A Divine Dinner

Wow- these 30 day challenge topics are pretty TOUGH & near & dear to the heart! I guess I should of read through all of them before deciding to take on the challenge. But hey, I welcome it :) I don’t mind sharing my opinions & stories, I also love all of the comments from everyone!

Day 5: A Time When You Thought About Ending Your Own Life.
I can honestly say this has really never crossed my mind. Of course we all have good days, bad days, fantastic days & absolutely AWFUL days, but I don’t think it would EVER be worth it to end my life over an awful day.

In my opinion suicide hurts the people that you leave behind the MOST. I actually find it really selfish. I think there are so many other options & ways to get help, rather than ending your life. I know people that have had to deal with a suicide in their family & it just tears everyone apart. It’s so sad. :(

I’ve been through a really dark, low point in my life, but never considered ending my own life. People were scared that I might die, but I never thought to kill myself. THANKFULLY I made it through with the help & love of so many people.

Anyways, on to something lighter….a delicious, quick dinner recipe! Last night I had intentions of making something different for dinner, but then I had a million errands that I had to run after work, including picking up my ring! They did fix it  & it fits PERFECTLY. I hated being without it…my finger felt so bare.

After all of my errands, I needed something quick for dinner. We were both pretty hungry! Thankfully I knew the perfect recipe, Jessica’s Broccoli Chicken Divine Casserole. Not only did it only take like 10 minutes to fix before popping it into the oven, all of the ingredients I already had on hand! Perfect :)

I have copied the recipe directly from her blog, you will see my changes noted below.

Broccoli Chicken Divine Casserole

Ingredients:
-1 pound of broccoli (I used a 12 oz. frozen bag of broccoli)
-1 pound of boneless chicken breast
-1 tsp garlic
-1/4 Cup Milk (I used Almond Milk)
-1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup (I used the 98% fat free soup)
-1/2 Cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese (I used 2% cheese)
-1/8 Cup French Fried Onion Strips

Let’s Get Cooking:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2.  Steam Broccoli until tender.  Set aside. (I used microwaved it, since it was one of those steamer bags)
3. Cut up chicken into one inch cubes and sautee in pan with garlic until cooked through.
4. In a 9 inch greased pie dish, place broccoli and then top with chicken.
5.  Mix milk and soup together in a bowl.
6.  Pour over broccoli and chicken. Mix together.
7. Sprinkle on cheese and top with Onion Strips.
8.  Bake for 20-25 Minutes or until Cheese is Bubbly!
This was so easy to put together & so tasty! Jessica recommended adding egg noodles to the casserole to make it a more complete meal, but I didn’t have any on hand, so I just made some toast with some Italian seasoning on top.

Love those quick, easy week night meals! Thanks for sharing Jessica :)
Ok, now one more thing before I go- I was listening to the radio, my favorite station- 106.7,  on the way to work the other day & they happened to be discussing ‘when couples cross over the comfortable line with one another.’ It was HILARIOUS listening to all of the people that were calling in! Defintely a good laugh before work.
Now I have some questions to ask those of you that have a significant other.
1. Do you leave the bathroom door open when you go to the bathroom? (this was a common one that had a TON of funny responses)
2. What is the GROSSEST thing that your significant other does? / a gross habit of theirs?
3. What is something that you would NEVER do in front of your significant other?
4. What would you consider something that is ‘crossing the line’ in the world of couples?
I can’t wait to see what you guys say :) This was such a funny conversation on the radio.
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I SWEAT Jess. :) How did I miss this recipe?! Homegirl NEEDS a cookbook!

    Reply
  2. I bet some of the responses were a riot. Here are mine:

    1. Do you leave the bathroom door open when you go to the bathroom? Yes and the hubby hates it.
    2. What is the GROSSEST thing that your significant other does? / a gross habit of theirs? Hocking up snot and spitting it
    3. What is something that you would NEVER do in front of your significant other? Go #2
    4. What would you consider something that is ‘crossing the line’ in the world of couples? cheating

    Reply
  3. I’m glad you never to know you never thought about ending your life. Those questions are really get deep. That broccoli casserole looks amazing for real and really filling!

    Reply
  4. Oh boy!

    I only leave the bathroom door open if I’m home alone. Never in front of the hubby. Also no farting or burping. Or blowing of the nose. All of that is just gross ;-P

    Reply
  5. 1. Do you leave the bathroom door open when you go to the bathroom? When I’m home alone I do, but not when my boyfriend is there.
    2. What is the GROSSEST thing that your significant other does? / a gross habit of theirs? Hmmm…he spits occasionally for no apparent reason (ie I wouldnt care if it was when we were out running but when we are walking to the store or something, I think it’s yucko). It’s rare that he does it but when it happens I think it’s gross. Seems like every guy I know does this though.
    3. What is something that you would NEVER do in front of your significant other? I can’t imagine ever pooping in front of him although I guess it could happen in some sort of dire circumstance.
    4. What would you consider something that is ‘crossing the line’ in the world of couples? Personally, I try to keep all bathroom things private. I don’t think it’s the end of the world to fart in front of your SO, I mean we live together, slips happen ;) but I have friends that do it all the time/think it’s funny to do that around their SO and that is just not for me. But if both parties in the relationship are fine with it, I don’t think it’s a huge deal…like I said, just not gonna fly in MY relationship.

    Reply
  6. ashley

     /  February 2, 2011

    1. Do you leave the bathroom door open when you go to the bathroom? Um NO, I never, ever would, it would be so totally wierd for me
    2. What is the GROSSEST thing that your significant other does? / a gross habit of theirs? Is it bad if I say I can’t think of anything? Oh I take it back, he rarley burps but when he does it is the WORST smell ever, like worse than any fart could be, idk what happens in that stomach of his but omg, the smell, so ick. lol
    3. What is something that you would NEVER do in front of your significant other? If I can help it, anything that involves bathroom stuff, peeing, etc. (closed door policy)
    4. What would you consider something that is ‘crossing the line’ in the world of couples? the bathroom thing. i think couples need to retain a little mystery around eachother, peeing in front of them destroys it a bit imo haha

    Reply
  7. I agree about the topics on that 30 day challenge! Thats why I had to switch mine up a little bit…
    Yummy quick dinner!
    1. Do you leave the bathroom door open when you go to the bathroom? Sometimes…but not always
    2. What is the GROSSEST thing that your significant other does? / a gross habit of theirs? Picking their nose haha
    3. What is something that you would NEVER do in front of your significant other? Go number 2 or fart… haha i sound so raunchy?
    4. What would you consider something that is ‘crossing the line’ in the world of couples? I think you should be mainly open with your significant other…. but i think doing absolute repulsive thigns is unnecessary!

    Reply
  8. That dish look so similar to the green bean cassarole I make! I’m glad that you overcame that dark point in your life, You are a very special person and gorgeous at that! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

