Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Muffins

Sunday was a day recovering from our beach red-ness…you should see the two of us. It is kind of funny actually….we really could pass as lobsters! :) We hit the gym & then just did lots of relaxing & watching Dexter!

Just for a quick minute I want to talk about my training. I don’t know if you have noticed, but I haven’t been talking much about my workouts like I used to. I just thought some people might be bored of it..and some of my workouts are really long, so it would take up most of my post. Instead of that, I added the ‘Daily workouts’ tab at the top of my blog. I don’t know if you noticed, but I have picked up my running quite a bit & plan to pick it up even more. For the last couple of months I have been doing a lot of weight training with a lot of HIIT for cardio. Don’t get me wrong, I am NOT stopping my weight training, I love it! But I do plan to pick up my milage. I will also be incorporating more long runs into my workouts. I have decided that I would like to do a few half marathons this year & then end the year with a marathon. I had planned on doing the Flying Pig marathon in May of this year…but then I got engaged ;) (& I’m NOT complainin’!!!!) But there was just no way that I could train for a full marathon while trying to plan a wedding, so I have put that marathon off until 2012.

I figure if I end with a marathon this year, it will only be one step closer to doing even better for the Flying Pig marathon :D I had to cut some of my long runs the last couple of months & just do more high interval training because of all of my issues with Crohn’s disease. I coudn’t go very far without having A LOT of stomach issues. But since starting this new medication (Humira) I have been feeling much better. **KNOCK ON WOOD!** I hope that it only continues to improve, and that my body adjusts properly to the medication.

Thanks for listening :) & Now for some FOOD talk ;)
I saw this recipe for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Muffins on Jessica’s site. While reading her post, I noticed that she mentioned using raisins in them instead of chocolate, referring them as ‘shriveled fruit.’ LOL! She is hilarious! I love reading all of her posts everyday! I actually do not mind the ‘shriveled fruit’ in my baked goods, so I figured I would give it a go!

I think Jess will probably cringe at the site of RAISINS in her chocolate muffins.

Please forgive me Jess! (<— Look, I even made the ‘please forgive me’ in PINK! Since I know thats your favorite color :) )I hope she doesn’t ban me from making her recipes…I really don’t know what I would do with myself. I swear I use at least 2 of her recipes a week, usually more than that.

Below is my take on Jess’ Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Muffins, I’ll just refer to mine as Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Muffins :D

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Muffins
(adapted from this recipe)

Makes 12 muffins.

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 cup rolled oats

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup Splenda, or sweetner of your choice

1/4 cup egg substitute (I used egg beaters)

1/4 cup all natural applesauce (no sugar added)

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 cup fresh raisins

Preheat oven to 350.

Add oats to a bowl and add 1/2 cup of milk. Let soak for 5-10 minutes, while you prepare the first few steps of the muffins.

In a large bowl, combine egg substitute,  brown sugar, and Splenda and whisk until smooth until light brown in color.

 Add in vanilla and applesauce, whisking well.

Try to smooth the batter as much as possible . Add flour, oat mixture, baking soda, salt and cinnamon and mix. Add remaining milk and combine until smooth. Fold in raisins.

Line a muffin tin with lines and pour about 1/4 cup batter into each line. Bake for 17- 20 minutes, or until cooked through.

 Serve with butter!
You can only make these on one condition: promise you will serve them warm with a dab of butter on top. <— That is from Jess’ post with the recipe for these muffins. I PROMISE that I served them warm with a dab of butter ;) I won’t break promises. I swear.

Once again, I have NEVER been disappointed with a recipe that I have found on Jess’s blog. She is the BEST! Seriously.

Well, if these don’t brighten up your Monday morning, then I don’t know what will ;) I hope you have a good day & a GREAT start to the week!

Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  February 21, 2011

    I concur- not only do I not mind shriveled fruit, but her recipes have never disappointed me, and I use them like once a week! ;)

    Reply
  2. I saw these on her sight and I definitely want to make them! I just have so many things on my list to make this week! As I type, I have my first “test” recipe in the oven!

    Reply
  3. Yay for the Flying Pig Marathon! I ran it in 2009, and loved every minute of it. It’s such a fun course! :)
    Great looking muffins!

    Reply
  4. Oatmeal and raisins are a match made in heaven. You can never go wrong!

    Reply
  5. I love Jess too! She is so funny and creative! I’ve only made like 2 of her recipes but I’ve never been disappointed…
    I don’t mind the raisins instead of chocolate chips – I’m actually glad you tried it so now I can make them :)

    Reply
  6. Those muffins look incredible! :D

    Reply
  7. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  February 21, 2011

    I think I might use the original recipe instead of yours with the rasins…I’m not a big fan of oatmeal-rasin.

    Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply
  8. Hahahaha omg I love you. I forgive you!!!

    Reply
  9. The muffins look amazing!! Nothing wrong with a little shriveled fruit : ) My parents have both run the Flying Pig and they really enjoy the course! Hope you get to run it next May!!

    Reply
  10. YAY! I’m glad that you are getting to do a marathon eventually. I have heard a lot of bloggers doing the flying pig! I def want to give that a try eventually.

    If I ever want dessert-it’s always a Jess recipe.

    Reply
  11. I have those same bowls! :)

    Those muffins look soooo good!

    Reply
  12. I love raisins with chocolate! Good choice. Sorry Jess, I’m all for it!

    Reply
  13. I made those this weekend too! I did half raisins half chocolate chips because I just couldn’t decide! They were delicious, especially with butter!

    Reply
  14. I loooove me some shriveled fruit…especially if it’s mixed with chocolate too! :)

    Reply
  15. again, you wow me with your awesome-ness. so infatuated with these right now… i might just have to go and make them.

    – katie at http://www.ohshineon.wordpress.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

