Pumpkin Overload

This morning we woke up to kind of  a yucky day here in Central Florida- it was actually raining for a bit. Apparently the cold front is coming in tonight & the HIGH tomorrow is only 58!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can you believe that?! This is FLORIDA people, we don’t have ‘highs’ that are that LOW. :D The other thing is that it is supposed to get COLDER- the high on Tuesday is only 56! YIKES! Good thing I broke out the winter clothes ;)

Despite the dreary morning, breakfast was delicious! First things first, I made Craig a gingerbread latte from these ingredients:

I don’t have the measurements down exactly, but when/ if I do then I will post them. I think I added a bit too much ginger to it, but Craig said he liked it. (sometimes I think he’s just being nice ;) )


While he was enjoying (?) his gingerbread latte, I got to work on breakfast. This morning was ANOTHER recipe I found on Kristen’s blog- I’m just all over her blog lately :) – for Pumpkin French Toast.
(I copied her ingredient/ directions list- I’ll just let you know what I changed- if it’s in parenthesis then that’s what I changed)

Pumpkin Pie French Toast

Serves 2

Ingredients:

3 egg whites

1/2 cup almond milk

1/4 cup pumpkin puree

2 Tablespoons flavored coffee creamer

Cinnamon

Pumpkin Pie Spice (I used about 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, about 1/4 tsp. all spice, & 1/4 tsp. ground cloves)

4 slices bread (I used 6 thin slices of bread)

Butter (I used Pam)

Directions:

1. Mix eggs, milk, pumpkin, creamer, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice in a shallow dish. Dunk the bread slices in, letting them soak up the pumpkin mixture for ~30 seconds on each side.


2. Butter a hot, flat skillet. (I just sprayed it with Pam)

3. Cook french toast on medium heat until cooked on both sides.

We topped our slices with Sugar Free Hungry Jack Syrup.

Have you seen the new ‘no drip’ cap?! It’s kind of cute :)

It’s smiling @ you :D

Now time to DEVOUR these!!

We BOTH really enjoyed this breakfast. It was just the right amount of pumpkin flavor & spices. I’ll definitely be making this again!

After eating breakfast & watching some SportsCenter, I ventured out into the madness of crazy shoppers. Actually, it wasn’t that bad- since it was like 10am- it doesn’t start getting REALLY crazy until like 2pm. The reason I decided to go out was that I had ‘Kohl’s cash’ to spend. I purchased something rather large over the Thanksgiving holiday for a very special someone *hint, hint: my lovely fiance- but he doesn’t get it until our wedding day*- and with the purchase I got Kohl’s cash. Hey, it was FREE money- NO strings attached on ANY purchase in the store!

Initially I looked for some jewerly for my bridesmaids, I figured that would be a good purchase. But the only thing is that they didn’t have 6 of anything. Since I have 6 bridesmaids that would do me no good. (I was looking for jewerly that they could wear for the wedding) Then I ventured over to the shoe department. Now I actually did have a REAL need for new running shoes. After my half marathon my current shoes had seen better days. I spotted THESE babies, and my Kohl’s cash was immediately put to good use :)

The picture does NOT show that the Nike check is PURPLE, not blue, as it appears.

Sooooo how much more PERFECT can we get?!!?!
Not only are these RAVENS colors, but I got them for a STEAL! YES :D

Of course I had to try these bad boys out right away. But first I had a quick lunch of a spinach salad.

Spinach, tomatos, corn, slices turkey, and a few sprinkles of parmesan cheese.

After about an hour, I hit the treadmill with my NEW shoes!
For my workout I used one that I found on Courtney’s blog. I did the one for ‘Run.” This was an AWESOME workout- the ‘hills/ incline’ were pretty tough. I changed the speed a bit- just upped it a little- but overall it was pretty much the same workout.
After the treadmill workout I did a bunch of ab exercises & then some butt exercises.

This afternoon has been filled with lots of football & me attempting to continue to study for my Series 65 test- coming up in just a couple of weeks! YIKES. But I took a short break to get my bake on :D

I have a OVER load of pumpkin in this house. Not that I’m complaining, but you might notice a few more than usual pumkin recipes in the next couple of months.

& that’s not even all of it!!!

Anyways, my recipe of the afternoon was:

 Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins.

Ingredients

  • 1/2  cup Splenda
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup semisweet MINI chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease and flour muffin pan or use paper liners.
  2. Mix all ingredients together except the chocolate chips. MIX WELL.
  3. Stir in chocolate chips.

  4. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full with batter. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes.


