8 Ingredient Steps to Dinner + Biceps/ Triceps

I don’t know about you, but one of my favorite things to do is re-create dishes from restaurants. For example, the minestrone soup from Olive Garden, or Outback’s Alice Springs Chicken. I like trying to figure out the ingredients that they use while I’m eating different dishes. Tonight I thought I would make Chipotle’s Burrito bowl (for Craig) & the Chipotle Salad (for me). I found the recipes for some of the Chipotle basics on Kristen’s blog.

I followed her directions exactly for the rice, beans, & pico de gallo. The directions below are taken DIRECTLY from her blog. If you want prettier pictures, she has some on there :D

1. The Rice.

Cook 1/2 cup brown rice according to package directions. (I just used Uncle Ben’s microwave-able brown rice) When done, finish with:

  • Small pat of butter
  • Salt
  • Juice of 1/2 a lime
  • Sprinkle of chopped cilantro

2. The Beans.

In a microwave safe bowl, heat up 1 can drained and rinsed black beans with:

  • Splash of chicken broth
  • Dashes of chili powder, cumin, oregano & cayenne pepper

3. The Pico De Gallo.

Whip up this easy Pico De Gallo with:

  • 1 tomato
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/4 small red onion
  • Sprinkle of chopped cilantro
  • S&P
  • Juice of 1/2 lime

4. The Chicken.

I just used the slow cooker for the chicken. I cooked the chicken breast in slow cooker. Before leaving for work, I threw them in there & cooked them in chicken broth (just enough to cover them). I let them cook on low for about 7 hours. Once I got home I shredded them & then added the spices that Kristen suggested:

(dashes of each)

  • Chili Powder
  • Garlic Salt
  • Onion Powder
  • Cumin
  • Oregano

5. The Guacamole.

Whenever I get something from Chipotle, I ALWAYS make sure to ge the guac with it…even if it is a bit more :D
Here’s what I used in mine:

  • 1 ripe Avacado
  • 1/2 diced tomato
  • sprinkle of onion powder (about 1/2 tsp.)
  • sprinkle of garlic powder (about 1/2 tsp.)

Mash the avacado, then add all of the other ingredients to the mashed avocado. Mix well & chill before serving.

6. The Corn.

Nothing to do here, just drain a can of corn & heat. (EASSSSYYYYY ;) )

7. The Cheese.

(again- I just bought shredded reduced fat Mexican style cheese)

8. The Lettuce.

(bagged lettuce)

And all together— it looks like a Chipotle buffet :D

I figured I would just put all of the stuff out & let Craig pick out what he wanted, rather than make one for him. I made myself a nice big ol’ salad out of all of the ingredients. The only thing I forgot that Chipotle always has is sour cream…but that’s because I don’t eat sour cream- I really don’t like it one bit. Thankfully Craig didn’t mind.

& an overhead shot…

DELISH!! It really does taste like Chipotle. You should try it, really..it’s so easy too :)

Now for the exercise part of my day! I always have a hard time finding new exercises for my biceps & triceps. They are some of my favorite muscles to work, but I always feel like I tend to go back to the ‘traditional’ bicep/ tricep moves.

Some of the ‘traditional’ biceps moves in my book are:
-Alternating bicep curls
-Barbell curls
-21s
-Cable curls

Tricep moves:
-Tricep pushdowns
-Bench Dips
-Tricep kickbacks

Now, please don’t get me wrong, these are GREAT moves! I just like to change things up so that my muscles don’t get used to those moves. So the other night I spent time searching for some new bicep & tricep exercises. You see toned arms are one of my ‘must haves’- especially before May 27th, 2011 :D (<– that’s my wedding day!) I think I’m on my way, I’ve definitely noticed some changes–>
October 2010 (excuse the bug eyes- lol!)

December 2010

I have lost a little weight too- between October & now, but I have not tried to. It is just from my workouts- doing more weight training & cutting out un necessary snacks. (like frozen yogurt everynight after dinner) I am NOT trying to lose weight- just trying to get more definition in my arms. The person I really admire is Jessica Biel. She has great definition in her arms, but not too much.

