Flower Friday!

Happy Friday All :D

Isn’t it weird how 4 day weeks always so feel long?? Or is that just me? Of course, I LOVE the 3 day weekend, but then I know the week back is going to draaaaaag on. But thankfully now it’s FRIDAY :D Woop Woop!

So, I have been trying to be creative & think of a cool slogan for Friday- I think I’m going to make every Friday a wedding -theme on my blog..until my wedding- which is May 27th, 2011. You know how some people do ‘Flashback Friday’ or ‘Fashion Friday’…well, what’s a good one for Wedding Friday?!?! I need your help ;)

Anyways, today my topic of conversation is flowers & how they will be used in the wedding. Maybe we can call it ‘Flower Friday’ today- or ‘Florist Friday’ or ‘Floral Friday’- ok, ok, I’m done :D

My wedding flower is the BEST flower ever (well in my opinion ;) )

THE SUNFLOWER!!

I’m honestly NOT a big flower person at all- like for holidays/ anniversarys/ birthdays/ etc- I’d much rather get something I can have forever, not flowers that die…although I won’t be complaining if I get them! :) And, as for having flowers- like actually planting them…that doesn’t work either- I typically kill plants- oops!

So I was trying to think of where I want to incorporate flowers into the wedding. I really don’t want them all over the alter- maybe just a few here & there- but not bushels & bushels of them. I kind of just want to keep it simple.

For the bouquet- I just want sunflowers- no extra flowers, leaves, baby’s breath, etc. For mine- I just want to a have few more flowers than my bridesmaids.

kind of what I'm looking for- with purple ribbon :)

Now, on to the fun part- the cake! Here are some ideas I found online. Now, try to imagine the cake with my colors- black & purple – maybe white & purple though..just for the cake.

idea #1- remember- purple where the black/brown is.

I don’t know why I LOVE this cake idea SO much- Craig told me it looks like something out of a Dr. Seuss book- lol!! But, that does make sense- I LOVE Dr. Seuss books :D

idea #2- purple where the yellow is :)

Now, this one is a bit more simplier than the previous one, but I still think its pretty.

idea #3- RAVENS cake!!

Haha- just kidding about the last one :) Although, it is pretty cool! I’m thinking about getting Craig a grooms cake too- have you heard of those? He had no idea what I was talking about. Not that I would really of expected him to. But, I think if I do, it will definitely be something Ravens related- not this elaborate though. This one was the one that Duff made on Ace of Cakes for Haloti Ngata. (<–he’s one of my favorite players on the team. I have his jersey too :) )

I really want to get my cake from Publix- I LOVE their red velvet cake- that is definitely the kind of cake I want! We both love it! I hope they can kind of go on these ideas for the cake. :)

Now, I was also just borrowing on google for some different ideas & I happened to come across this picture:

my color purple with sunflowers!!

Notice the dress that they have in the background? That is the same color that my bridesmaids dresses will be. My mom was kind of wondering if they would look good together…and I happened to see this picture & thought it was perfect! So, I sent this to her as well. She said they do look good together, and I agree :) I’m glad it’s all working out!

I also found this picture:

rings in the sunflower!

I thought this was sooooo cool too- definitely going to have to tell my photographer to get this shot :)

Now, for centerpieces. I wasn’t originally going to have flowers in my centerpieces…I was going to do something different- not quite sure- but no flowers or candles. But then my Mom mentioned the idea of keeping the theme from the wedding to the reception- which obviously includes sunflowers. So, then I got to thinking- and I do want to have them as my centerpieces, but that’s it- just simple sunflowers- maybe like 3 long-stemmed ones in a clear vase with clear stones at the bottom…or purple if I can find them :)

kind of like this idea.

Idea for place cards for the table:

top right is the idea

See the picture at the top right? I’m thinking of doing that for the place cards. Maybe just getting a bunch of the sunflowers themselves- no stems- just the flowers- and maybe even artificial ones for the place cards. I think that is actually a good idea- to use fake ones instead of real ones for these- since they will be laying on the table.

That’s all I have for now for ‘Flower Friday!’ But, before I go, I want to share with you what I had for dinner last night!

I’ve been on a buffalo sauce kick ever since trying Julie’s Buffalo Chicken- which Craig is now asking me to make again! Told ya, that boy can’t get enough of the stuff! I told him I got it from one of the blogs I read, and he said to please tell her THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! :D While browsing another one of my favorite blogs- Jessica’s- her recipe for Buffalo Chicken Burgers happened to catch my eye. And they are paired with Ranch- DOUBLE YUM!! These burgers were quite the buffalo treat ;) I just changed two things-   I baked them instead of pan frying or grilling them (425 degrees for about 25- 30 minutes) and I used Hidden Valley Light Ranch instead of bacon ranch, since I don’t eat bacon. (sorry Jess! I know how much you LOVE your bacon :D)

after baking them

served on a bun

all together now- served with seasoned fries & green beans

Now I can’t wait to make Liz’s Buffalo Chicken Meatballs! Told ya, buffalo overload ;)

Hope you have a GREAT weekend!!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. peanutbutterfingers

     /  September 10, 2010

    hooray for wedding friday!!! love the idea! :) so fun.

    your sunflower theme seems to fit your personality perfectly. it will be beautiful!

    Reply
  2. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  September 10, 2010

    Love the Friday wedding theme! I think the sunflowers look awesome with the purple, too. There are tons of ways you can incorporate the sunflowers throughout the wedding. The cake could have sunflowers! Haha. Too much? ;)

    Reply
  3. I am so glad you guys like the burgers!! :)

    Reply
  4. LOL – that totally should be the groom’s cake. Jason’s was a chocolate raspberry truffle cake. I love the tablescape idea. So pretty and cheerful. I have to agree with you that short weeks sometimes feel so much longer. I can’t figure that one out for the life of me. It seems worse when I’m off on Monday too. Being off on Friday isn’t as painful.

    Reply
  5. Love wedding Friday. Sunflowers are a great flower idea. The round cake is fantastic!

    Reply
  6. So pretty! I can so see you liking sunflowers…simple and playful :)

    Reply
  7. Sunflowers are one of my faves! So happy :) And will look great with purple too :)

    As for centerpieces, you can do individual cakes on small platforms. This would work really well for your Publix cakes because it wouldn’t be a ginormous cake (meaning lower cost).

    Or candles are always classic and gorgeous as centerpieces.

    Reply
  1. Chocolate Cake Batter Pancakes « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices
  2. Monday Madness « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

