Just Sayin’

Ok, so I have to admit…I’ve been a bit of a baking queen lately. With this new KitchenAid in site everytime I step into the kitchen, I SWEAR it yells “makeeee somethinnngggg.”

With my overload of pumpkin, I decided to get a bit creative. You see typically before bed I like to have a little something in my belly before going to bed, otherwise I will wake up around 2am & will be STARVING. I swear, sometimes my metabolism is in overdrive! Not that I’m complaining, I just have to make the stomach happy :D

I came up with this recipe, using 1/2 can of pumpkin. I honestly need to get more ideas on how I should use this pumpkin. Any ideas?? Honestly, this MIGHT be a bit of a shock to you & please don’t hate me for saying it, but I really don’t like pumpkin in my oatmeal. And here’s another kicker- I’m kind of OVER the whole oatmeal craze! (please don’t hate me!) I haven’t had oatmeal in about 2 months & I can’t say I miss it.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I could eat this—>

EVERY day. But, I know it’s not the ‘healthiest’ of oatmeal. But I’m just not really into the whole oats + fruit + nuts kind of breakfast. You’ll typically see me eating some kind of bread & egg whites for breakfast..as I’m sure you know ;) Or something even as crazy as PB & J waffles!

So, tell me your FAVORITE pumpkin recipe! :) Please feel free to add a link too!

Using pumpkin when baking is a GREAT alternative to oil or butter. It keeps the baked goods moist, but without changing the consistency. I made this recipe, particularly for Craig because he loves anything chocolate chip, and he didn’t even know that there was pumpkin in the bread! Score :D

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

//

 Ingredients:

1/2 can (about 7oz)

pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling, plain pumpkin)

1/2

cup sugar (or you can use a sugar substitute, such as splenda)

1/3

cup apple sauce, un sweetened

1

teaspoon vanilla

2

egg whites (or you can use egg substitute- such as egg beaters)

1 1/2

cups  all-purpose or whole wheat flour (I used 1 cup ww flour & 1/2 cup all purpose)

1

teaspoon baking soda

1/2

teaspoon salt

1

teaspoon ground cinnamon

   

1/4

teaspoon baking powder

1/3

cup coarsely chopped nuts (optional)

1/2

cup chocolate chips

Preparation:

  1. Move oven rack to low position so that tops of pans will be in center of oven. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease bottoms only of 2 (8×4-inch) loaf pans or 1 (9×5-inch) loaf pan with shortening or cooking spray.
  2. In large bowl, stir pumpkin, sugar, applesauce, vanilla and egg whites until well mixed.
     
  3. Stir in remaining ingredients except nuts and chocolate chips. Stir in nuts and chocolate chips. Divide batter evenly between 8-inch pans or pour into 9-inch pan.

  4. Bake 8-inch loaves 50 to 60 minutes, 9-inch loaf 1 hour 10 minutes to 1 hour 20 minutes, (approximate times, be sure to just check the bread occassionally) or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pans on cooling rack 10 minutes.
  5. Loosen sides of loaves from pans; remove from pans and place top side up on cooling rack. Cool completely, about 2 hours, before slicing.
     

This is the PERFECT night time snack, or rather ANYTIME snack. But, to make it even better, I topped it with my FAVORITE peanut butter & co peanut butter:

How tempting does that look!? And the best part is that it’s pretty healthy too! :D

Work calls- I better get going. BUT before I leave, you MUST, I repeat you MUST check out this post by one of my favorite ladies– Liz & her peanut butter pretzel bites!!! Tell me these are NOT to DIE for!?!? CANNOT wait to make these…I might not even be able to wait until this weekend!! I’m thinking TONIGHT will be the night to make these babies :D

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  January 12, 2011

    I don’t have any great pumpkin recipes because I don’t LOVE pumpkin. Thanks for the shout-out! They are seriously amazing… drool!

    Reply
  2. mmm i could eat the peaches & cream oatmeal everyday!

    Reply
  3. Bread looks yummy! I have tons of pumpkin recipes on my blog, but I’ll link this one since it’ll be something you can do with your leftover bread! Pumpkin bread french toast :) http://littlebittybakes.blogspot.com/2010/10/pumpkin-bread-french-toast.html

    Reply
  4. i’ve never made pumpkin bread. I love making pumpkin soups and also using it in a creamy sauce for pasta. Pumpkin can be either sweet or savory and that’s what I love about it.

    Reply
  5. I could honestly slather dark chocolate peanut butter on anything! Yum!

    I never used to be too big on pumpkin, but my finacee loves it. Now I’m a fan… I guess that’s just one of the MANY good things he’s brought to my life! (;

    Reply
  6. Oh man, that last picture = foodgasm!

    Reply
  7. Oooh that looks amazing. I may actually make muffins using that recipe tonight nom nom nom.

    My favorite recipe is pumpkin gnocchi. Two ingredients and so good.

    http://lolzthatswim.wordpress.com/recipes/

    Reply
  8. Make a mini version of the Pumpkin Salsa soup I made http://shannalikebanana.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/pumpkin-salsa-soup-and-beer-bread/

    I don’t like pumpkin on oats either..pumpkin butter, yes..pumpkin, no

    Reply
  9. aHHH freaking lovin that bread… straws n creme? nooo go for maple syrup!

    Reply
  10. Ahh that looks soo good! SO good! Like perfect right about now! haha. I have failed to bake much this year. And by much, I mean like twice lol. Well done my dear!

    Reply
  11. Clearly making that for breakfast tomorrow…and doubling the chocolate chips recipe – That’s still healthy right? :)

    I made pumpkin protein pancakes on Saturday and they were GOOOOOD!! Recipe is on my blog!

    Reply
  12. DCD is HEAVEN!

    Reply
  13. Chocolate chip pumpkin bread sounds great right about now :)

    Reply
  1. The ‘Morning After’ Breakfast « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

