Love Is In the Air

Wednesday night Craig & I happened to be discussing the other people at the gym. Since we go every day so early in the morning- between 5am & 5:30am- we always see the same people. Now I’m hoping we are not the only ones that do this, but we have nicknames for all of them!

Here’s a list of them: The yoga people (they really don’t do yoga, but they are always doing some kind of strange moves), the lady with the head wrap, the lady with the tight SHORT shorts that go up her butt (<– ew, definitely don’t like seeing that at 5am!), my buddy (he’s really cool- we always talk to each other every morning about football- lol! he was rooting against the Steelers too :D), the jogger guy (<– he’ll just jog on the treadmill for an hour, then leave), the guy with the sweaty tight shirts (<–another thing that’s not too pleasant to see at 5am), & then there is an actual girl that we know & guess what her name is?! HOLLY! Woohoo for the Holly’s :D Now these people don’t come everyday to the gym, but we always see a mix of them.

I just find it funny because we refer to them in their nicknames whenever we talk about them, mainly because we don’t know their actual names (besides Holly) & we just think the nicknames are way better. And we always notice when they are not there & then wonder where they are- like ‘hmmmm I wonder where the guy with the super tight, sweaty shirt is today’ Hahaha! Maybe we just crack ourselves up..who knows ;)

Do you have nicknames for other people at the gym? Please tell me that we aren’t the only crazy ones with nicknames :D Have you made a gym buddy that you tend to socialize with while working out?

I have made this recipe before, but I feel like it should be shown on the blog again because it’s just THAT good. You may wonder where I got the recipe from…at this point I think it’s beyond obvious ;) Of course it is from the amazingly talented- Jessica & How Sweet It Is! (Oh have you seen her new cake truffles?! OMG- you MUST check them out! I think I might make them this weekend for a special someone ;) )

This is the ‘borrowed’ recipe from Jess’ page:

Parmesan Ranch Crispy Chicken Fingers

-1 1/2 pounds chicken tenders
-2 cups lowfat buttermilk
-1 packet ranch seasoning mix
-2 cups panko bread crumbs
-1/4 cup whole wheat flour
-1/2 cup parmesan cheese

Combine buttermilk and 1/2 packet of ranch mix in a baking dish. Add chicken tenders to buttermilk. Marinate for 2 hours or overnight. (I did this the night before, that way they had plenty of time to sit in the buttermilk. And instead of buttermilk I used 2 cups of skim milk mixed with 2 tbsp. lemon juice to create my own buttermilk)

Preheat oven to 450.

Combine panko, parmesan, remaining ranch seasoning and flour in a large bowl. Coat chicken pieces in panko mix, then lay on a wire rack sitting on a baking sheet. Continue with remaining chicken pieces. Spray each piece with cooking spray or olive oil.

^the set up

Bake for 10 minutes, flip, coat with cooking spray, and bake for another 10-15 minutes.

This is one of those recipes that is in our list of favorites. I keep a journal of Craig’s favorite meals & then for one week every other month or so, I ONLY make his favorite recipes. Lucky for him, this week was that week :) These chicken fingers are one of his all time favorites! (& one of mine too :D )

Now onto Day 14 : Your earliest Memory.

It would have to be that when I was in pre school there was this kid that bit his arm & then ran & told the teacher that I did it! What the heck?! So of course I got in BIG trouble & she had to tell my Dad when he came to pick me up. I tried to tell him that I didn’t do it, and that the kid bit himself, but he didn’t believe me & I had to get a talking to as to why biting it bad! LOL! :D

Soooo you have to tell me if you have any exciting plans for Valentine’s day!!

I am seriously such a cheese ball & I LOOOVVEEE Valentine’s day!! I think it’s because I just love love :) Ever since I can remember I have always looked forward to Valentine’s day…even before I had a boyfriend. I just like the idea of exchanging Valentines..it’s so cute.

We are actually going to celebrate tonight, since Valentine’s day in on Monday. Craig is taking me to one of my absolute favorite restaurants! I cannot wait :D He won’t get his presents until the ACTUAL day– Monday– but we are having our night out tonight. I can’t wait to give him his presents…I think he’s really going to like ‘em.

