Nothing Like Your Own Bed

Well hello there :D

I thought I’d take a little break from studying- my brain is TOTALLY fried- to tell you what I’ve been up to lately. First things first- Monday night dinner. I was TOTALLY serious about having chicken puffs for left overs on Monday night.
Instead of mashed potatos, I made some Kraft macaroni & cheese- which was whole grain! I will NEVER give up my Kraft macaroni & cheese..but I will buy the whole grain on occasion ;)

Chicken puff dinner- part II ;)

They were JUST as good as the first time! If you haven’t made them yet…I highly suggest you do.
Then came dessert time. I happened to see a recipe for Apple Crisp on Courtney’s blog & I wrote it down Monday & made it that night. I couldn’t help myself…and of the pictures were mouth watering :)
I made a few changes to the recipe, indicated in pink:

Ingredients:

Apple Base:

  • 2-1/2 lbs. tart apples, peeled & thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour I used wheat flour.
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Topping:

  • 3/4 cup flour again, I used wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar I used Splenda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 6 tbsp cold butter or margarine I used 3 tbsp. of light margarine
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup chopped nuts (optional) no nuts

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place sliced apples evenly into the bottom of a 9×13-inch baking dish, sprayed lightly with non-stick cooking spray. In a small bowl, mix brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Sprinkle evenly over sliced apples. Bake for 10 minutes.

In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Cut in butter, using a pastry cutter or forks. Stir in oats (and nuts if desired) and spread evenly over the top of your apples.

Cook for 30-40 minutes longer, or until lightly golden brown. ENJOY

THIS ROCKED MY SOCKS!! :D I LOVE apple crisp & I LOVE the addition of the rolled oats in this recipe.

pre bake

baked & READY to eat!!


I wasn’t able to eat ice cream with mine (due to the dairy issues) but this picture of Craig’s (with vanilla bean) is much prettier than without ice cream ;)

Thanks Courtney for the recipe! I’m adding it to the recipe box :D

Tuesday morning started off with another run! I have been trying to increase my miles lately…just since the half marathon is coming up in no time.
I just like picking up speed as well- so I did 6 miles- all miles 8:30 & under. Not too bad- still would like to pick it up a bit.

Before heading to work, I stopped off at 7-eleven to get gas for my long drive that afternoon.
While the gas was pumping, I headed inside to get some coffee. Sometimes coffee that you DON’T have to make just tastes to much better, agreed?! :D

I found out they are doing something with Snoop D-O-G-G- I think it’s to help underpriveledged kids- not too sure. But the cup made me think of Snoop’s songs…so of course I was rapping on my way to work ;) You KNOW you wish you could of heard that one! :D

Tuesday morning’s breakfast was delish- Chocolate peanut butter banana oats! (<– quite a name, huh!?)

In the mix:
-1/3 cup rolled oats
-1 tbsp. DARK chocolate dreams peanut butter
-1/2 banana
-enough water to cook the oats

YUM! That dark chocolate peanut butter is the bomb!

Lunch was the usual- you know the routine. :)

When I arrived at my hotel on Tuesday night, I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms. The room I’m staying in is HUGE & it’s not a suite- just a regular room. I made sure to get a hotel with a mini fridge & microwave in the room so that I could just bring food from home. SO much easier than trying to navigate myself around an unfamiliar city.

Here’s some pictures of the room:  (don’t mind the mess ;) )

love seat

few of the messy desk & closet area

King sized bed with temper pedic mattress

Despite the HUGE bed…and the comfy mattress I woke up literally EVERY. 30 MINUTES late night :( UGH!!! I had an AWFUL sleep. I think it’s just because I’m not in my own house & I can really ONLY sleep with MY pillow (why didn’t I grab it!?!…and I’ve honestly never stayed in a hotel room by myself…so it was kind of scary! haha- I know I sound like a big baby…but, it was a whole new adventure for me!

Despite the lack of sleep last night, I hopped out of bed @ 5am- since I really couldn’t sleep anyways- and hit the hotel gym for a bit.
I forgot to take pictures this morning, but I will tomorrow. It’s really small, but it had a treadmill, stair stepper & full body weight machine…enough to get a good workout in!

I did one of my favorite incline workouts:
Minutes                  Speed                    Incline
0-5                           6.0                          0
5-6                            3.5                          5
6-7                            6.5                          5
7-8                            3.5                          6
8-9                            6.3                          6
9-10                         3.5                          7
10-11                       6.1                          7
11-12                       3.5                          8
12-13                       5.9                          8
13-14                       3.5                          9
14-15                       5.7                          9
15-16                       3.5                          10
16-17                       5.5                          10
17-18                       3.5                          11
18-19                       5.3                           11
19-20                      3.5                           12
20-21                      5.1                            12
21-22                      3.5                            13
22-23                      4.9                            13
23-24                      3.5                            14
24-25                      4.7                            14
25-26                      3.5                            15
26-27                      4.5                            15
27-30                      3.5                            0

After getting excessively sweaty, I headed to the stair master to get in 5 more minutes on there. The machine was SO old, I seriously thought that it was going to fall apart! lol!!

