not a priority. That’s ok, right?

Also, work has been CRAZY CRAZY CRAZY busy- which is AWESOME! I honestly have had no time to do any browsing of the websites- I have been doing all of the wedding planning on my lunch break. But I can honestly tell you that I do really LOVE my new position- it just keeps me on the GO GO GO!

So, I just wanted to let ya know that it might be hit or miss for a bit with the posting. But, know that I’m still going to try to keep up with my reading & commenting! Love you all :)

Here’s some pictures from over the weekend:
Friday night we had crabs (I actually didn’t eat ANY- can you believe this?!?!? I was SO caught up in conversations about the ring, wedding, etc that I kind of had a liquid dinner..along with a few appetizers :) )

mmm steamed crabs!

even closerrrrr

steamed oysters

Craig with another cup that I made him- this one said '30' '8.14.10'

Nati Bo- ever had it? It's MD beer

Tuaca shots...OF course- it's a family thing :)

After this we went to a local bar- DuClaws and celebrated Craig’s OFFICIAL turning 30 at midnight.

the group!

oh HI drunk fiance ;)

all of the girls

no more pics...paaa-llleeassee :)

The next morning Steph & I run to the grocery store so that I could get all of the supplies I needed to make desserts for Craig’s surprise party and I also got the guys a round of golf- part of Craig’s surprises for the day :) When Steph & I got back she had to take a nap- poor Steph, she was feelin’ the night before- and then I got to work!! I used a bunch of Ms. Courtney’s recipes-
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

Chocolate PB Cup Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

and together…

cookie dough cupcakes and peanut butter cupcakes

and more desserts…Cookies & Cream Cake Cake Mix

and SOME more cupcakes- SNICKERS cupcakes!! I forgot to take a picture of them individually, but you can see them below on the table :) So I had Reeses’ cupcakes, cookie dough cupcakes, Snickers cupcakes & Oreos cake!! Plenty o’ dessert!

THE dessert table- all homemade!! :) More cupcakes too- but they wouldn't fit on the table

Everyone LOVED these- thanks, Courtney :D Sad part though..I honestly didn’t eat dessert- if I drink & then mix it with sweets it is just not a good combination for my tummy- but everyone was RAVING about them!!!!

Here are some more pictures from Craig’s SURPRISE 30th birthday party:

picture of the bar I rented for the party- MaGerks, Bel Air, MD

SURPRISE!

US with my NEW ring ;)

SoCo and Lime shots for Craig & Mike :)

gatorade shots- SO good!

Mike- best brother EVER & me

oh boy- you can tell it was a fun night..just from this picture- haha :D

After his party ended around 11pm- we were going to go out..but we ended up at home & I went STRAIGHT to bed. I was exhausted. and I fell straight to sleep- lol!

Sunday we lounged around- Mike & Steph made all of us an AWESOME breakfast- whole wheat pancakes, eggs with tomatos & basil (YES I ate WHOLE eggs- not just the whites), bacon (which I didn’t have..of course), cantelope- SO YUMMY!!

We flew back on Sunday night- around 7pm after the MOST AMAZING weekend of my LIFE!! :D :D I still can’t believe I’m engaged!!

Now I have to share something more ‘blog-ish’ but I had a revelation- I only worked out on Thursday morning- 5.5- 6 miles-  when we got there and Friday afternoon- but due to stomach issues I could only get in 2 miles- BLAH! I took Saturday AND Sunday off- which I had not done in probably MONTHS, even YEARS…but I felt ok about it- of course I had other things to occupy my mind with..but it did cross my mind a few times. I also indulged in different foods that I normally don’t eat and then I also drank…A LOT, which I never really do either- but it was a special occasion- engagements and 30th birthdays only come ONCE in a lifetime! :D

So of course, when Monday morning rolled around I was up at my usual 5am, but I was TERRIFED to get on the scale, thinking it would be ridiculously high- I didn’t really feel like I gained weight, but I guess just from all of the not normal eating & drinking I figured that I would. Well, GUESS WHAT?! My weight actually went down like 6 lbs!! Crazy, huh!? Honestly, I think maybe my body really liked the little mini 2 day break..and it probably liked having all of those foods- something different & so enjoyable. I think it just helped me realize a LOT- life is about LIVING not about counting every calorie or freaking out about missing ONE gym day or being so caught up in your eating habits ALL of the time- go out and LIVE your life & LOVE every minute of it- it’s SO short to not enjoy.

LOVE to you all xoxo

Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Awe I am glad you had so much fun!!! The desserts looked so cute :) very cupcake professional looking. You better try to keep up your blogging bc i living vicariously through you – regarding the wedding planning. haha. AHH i am still so happy for you!!!!!

    Reply
  2. I’m so happy for you – I know you’re on cloud 9! Life is about balance not calorie counting and making sure you get in x number of hours in the gym. Life’s too short for that. Gotta enjoy sometimes ;-)

    Reply
  3. Great post Holly. Wow, your happy for you.