HAPPY FRIDAY! I feel like I’ve been waiting on week for this ;)

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. hahaha I never thought about the made up names I have for people at the gym, but I definitely do the same thing! The one I’m always talking about is, “the guy who lives there.” He brings his entire life to the gym and is seriously on the treadmill for a good 3 hours everyday. (at least that’s what I assume because he seems to have a routine and I definitely don’t so I think 3 hours is a safe estimate). He jogs for an hour at 5.5, gets off, takes out 3 newspapers and a couple of books and then starts walking at 3.0 while reading. And he does a clothing change somewhere in there too. Craziness!

    Reply
  2. I am making those again this weekend for my husband!

    Reply
  3. I’m excited for this weekend since my bf and I will be celebrating Valentine’s day early. Nothing fancy planned besides going out to dinner but I just want to see him (we are apart at school all week!). Oh and I’ve been directing everyone to your muffins from yesterday BTW. They were AMAZING! You were right, it’s hard to stop at 1 hehe

    Reply
  4. We totally have nicknames for people in our neighborhood!! We have “The Dude”, “The Family w/ the Pool”, “The Canadians”, “The Freaky People”, “The People w/ the Dog”. It’s so funny because we use their nicknames to refer to them in conversation and we both know right away who we are talking about!

    Enjoy your Valentine’s dinner tonight!!

    Reply
  5. OMG I have nicknames for people too. There is this one older man we call him Wheezy Man. He coughs, hacks, wheezes his way through workouts and it’s SO annoying. I am worried something is really wrong with him. He also lifts weights at lightening speed. I can’t believe no one has ever told him to slow down and feel the moves.

    Reply
  6. My hubby and I have nicknames for practically everyone at our gym… lol!

    You are totally right, Valentine’s Day is the cutest holiday of the year, and it’s not just for celebrating romantic love!! Everyone in my life gets valentines. :) They are the sweetest cards.

    Reply
  7. I love Valentine’s Day too! I don’t see why some people get to grumpy about it! I had an experience in pre-K where a little boy bit me because I wouldn’t get out of the little types car he wanted to play with…he broke skin=( I literally started laughing when I read your memory!

    Reply
  8. hahaha i love your names for ppl at the gym! i dont belong to one, but i cud sure come up with a few if i did!

    Reply
  9. I love love too! All things pink and red… The cute stuff at Target. Just everything about it!!

    I am going to the Disney Princess on Ice show tomorrow and out to dinner with my bf then on Monday I’ll do soemthing with my mom and grandma.

    Have a great weekend!!

    Reply
  10. Erin

     /  February 11, 2011

    My parents and I do the same thing for neighbors and other people we encounter. For instance, the guy that jobs obsessively around our neighbor is “flat foot” for his terrible gait. Yes, we actually call him flat foot. Our other neighbor is “Lurch” b/c he is old, tall, and unresponsive to social cues. We call one of the people at our church, Grumpy Guy (always pouting), and then another neighbor “Dumb Guy”. It’s fine, lol.

    Reply
  11. So totally nickname people at the gym. I seriously wonder where “old man with short short shorts” is when he doesn’t show up. Haha.

    Reply
  12. I give nicknames to everyone I meet. For instance, creepy orange plaid shirt man…hits on me everytime but wears a plaid orange shirt to the gym. UGH. Anywho! YAY for Hollys/Hollies/Holleys! I have seriously never met more Hollies until I started blogging.

    Reply
  13. have fun tonight. Love it up! hehe. And I’m sorry about the boy who said you bit him, but it is kinda funny. I wonder where that kid is now. Would he remember? :)

    Reply
  14. I love your postive attitude about V-day so many people are negative about that day when in reality it can be a great day for those who dont have someone! Last year before I got together with Pete I had a wonderful date with a guy friend of mine!It doesn’t have to be the best day in the world but It can be awesome if you allow it to be you know what I mean? Way to be postive! I love V-day TOO!

    Reply
  15. Oh my goodness, I do this with my roommate! There’s “Bed Head Guy,” “Guy that will completely interrupt your workout and come talk to you for like 20 minutes so avoid at all costs Guy,” “The Grunter,” “Girl that eats like 4,000 cals a day and still looks like Jillian Michaels,” etc.

    My roommate has filled me in on some of the backstories (aka Jillian Michaels girl) and it’s hilarious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

