Bacon & Cheese Stuffed Chicken

First- HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my soon to be brother in law- Mike! He is the BEST brother in law in the world :D

^that’s Mike on the far right :) He’s our best man!  & he & Craig could seriously be twins. Not even kidding. It’s actually kind of weird HOW alike they are! haha :)

So the creative juices are flowing with new recipe ideas for dinner! I really don’t know where it came from, but I created this new dinner last night. It’s pretty easy & probably contains a lot of ingredients that you already have in your kitchen, which makes it even better :) (& you probably can’t tell by the title, but it’s actually pretty healthy!) The combination of flavors in this recipe are just right…(turkey) bacon, cheese, tomatos & pretzels– yep, you heard that right, pretzels too :)

Bacon & Cheese Stuffed Chicken 

Ingredients:
-6 chicken breasts pounded thin (I actually used 3 chicken breasts & they were really thick, so I just cut them in half)
-Rondele cheese spread (I could not find a website for this cheese spread, but I found it in a Super Target where they keep the speciality cheese. It’s really good & has really good stats- only like 50 calories per Tablespoon!)

-1 Roma tomato, sliced
-6 sliced cooked turkey bacon
-2 eggs whites
-2 handfuls pretzels (precise measuring, huh?! ;) )
-toothpicks

Preparation
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
2. Lay the chicken on a flat surface, so it is easy to work with. Spread about 2 teaspoons of the cheese spread on each chicken breast.

3. Take your slice tomatos and place about 3 on each piece of chicken. Next cut your bacon slices in half & put on top of the tomato slices.

4. Crush your pretzels- either in a food processor or by hand. (You can put them in a Ziploc bag & then just crush them) Roll up your chicken, secure with toothpicks. Take the chicken roll & dip it in the egg whites & then the crushed pretzels.

5. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until no longer pink.

Eat & enjoy :D If you try it, let me know!

Now on to some more little facts of information about me….I’ve been seeing this little ‘ABC’s’ quiz on many blogs that I love! So I figured I would join in on the fun :D

A.   Age: 24

B.    Bed size: Queen…but like Court said, we need a King (maybe even a California King- LOVE those!) since the mister is a MAJOR bed hog!

C.   Chore you hate: Folding laundry. I don’t mind washing it, I just hate folding it & putting it away! UGH.

D.   Dogs: LOVE them. I really want one, but Craig is HIGHLY HIGHLY allergic to them. (like Zyrtec & allergy shots don’t even work :( ) BUT, I have hope, I found out there are Minature Goldendoodles from Kristen & now I have my eyes set on one! & they are hypo allergenic!! Now if I could only come up with about $3500 tomorrow ;)

^OMG. MUST have asap!

E.  Essential start to your day: COFFEE!! & a good workout :) Particularly THIS coffee:

F.  Favorite color: Purple (agree with Courtney!)

G.  Gold or silver: Always silver. & I do not think gold & silver go together…sorry Mom! :)

H.  Height: 5′ 2″ & a 1/2 ;) I’m a shorty, what can I say?!

I.   Instruments you play: bahahaha! This makes me laugh. I am TERRIBLE at instruments! So the answer to that one is NONE!

J.   Job title: Well, mmmm, how do I put this? I work with annuities & securities all day. Think stocks, bonds, mutual funds, insurance products, TD Ameritrade…all that good stuff :D

K.  Kids: None yet, but eventually I want 2.

L.  Live: Orlando, Florida…home of the mouse! (but there is SO MUCH MORE than the mouse!)

M. Mom’s name: Nancy

In the white: My sister Jennifer, in the front- My Mom, in the polka dots- my sister Erin & me.

N.  Nicknames: Oh boy, this is a long list, but I’ll shorten it. H, H-Dub, H-ie, Hol, Hol B’ Gol, Tiger (long story, but it’s from one of my best friends- Cori :) ).

P.  Pet peeve: People not picking up after themselves…at work- like in the kitchen. I mean, c’mon I’m NOT your mother.

Q.  Quote from a movie: “I ate a foot long corn dog while at a nude beach. I will never do that again.” (Due Date :) ) It’s stuck in my head. I thought it was hilarious.