Then I finished up with a bunch of ab stuff.

I was pretty happy with the workout, especially since I was running on like zero sleep.

While I was getting ready for the conference I was STARVING. I thought my stomach was going to eat itself! I finished getting ready & headed downstairs for breakfast. I had to eat quick, since I had a limited amount of time..or so I thought. I grabbed an English muffin with jelly & ate 1/2 of a banana with peanut butter. I also ate a mini blueberry muffin while my English muffin was toasting..I seriously could NOT wait.

After SCARFING down my breakfast, I headed to the conference. I THOUGHT I had to be there around 7:45am to check in. Well, apparently I need  to check my reading skills- it wasn’t until 8:30am!! GRR!! Oh well, I just hung out in my car…tried to nap, but the sun was SUPER bright.

The conference went really well this morning. I feel like I learned a TON. I feel better about some things that I had some questions on- the teacher really went over things well.
We had a lunch lunch break around noon-
I headed back to my hotel room to get my lunch, some leftover minestrone soup & bread. I also had this for dinner last night too- minus the bread.

After my soup, I was still hungry..so I dug into these babies:

I LOVE cheetos!! & what I love even more is that they have BAKED cheetoes :D Wooohooo!!

I ate some of these..and wound up with cheese fingers:

YIKES!!

So, random Craig fact: He HATES when people lick their fingers. Like these fingers for instance. He thinks it’s disgusting when people lick their fingers after eating. & now I HATE it too. I can’t even look @ people when they do it. After he told me that it bugged him, I started noticing when people did it, & then it grossed me out too.
So, I headed to wash my fingers & get ready for round 2 of the conference.

Before going back, I had to get some fuel:

the ultimate pick me up :)

Grande iced coffee with one pump pumpkin spice & splenda.
mmmmmmmm

Even though I chugged the coffee, by 3pm, I was just DEAD. I was trying SO hard to pay attention, but first I was freezing & then my lack of sleep was REALLY catching up.
I stuck it out though & when I got out I headed right back to the hotel room to try to get a nap in. No much luck, but it felt good to close my eyes.

Tonight’s dinner…which I will be eating shortly, is from Publix :) I really am kind of over having soup….and thought these would be perfect:

shrimp summer rolls!!

Well, I’m off to go & eat dinner.
I’ve already packed up my stuff- I’m SO ready to go home & see my hunny bunny :D

Tomorrow night is pretty much my only free night- all of the other days & nights until Wednesday November 17th will be spent studying……
And tomorrow night is:
THE KICK OFF OF THURSDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL!!!

& GUESS who’s PLAYING!?!?!!?

RAVENS RAVENS RAVENS :D

I’m off- I’ll catch up with you when I’m home!!! :) Have a great day tomorrow!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I LOVE cheetos too. I had to stop buying them b/c I seriously ate 2 bags (not the snack size) a week. They were hands of for anyone else too. There really is nothing like sleeping in your own bed.

    Reply
  2. Your breakfast with the english muffins looks like a happy face.

    I have been early or shown up for things that were canceled so many times erg. Those shrimp roles look so yummy. Care to mail some here?

    Reply
  3. YAY! So glad you liked the apple crisp! I need to make more. ;)

    Reply
  4. I have those plates! :) I’ve managed to totally cut out frozen TV dinners and I wanted to do the same to the boxed junk but KRAFT MAC N CHEESE IS MY WEAKNESS! I still buy it myself, hey it’s whole wheat though so it’s um, healthy? Yes.

    Reply
  5. The chocolate peanut butter banana oatmeal sounds so good. I’m going to make that after I run out of my pancakes!

    Reply
  6. I kinda like cheetos too..and mac n cheese. Now I’m craving it and it’s only 830am!

    Reply
  7. gahhh i still need to make those puffs!!!!!! LOVE mac n cheese :)

    Reply
  8. I have that problem every time I go to a big hotel (I seem to be ok with B&Bs).. I’m not sure if its just because of the excessive noise, strange environment or the anticipation of the breakfast buffet the next morning (hoping beyond hope they’ll have a belgian waffle maker or bagels)..

    Reply
  9. oh my oats! Chocolate and peanut butter flavor in some oats! I need some of that now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