    Reply
  4. Melissa

     /  August 18, 2010

    As a young woman who is actively suffering from an eating disorder, I can safely say I will no longer be reading nor following your blog. I’ve noticed over the past couple weeks, how frequently you’ve been emphasizing your eating habits, or lack thereof, almost “bragging” in a sense about having a “liquid dinner,” and so forth. For someone who claims to have battled eating struggles herself, it seems to me, a bit counterproductive to be using phrases and language this way. It is not healthy for yourself, nor your readers. I urge you to really look into the reasoning behind why you feel it is so important to emphasize in your blog your extent of restriction. Restricting, as I personally know, is NOT something to be proud of. It is something that we should try our best to improve upon, no matter how hard it may seem. I, myself am now taking the leap to truly try and re-establish health, after two hospitalizations and outpatient treatment over the course of 6+ years. I hope you will do the same.

    Reply
    • Honestly, this is my blog..and I’m just stating how I PERSONALLY feel. I don’t know if you read it correctly at the bottom of my page, when I said how I felt about LIVING LIFE. I was not bragging about not eating, honestly, the reason I didn’t eat crabs was that you have to take off your rings when you eat them because you get crab stuff all in them, and I KNOW that sounds kind of silly, but that’s the truth. I didn’t want to take my ring off…AND I did say that I ate other things that were there. Obviously you have not been reading for long because I do state AND SHOW how much my eating habits/ etc have improved. Everyone has bad days- it happens- but no longer do I but so much emphasis on food & calories in my life.
      But, honestly, totally fine that you do not want to read my blog any more. I speak my mind & say how I feel. Sorry that it upsets you.

      Reply
  5. Holly—have you ever seen Weeds? I think Andy on Weeds looks a lot like Craig! You should look it up—his real name is Justin Kirk.

    And you truly sound happy–and you are already so on top of your wedding! I love it!

    and dont be dismayed about the above comment. I think you are doing the best you can with food and exercise and throughout the course of your blog you can see the growth and progress you’ve made–and hopefully you will continue to make because I dont think you are there yet–but you are getting there and that’s ALL that matters. I know Im proud of you!

    Reply
  6. I totally agree with you. A healthy life is a balanced life, and if no one takes time to enjoy relaxing days off from the gym, or treats once in a while, what’s the point?

    And I’ve been on vacation and now catching up on blogs so CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am so happy for you and you have great proposal pics :)

    I just read the above comment. I have total respect for those with eating disorders who are trying to overcome them, but it doesn’t give the right to pass judgement onto others. Don’t let it get to you girl :)

    Reply
  7. Hey girl! SO GLAD everyone enjoyed the cupcakes – they look fabulous!! :-D I want to go and make more of them now…

    And like the others said, don’t let anybody’s comments get to you. Like you said, you write your blog for YOU. You have no obligations to write for anyone but yourself, so remember that. You are one snazzzy lady my dear!! ;)

    Reply
  8. holy dessert table. so jealous. congrats again!! your blue dress is so cute and i love the belt you paired with it. the pic of you hiding in the bar seat is so funny!

    Reply
  9. Laura

     /  August 19, 2010

    OMG you haven’t taken two days off in Years?! that is totally nuts hon. Really. I’m glad you realized that taking days off doesn’t make you gain weight. It’s a good idea to take time off, a full week off would probably be good for you.

    Looks like you had a fun weekend! congrats on picking your wedding date! Wedding planning is a bit stressful, but it can be fun too. Just stand up for yourself, don’t let other people dictate your choices etc. I know it can be tough, everyone will be pulling you different ways, and the vendors will be jacking up prices and pushing their most $$ option on you… Just remember, on the day nobody notices little things only how happy you guys are. As long as there is decent food and plenty of booze it will be a Great party. have fun!

    OH and if wedding planning takes up your time so you can’t work out as much, don’t worry – that’s normal! I didn’t work out as much coming up to my wedding, just didn’t have time with family around, stuff to do etc. But I think I was a couple pounds lighter than usual even, I didn’t gain at all and the dress fit perfectly.So don’t stress out! you will look beautiful :)

    Reply
  10. His party looks so fun!!! You did such a nice job organizing it and surprising him!

    As far as weddings go, whatever you want is okay! Don’t worry about what anyone else thinks :-)

    I love the purple/black/silver Raven’s colors!!! How exciting!

    Reply
  11. Holly how exciting! I am so happy for you!

    The bday party looked like a lot of fun. What is a gatorade shot? — I must google that.

    Reply
  12. Well done on Courtney’s treats! They make me drool instantly!

    Your ring is beautiful and suits your hands so well :)

    I think there is something to be said about being busy and being happy…sometimes it’s not all about the workouts, but really, truly enjoying life. Good for you!

    Reply
  13. HOW COULD YOU GET ENGAGED WHILE I WAS AWAY???!!!!!! omg yay yay yay. Congratulations dear! I’m so happy for you both :)

    Reply
  14. Lindsey

     /  October 28, 2010

    Ha! Magerks! That’s awesome! I live in Bel Air and am a Team in Training runner and we always use Magerks for our fundraisers. Awesome food and drinks and great atmosphere. It’s nice to find a MD blogger (no one else ever posts about yummy MD crabs! haha).

    Reply
  15. I love, love, love this! And your wedding colors are the colors in my bedroom. ;) I didn’t even plan the Ravens color-coordination!

    Reply
  1. The Story of Us. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. My Beliefs. « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  3. Bacon & Cheese Stuffed Chicken « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  4. Our Wedding Photos Have Arrived! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  5. It Was A Sign. | Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