R.  Righty or Lefty: Righty.

S.   Siblings: Two older sisters, Erin & Jennifer. — see picture above ;)

T.   Time you wake up: Between 5am & 5:15am on weekdays to hit the gym & then typically around 7am on the weekends…my body decides that it does not want me to sleep in on the weekends. Boo!

U.   Underwear: What would you like to know about my under-roos?! ;)

V.    Vegetables you dislike: Brussel Sprouts. They smell like gas (yes, people gas!) when you cook them. YUCK!
Little cabbages full of yuck! (sorry for those of you that like them. :) )

W.   What makes you run late: Changing my outfit 5 million times before deciding on one.

X.    X-rays you’ve had: Just have them at the dentist- never had one elsewhere.

Y.    Yummy food you make: Buffalo Mac & cheese, Chocolate Peanut Butter Bundt Cake, Stuffed Red Velvet Cupcakes, & Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes!   

Z.     Zoo animal favorite: Am I allowed to say pigs? I know they aren’t really ‘zoo animals’ but I LOVE them so much.

^that’s my piggy bank that I have had for nearly 24 years. (that’s my whole life ;) ) My Dad got it as a gift for me from a lady he worked with- she hand painted it! So cool, huh?! It is one of my MOST valued possessions. If my house was on fire, this is one of the things I would grab!

Next Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  February 24, 2011

    Great recipe- love the spur of the moment creativity! :)

    Reply
  2. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  February 24, 2011

    So glad your creative juices are a flowin’ again!

    Seeing that picture of the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bunt Cake makes me want to make it again, yum!

    Reply
  3. bacon cheese AND chicken! YJM!

    Reply
  4. I think you just made the perfect dinner for my boyfriend, he’s obsessed with pretzels and recently that same cheese spread.

    That miniature goldendoodle is so cute. What about a Poodle or Maltese for his allergies?

    Reply
  5. i LOVE folding laundry. i’ll do all yours! that pig is so cute, haha.

    Reply
  6. PRETZELS on chicken… yummy!!!

    Reply
  7. My boyfriend would love me forever if I made him that chicken, unfortunately I won’t instead I’ll continue making him soy and lots of vegetables! I think I said this before but that cakes look so amazing! The little pb cups remind me of the ones at froyo places!

    Reply
  8. That cake seriously wins-it looks amazing. I love that photo of you and your man and then your best man. I have so many pictures of Aram and I, and then his best friend ruining it. It’s so funny!

    Reply
  9. I’ll eat your brussels sprouts for you, maybe you could make that chicken for me first!

    Reply
  10. You had me at “Bacon” ;)

    Reply
  11. Wow that cake looks delicious at the end! Love learning new things about people. And your chicken looks fantastic :)

    Reply
  12. Nice recipe – You’re out of your cooking rut :)
    I love the ABC’s that everyone did – I did mine today to post tonight!
    The pig bank is awesome…Definitely hold on to that forever

    Reply
  13. They have strawberry shortcake dunkin coffee!? Say what?! I need. I am obssessed with DD! Never knew of this flavor.

    Reply
  14. I love dunkin doughnuts coffee!!! I always get the french vanilla. I’ve never tried the strawberry shortcake though!

    Reply
  15. I LOVE the idea of adding pretzels for the coating! I never would have thought of that!

    I can’t believe how expensive the golden minidoodles are down there! I about passed out when I saw the $ – I mean…they’re expensive up here, but not quite that bad. Totally worth it for an allergy-free puppy though :)

    Reply
  16. I love that you love pigs too. I used to want a pig as a pet desperately. It has now become a running joke I think as I receive pig themed items every Christmas…pajamas, slippers, kitchen utensils, etc…Still nobody has actually bought me my little pot bellied pig yet? :)

    Reply
  17. Great recipe! Love reading those facts! I don’t like when people can’t pick up after themselves either, it bugs me! hah! I’m such a neat freak though and I’m sure it bugs others just as well!

    Reply
  18. Love your piggy bank!! It’s so cute and truly one of a kind!! That chicken looks amazing! Definitely going to try it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

