Snow, Snow Everywhere!

What a CRAZY day yesterday was!!! Did you know that there was snow in 49 states?! YES, you read that correctly- FOURTY NINE of the FIFTY states!!

Even HAWAII had snow! And you know who the lonely state was??? Oh, yes, good ol’ Florida. :) We didn’t get snow, but it sure was COLD here today. As soon as I woke up I immediately bundled up- I had LAYERS on just to go to the gym. Hey, it might look silly, but at least I was warm!! I had a really good workout yesterday- I’ll post it below.

Whenever it’s cold outside, I typically only want ONE thing to eat- SOUP! What makes me craze soup even more, is having a cold. This stupid cold that I have is STILL lingering with me. It’s not quite as bad…I just sound bad, know what I mean? I went to the doctor to day to make sure it wasn’t something more serious than I suspected. It’s just a viral infection (how lovely does that sound?!), and she gave some meds. Including this savior–>

A Z pack & some nausea medication.

I’m hoping to be feeling 100% by this weekend. Please send some healthy vibes to me..please :D

When I was thinking of what kind of soup I wanted for dinner- I only thought of one kind. Minestrone! It’s my favorite soup- definitely think I get that from my Dad. I remember when I was little he would give me minestrone soup instead of chicken noodle..and NEVER Campbell’s, ONLY Progresso.

That’s all he would keep in the house…and I believe that is where my love for minestrone soup began.

My favorite Minestrone soup is Olive Garden’s….with their breadsticks, of course ;) I was considering swinging by Olive Garden after my doctor’s appointment to get the soup, but then I figured I would just make the soup myself! So, here’s my creation of Olive Garden’s Minestrone Soup:

Olive Garden Minestrone Soupbased on this recipe

Ingredients:

Servings: 6-8

//

  • Pam cooking spray┬á
  • 1 cup minced white onion (about 1 small onion)
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced
  • 1 can (14 oz) Italian green beans
  • 1 stalk┬ácelery,┬ásliced┬á
  • 4 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans kidney beans, drained
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans small white beans or 2 (15 ounce) cans great northern beans,┬ádrained
  • 1 (14 ounce) can┬á diced tomatos (I used one with roasted garlic & onion in the tomatos)
  • 1 carrot, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons minced parsley
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons oregano
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon thyme
  • 3 cups hot water
  • 4 cups fresh baby spinach, chopped
  • 1/2 cup small shell pasta (or something similar)


^all of the ingredients. looks like a lot,┬ábut it’s probably all stuff that you have in your kitchen already.

I hear one of the KEYS to this recipe is–>

MUST use vegetable broth, NOT chicken broth.

Preparation:

  • 1 Heat┬ácooking spray┬áover medium heat in a large soup pot.
  • 2 Saute onion, celery, garlic, green beans, and zucchini in the oil for 5 minutes or until onions begin to turn translucent.
  • 3 Add vegetable broth to pot, plus drained tomatoes, beans, carrot, hot water, and spices.


  • 4 Bring soup to a boil, then reduce heat and allow to simmer for 20 minutes.
  • 5 Add spinach leaves and pasta and cook for an additional 20 minutes or until desired consistency.


  • You can be even more Olive Garden-ish & serve it with breadsticks. ;)


    Sprinkled with some Italian seasoning & parmesan cheese.

    And if you really want to feel fancy…you fancy huh?!
    You can top off your soup with a sprinkling of fresh Parmesan cheese.

    This stuff is awesome. And, I have to admit…it DOES in fact taste like Olive Garden’s soup!!

    I know what I’ll be having for lunch for the next few days :)

    Now for my workout yesterday morning…if you are interested :) I started feeling the DOMS last night!

    *Warm up- 5 minutes-  cardio of choice (I did incline walking- 3.5 speed, 15% incline)

    *Shoulder set:

    -Overhead barbell press – 3 sets of 10 reps- 20 lb. barbell
    -Lateral Raises- 3 sets of 12 reps (each side)- 5lb. DB each hand
    -Upright row with EZ bar- 3 sets of 12- 20lb.
    -Pec Dec- 3 sets of 12- 30lb.

    *Chest/ Back Set
    -Bench press – 3 sets of 12 reps- 55lb. weight
    -Cable crossovers- 3 sets of 12 reps- 25lb. each side
    -Lat Pulldown- 3 sets of 12 reps- 50lb.
    -Assisted Pull- ups- 3 sets of 12 reps (OUCH!)

    *Ab set:
    -25 stability ball crunches- 3 sets
    -15 stability ball pikes- 3 sets
    -12 (each side)Oblique side crunches on stability ball- 3 sets
    -12 ball roll outs on stability ball- 3 sets

    *Cool Down- incline walking- 4.0 speed, 7.5% incline

    If you try it, let me know :) I bet ya your upper body will be feeling it- but it a good way of course!

    Hope you have a great day today! Stay WARM!! :D

    Previous Post
    Leave a comment

    16 Comments

    1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

       /  January 13, 2011

      “You fancy, huh?” I LOL’d! xo

      Reply
    2. you soup looks really really really good!!

      Reply
    3. That soup is calling my name. It’s super cold here and soup is a definite must lately. Hope you feel better quickly!

      Reply
    4. I love Olive Gardens minestrone too. I’ve had a really strong craving for the Garden lately! Soup, salad and breadsticks. You really can’t beat that.

      And girl–you don’t known cold. The windchill here this week was below 0. Yeah.

      Reply
    5. Thanks for the congrats, lady!!! And I cannot believe Hawaii had snow. LOL

      That soup looks so good. I’m in love with soup right now.

      Reply
    6. Ever since Olive Garden, I always put parm in my soup.

      We got so much snow yesterday-at least 6 inches! :( :( You can take some away for me if youd like.

      Reply
    7. I can not get over that Hawaii had snow and FL was the only one who didn’t! And this post…I felt like a puppy reading it. I LOVE soup like..I would eat it over anything else. I am drawn to your breadsticks! I am so excited to try! Super fancy shamncy! :)

      Reply
    8. That looks like an amazing meal! Hope you are feeling better soon :)

      Reply
    9. Stacie@sugarandsneakers

       /  January 13, 2011

      This recipe looks so great! It’s perfect for the ridiculous cold weather! Thanks for sharing!

      Reply
    10. I love how my good ole state FL is the only one to not have snow! We’ll always be the oddball state!

      Reply
    11. Came across your blog today for the first time, I’m booking marking this one, I really love that soup recipe. Going to have to make that for my family sometimes very soon on another cold snowy day! :)

      Reply
    12. I made soup tonight tooo!!! Nothing like a fresh pot of soup on a cold day :)

      Reply
    1. 8 Ingredient Steps to Dinner + Biceps/ Triceps « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 113 other followers