Since I can no longer eat frozen yogurt or any dairy related products, I have been looking for something that I can eat after dinner before bed. I USED to eat frozen yogurt before bed, but with the lactose intolerance I no longer can :( It REALLY sucks…but I have to learn to live with it. (& get those lactose pills!) Sometimes I get a bit hungry after dinner, especially if we eat early & need something to tide me over until the next morning…since I usually wake up VERY hungry! I hope these do the trick :)

Do you have an after dinner snack? Any suggestions? Recipes?

I found the PERFECT Sunday night dinner on Julie’s blog. The other day I was browsing her ‘recipes tab’ and came across one for BBQ Meatloaf. Sounded like a winner to me, and I thought I’d give it a try tonight.
(I’m just copying the ingredients/ directions from her blog- my changes are in parenthesis..once again :) )

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2  pounds  ground beef, extra lean (raw) I used ground turkey instead of beef, since I don’t eat beef
  •  

  • 1/2  cup  dry breadcrumbs
  • 1/2  cup  chopped onion
  • added in 1/2 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1/3  cup  barbecue sauce, divided
  • 1  tablespoon  prepared mustard
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  chili powder
  • 1  teaspoon  garlic powder- I used fresh garlic
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 2  large egg whites
  • Cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°.

Combine the beef, breadcrumbs, green pepper and onion, 1 tablespoon barbecue sauce, and remaining ingredients except cooking spray in a large bowl.

Shape meat mixture into a 9 x 5-inch loaf or a broiler pan coated with cooking spray. Spread remaining barbecue sauce over top of meat loaf. Bake at 350° for 1 hour or until a thermometer registers 160°. Let stand 10 minutes. Cut loaf into 12 slices.

For the sides I made:
-homemade mashed potatos

-and baby peas

Craig always requests these sides whenever there is meatloaf- it is what he always had growing up. Happy fiance = happy life ;)

All together:

(Plus an extra slice of meatloaf…not pictured)

The meatloaf got a TWO thumbs up from both of us! Craig had FOUR slices!!
Thanks Julie for the recipe :)

Now I’m sipping on some of this:

Now doesn’t that look appetizing?!? It’s Airbourne. I’ve been feeling like something MIGHT just be trying to attack me. So I’m fighting those germs! I do NOT want to get sick. blah! That is why I got my flu shot! So germs, STAY AWAY!!

The rest of the night will be spent watching football (& trying to study). It’s a HUGE game for the Ravens tonight…so please cheer for them! :D This COULD be the predictor of the AFC North Championship.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  December 5, 2010

    Kristin’s blog is the best- girl is a genius! Your gingerbread lattes look so good! So, Lloyd saw a pic of you as I was reading your blog the other day- and he thinks we look alike! Haha! I sort of agree- we have the same eyes, skin tone, and Lloyd claims the same “smile.” Maybe we’re long-lost twins?! Haha! I was flattered he said that though- he said your fiance has great taste in women! HA!

    Reply
  2. I just made chocolate chip pumpkin muffins. You can never ever go wrong with pumpkin. I actually just had stuffed french toast with pumpkin this morning. Great minds think alike.

    I am looking to find the perfect balance to make gingerbread pancakes. I haven’t quite figured it out but your gingerbread latte has inspired me.

    Reply
  3. so glad you liked it! that meatloaf is a favorite in our house as well!

    Reply
  4. There’s no such thing as pumpkin overload…think I have 6 large cans stashed away in my pantry. I might break one out for those pumpkin chocolate chip muffins!

    Go RAVENS!! : )

    Reply
  5. I wish I was at your house for breakfast! That latte and french toast look fantastic :)

    Reply
  6. Why is it that everything you make look so good? You are going to be the best little wife ever :) I reallllllly want to try the pumpkin french toast this weekend. P.S. Jacksonville is FREEZING. I hate it. Please come back to visit and make me that gingerbread latte :) haha

    Reply
  7. there is nothing wrong w/ a pumpkin overload! i love that you used creamer for the french toast. i bet that was so darn good! :)

    Reply
  8. Cute shoes!

    58 is cold for FL…brrrr! But it’s 25 degrees here in Cleveland, OH! SOO COLD!

    Nice job on the Half Marathon, sorry I am so late to congratulate you! Well done! My stomach almost always hurts after a longer distance run, so I feel your pain!

    Reply
  9. Pumpkin overload = love :) I love this post! BBQ meat loaf sounds super good … today I ate a tuna sandwich with bbq sauce hahaha :p

    Reply
  1. Just Sayin’ « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

