Hide Your Sweet Tooth!!

GUESS WHAT I finally made?!?!!

Liz’s Peanut Butter Pretzel Bites!

Let me tell you….Liz has GOT IT GOING ON!! :D This recipe is THE B.O.M.B!! Not only do these taste AMAZING, but they are SO easy to make & you can whip them up in about 30 minutes! ….AND you probably have all of these ingredients on hand right now!

Here’s her recipe, copied DIRECTLY from her blog! (the only thing I did different was use half crunchy peanut butter & half creamy peanut butter..just for an extra crunch :) )

Peanut Butter Pretzel Bites

From Martha Stewart Living

Print this recipe!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup, plus 1 tbsp confectioners sugar
  • 1 tablespoon room temperature unsalted butter
  • 1 cup pretzels, crushed
  • 5 ounces melted milk chocolate

Directions

  1. Stir together peanut butter, confectioners sugar, unsalted butter, the crushed pretzels.
  2. Roll into 1″ balls. Freeze for 30 minutes, or until firm.  
  3. Melt chocolate over low heat. Dip balls into melted milk chocolate, and refrigerate until set.

Then take a bite & be ready to feel like you are in PURE bliss!! …and then try, just try, not have to another one! I dare ya ;)

Now that I have you drooling all over your computer, I figure I’ll share another recipe to help satisfy your sweet tooth ;)

As you know, we are planning to spend time with my parents this weekend. I love visiting with them & it feels like forever since I have seen them! The last time we were all together was at Thanksgiving, which was 2 months ago…way too long. When I visit my parents I like to bring up a surprise to them…which of course means some kind of baked good :)

Whenever I saw this recipe, I IMMEDIATELY thought of my Dad. You see, he LOVES heath bar. I think it has to be one of his top favorite candies….dark chocolate being his absolute #1 favorite. Here’s a funny story, my Dad likes to eat frozen yogurt every night before bed. (this is wear I got it….but now with the lactose intolerance I can’t :(  ) He found this Heath Bar frozen yogurt & he ate this for I wanna guess 10, yes TEN, straight years!!!! He NEVER changed flavors, and the freezer was stocked up with at LEAST 4 containers…Lord knows, we do NOT want to run out of this stuff..I think my Dad would of gone into ice cream withdrawal immediately.

Needless to say, Heath Bar Crunch Cookie Bars seemed to be calling my Dad’s name! :)
I found the recipe on Courtney’s blog & followed her instructions exactly. (But I did have to bake them for about 30 minutes because they were literally raw dough in the middle, but I think it’s due to using a different size pan- I used a 9x 13 inch pan)

Heath Bar Crunch Cookie Bars

(Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1-1/2 cups Toffee Heath Bar Bits
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • Directions:

    1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the butter with both sugars; beat on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low; add the salt, vanilla, and eggs. Beat until well mixed, about 1 minute. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.


    2. Spray a 10x15x1 baking pan with non-stick cooking spray (a 9×13 pan will work as well). Spread cookie dough evenly in the pan.
    3. Bake cookies 10-12 minutes. They will still be soft in the center. Remove from oven, and let pan cool completely on a wire rack. Cut into desired amount of bars. ENJOY!


    Can’t wait to see what my Dad thinks! I think they are perfect! Even though I know it’s a lot of butter in the recipe, I really think that’s what makes them oooooo so tasty!! Sometimes you just have to make things exactly according to the recipe, no trying to ‘healthify’ these goodies- they are just too good the way they are!

    I’m pretty sure these will be requested in the future ;)

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!! Tell me, what’s your favorite candy bar?? I would have to say, even though they are not technically ‘bars’, Reese Peanut butter cups are mine!

    Next Post
    Leave a comment

    13 Comments

    1. Ohmygosh, my mom would LOVE those Heath cookie bars! I’m a Reese’s PB Cup (no pieces for me!) girl through and through! I was looking for some recipe inspiration for the weekend and I think you helped me find it :)

      Just out of curiosity…who do you want to win now that the Ravens are out?

      Reply
    2. I love crunch bars personally. Those bars you made look amazing. You’ll have to let us know how they are! I agree-there are just some things that you can’t healthify.

      Reply
    3. Your post is making me drool early in the morning :) All your treats look so good! My favorite candy bar is a Reese’s. You can’t go wrong with chocolate and peanut butter.

      Reply
    4. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

       /  January 22, 2011

      Clearly Reeses are yours! ;) And mine…!!! I like that you added half crunchy pb! I was thinking I might try them Nutella/pb combo. Glad you LURVE them. I want to try Court’s Heath bar recipe, too… those look AWESOME. A whole stick o’ butter? I’m in! I am making the scones today, just for you, Hollymolly!

      Reply
    5. All of your dishes always loook so good. You need to teach me the ropes in the kitchen for real girl! The peanut butter bites look sooooo good and I the heath bars look delicious! My favorite candy bar is probably snickers or 100 grand bars YUM!

      Reply
    6. Oh my gosh whattttt!!!! these look beyond tasty— GAH im so jealous i wish i cud just grab one from off the screen and stuff it in my mouth!

      Reply
    7. Stacie@sugarandsneakers

       /  January 22, 2011

      You are trying to turn me into a little fatty today! haha Both recipes look simply amazing and I will be trying them very soon.

      Reply
    8. I love Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups too! Chocolate and peanut butter are my go-to combination for something sweet and salty!!

      Reply
    9. God I had to come back to this post again today. Just made me so hungry for HEATH LOL

      Reply
    10. Reeses cups 100%! Peanut butter and chocolate :)

      Those pretzel bites look So good…and I do happen to have all of those things on hand… You might be on to something here!

      Reply
    11. Just so you know, this is a heavenly post! LOL seriously though, my Pops loves Heath bars too! Maybe I will suprise him one day with this ridic recipe! Props to you!

      Reply
    12. omg my teeth hurt from looking at all this amazingness.

      Reply
    13. These both look AMAZING! My Mom loves heath bar and the combo of pretzels and chocolate is always a winner! I don’t generally eat candy bars expect the tiny version…but I’d go with Twix and Butterfinger.

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 113 other followers

