The ‘Morning After’ Breakfast

Hope you’re week is off to a GREAT start!! & that it’s not too chilly where ever you are.

So, I have this extra special breakfast to share with you :) After the loss on Saturday by the Ravens  :( I really wanted to help cheer my fiance right up….starting out with a delicious breakfast.

Last week I asked for some ideas on how to use up some of my never ending pumpkin supply. Once Liz gave me the link to her blog, along with a recipe for Pumpkin Bread French Toast, I knew we had a winner of a recipe :D

I had some leftover Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread & didn’t want to let it go to waste, so French toast it was :)

Here’s how I made it:

Ingredients:
-several pieces leftover pumpkin bread (I had 5 slices, about 3/4″ thick)
-3 egg whites
-1 tsp. cinnamon
-margarine, or spray for the pan
-toppings of choice ( like syrup, coconut flakes, chocolate chips, banana, chocolate syrup, etc)

Prep:
1. Whip together egg whites & cinnamon.

2. Take the sliced bread & dip both sides in the egg white mixture. Set aside.

3. Put margarine in pan, heat over medium high heat. Once melted, cook bread about 3-5 minutes each side until golden brown.

4. Pile on your topping & eat up!
Below is the plate for Craig- for the toppings I added sugar free syrup, chocolate syrup, some chocolate chips, coconut flakes & a topping of Reddi Whip :)

Mine was quite as pretty, but it sure tasted good! I had sugar free syrup, 1/2 banana & some coconut for toppings.

Thanks Liz for an AWESOME recipe!! We both kept commenting on how good it was. I felt like I was at a restaurant for breakfast :)

Yesterday, after doing a KILLER workout on Saturday, my whole body was sore. No lie. My tush was the most sore- I swear sitting down was hard to do! haha!
I decided to do a workout on Sunday because I actually end up feeling better if I do some kind of workout after a hard workout because it tends to lossen up my muscles. Typically I feel much better once I’m done.

Here’s what I did- a combination of incline walking/ jogging & sprints.

Minutes  

Pace  

Incline  

0-2  

4  

7.5  

2-5  

4 (jog)  

7.5  

5-8  

3.5  

8  

8-10  

3.5  

10  

10-12  

3.5  

12  

12-14  

3.3  

12  

14-16  

3.3  

10  

16-18  

3.5  

5  

18-20  

4  

1  

20-22  

6  

1  

22-24  

6.5  

1  

24-26  

7  

1  

26-27  

6  

1  

27-27:30  

8  

1  

27:30- 28:30  

6  

1  

28:30- 29  

9  

1  

29-31  

6  

1  

31-33  

3.3  

12  

33-35  

3.3  

10  

35-37  

3.3  

8  

37-39  

3.3  

6  

39-40  

3.5  

0  

After this I finished up with some ab exercises.

NOW my butt is REALLY hurting. I swear my poor butt muscle has had it’s fair share of workouts this weekend!!!!
My next few workouts will definitely be upper body, my lower body needs a little break :)

I wish I could say that I had some creative dinner recipe to share with you from last night, but I don’t. I had something planned (will probably make it tonight) but I was just craving a BIG bowl of cereal, so that’s exactly what I had. Special K with red berries, one of my favorites :D

Well, I’m off to get some work done. Luckily I kind of get a break this week. My boss is out of town for the WHOLE week, so it’s not as busy as normal…and since I’m the person that does all of the new business, it’s a really slow week for me. But I’m not complaining- I’ll be tackling wedding stuff all week & coming up with some new recipes & workouts :D Stay tuned!

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I’m that way too – getting in an easier workout just to loosen the muscles really does help. I know it sounds counter intuitive of course.

    Reply
  2. your ring looks so pretty! my butt is killing me from hard interval work outs too!! we need massages!!

    Reply
  3. Yay, I’m glad you gave it a try! And chocolate syrup on top? I’m going to have to do that next time. :)

    Reply
  4. Craig’s french toast looks fabulous! I was drooling looking at the pictures. Yours look just as good, too. I’m hungry now :)

    Reply
  5. My housemate and I were just talking about making our own bread and making french toast. We were thinking about banana bread french toast. Nom nom nom. Great minds think alike!

    Reply
  6. THIS IS GENIUS

    Reply
  7. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  January 17, 2011

    Sorry you’ve got a sore tush! ;) I’m always amazed at how you stay so dedicated to workouts. I have certainly fallen off the wagon, but I’m getting back on it tomorrow! The french toast looks awesome. I have some stale french bread that I am considering making into ft!

    Reply
  8. I was so bummed about the Ravens! I am a Redskins fan but its always fun to see your city pumped up and ready for a Win! Especially against the Steelers. Now we have to root for the Jets next week (which my boyfriend HATES) but i don’t want to see the Steelers in the Super Bowl again!

    Um your french toast looks amazing and I wish I would’ve known about this amazing concoction after I made pumpkin chocolate chip bread last week!

    Excited to see your new recipes this week!

    Reply
  9. French Toast was definitely a great idea!
    I’m sure it tasted pretty legit ;)

    Reply
  10. That french toast looks AMAZING!! Your treadmill workout looks great too! I’m looking for a new treadmill workout and can’t wait to give this a try!

    Reply
  11. That is a SERIOUS breakfast! YUMM! :)

    Reply
  12. Pumpkin and Chocolate is my absolute favorite combo and I HAVE to make this french toast sometime you are a genius!

    Reply
  13. This workout is almost identical to the ones I do! I love doing the incline before I jog really gets my butt all fired up hahaha. P.S. that looks like an amazing meal :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