Anyways, here is a new workout I did on Tuesday morning for biceps & triceps. (you can adjust it accordingly for your personal preferences)

*Warm Up: 10 minutes on elliptical- 20 crossramp, 5 resistance

*Workout:
1. Reverse Grip Barbell Curls- 3 sets of 25- 20lb. barbell
Superset with overhead tricep extensions (holding on DB)- 3 sets of 12- holding 20lb. DB

2. Bicep Curls- up from the side- 3 sets of 12- 10lb. DB each hand
Superset with Bench dips- 3 sets of 12- body weight

3. Incline DB Hammer Curls- 3 sets of 12- 15lb. DB each hand
Superset with ‘nose breakers’- 3 sets of 12- 20lb. barbell

4. Alternating Curls- 3 sets of 12- 10lb. DB each hand (would normally do 15lb. each hand, but my arms were getting TIRED at this point)
Superset with tricep kick backs- 3 sets of 12- 7.5lb. each hand

5. V- Bar cable curls- 3 sets of 12- 40lb.
Superset with one arm over head cable tricep extensions- 3 sets of 12 (each hand) – 20lb.

Finished up with an ab circuit– did this 3 times.
1. 25 Bosu ball crunches- pulling 40lb. behind head (used cable machine)
2. 12 Incline situps- holding 8lb. medicine ball
3. 12 (each) Side to side oblique incline crunches- holding 8lb. medicine ball
4. 20 Bench tuck crunches
5. 15 regular crunches

Good news- my biceps AND triceps are sore! This RARELY happens, so I’m thrilled :D I’m definitely going to be coming up with more workouts for biceps & triceps- to kind of switch things up.

Do you have a favorite bicep/ tricep workout? Or a favorite bicep or tricep exercise? Please do share!!

Anyways, I’m off. I MIGHT be taking Friday off of work- haven’t decided yet- so I want to make sure I have everything caught up..just in case I do decide to take off :) Hope you have a FANTASTIC day!!
-

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. I love 21’s. I like to add them at the end of a bicep workout to burnout the muscle ;-) I also like cross-body curls. As for triceps, weighted dips or double-arm overhead extensions.

    Reply
  2. Wow, a big change in your pictures! I need to really start working on my arms, I should try this out.

    Reply
  3. Lol I don’t think it’s normal how bad I am craving Mexican food now just from reading your blog. haha So I know what I am doing next. But, YOU ARE GORGEOUS! Just wanted to tell you that ;). You look extremely toned to me!

    Reply
  4. I actually really like dips. It feels like I’m ereally working my arms that way =)

    Reply
  5. That looks soooo good, I heart Chipotle more than is possibly sane! I can never get my lime-cilantro rice to taste right though!

    Reply
  6. You look so good Holly. Have you picked out your wedding dress and everything yet? You should do a post about your wedding. I’m obsessed with watching say yes to the dress.

    I like to superset my tris and bis. I normally do 12 bicep curls, 12 hammer curls and 12 side curls, three times through. My arms were so toned at the end of the summer from it.

    Reply
  7. I’d never really felt the need to recreate restaurant meals at home…that is, until I saw this post. I’m definitely going to have to try out the Chipotle one AND the Alice Springs one stat. Alice Springs is seriously one of my favorite chicken dishes everrrr :)

    Reply
  8. YUM to the MMY.. seriously i am diggin this salad thang!

    Reply
  9. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  January 19, 2011

    Chiptole looks good, H!

    Reply
  10. You should do a vlog (video blog) of the work outs you do I need to watch someone in order to mimic the tricep and bicep workouts. I want toned arms by march! :) Thanks for the post your arms are looking really toned. Keep at it with the toning your doing great!

    Reply
  11. That burrito bowl looks amazing! I agree with you that Chipotle has awesome guacamole! I really notice the change in your arms! They look great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

