Strawberry Drop Biscuits

Good Saturday Morning :)

Don’t you just love waking up & realizing it is Saturday?! I sure do! I even woke up at my normal time this morning, around 5am, and then was like ‘woooohooo! I can sleep in since it’s Saturday!’ :D I ended up getting up around 7am because I had breakfast on my mind.

I hope I’m not the only one that has this issue- but as soon as I wake up on the weekends, recipes ideas just start flowing through my head. I just try to think of all of the ingredients that we have in the kitchen & what I can make with them. This morning’s thought went right to strawberries! I remembered I had about a half of a carton left to use of strawberries & I didn’t want them to go bad. First recipe idea- Strawberry shortcake! Since we can’t have dessert for breakfast (well….I guess we could, but I didn’t want something so sweet this early) I tried to think of other ways to use the strawberries. Strawberry Biscuits! BINGO!!

Strawberry Drop Biscuits

Ingredients:
-1 & 1/4 cups Heart Smart Bisquick
-1/2 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
-1 tsp. vanilla extract
-1 tbsp. Splenda, or sweetener of choice
-1/2 carton strawberries- about 8-10, diced 

Preparation:
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees 
2. Mix together all of the ingredients expect the strawberries.
3. Stir in strawberries until well combined.

4. Drop by rounded spoonfuls on a greased cookie sheet. (I got about 8 spoonfuls total)
5. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until slightly golden on top.

Now, what is the PERFECT complement to strawberries?! Only CHOCOLATE of course :D

This isn’t just ANY chocolate, this my friends is DARK Chocolate Dreams peanut butter ;) I just melted it for about 30 seconds in the microwave & then poured it on top.

Or you could go the more ‘traditional’ way & add MORE strawberries to the top in the form of strawberry jelly :)

Or you can be like me & have one of both!! That was a DELICIOUS breakfast, if I do say so myself ;)

These remind me that spring is a comin’! I even saw strawberries on sale at Publix this week for like $1.50!! Not too bad :)

Well, anyways I’m letting my breakfast digest for a bit & then I’m going to doing some running :) Hopefully it starts to clear up a bit here, it’s kind of cloudy, so that we can lay out & get some sun!

Later today we have our special guest coming in later this afternoon!! I also  have more recipes coming for you :)
Happy Saturday!!

PS- Look what I saw on my way home from work yesterday:

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Holy Moly, those biscuits look amazing! I’m really going to have to try them.

    That rainbow is beautiful. I’m pretty jealous-all we have had is pouring rain today and therefore no rainbows here. :(

    Reply
  2. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  March 5, 2011

    Very pretty! So creative, too! HAve a great time meeting with the pastor- good luck and I hope the chicken comes out well- I suggest pairing it with a green veggies like aspargus or broc! xo

    Reply
  3. Happy Saturday! Hope you have a great day!

    Reply
  4. I’ve never thought of melting PB like that. I bet it’s amazing!

    Reply
  5. OMG! never thought of melting that pb…i am literally drooling and i’ve already had 3 spoonfuls of that this morning! doh…shoulda read ur post earlier.
    love the rainbow :) cant wait to be in florida so i can share this warm weather feeling!!

    Reply
  6. What a gorgeous rainbow!!! I’ve never made biscuits but yours look delicious! What a great weekend breakfast :D

    Reply
  7. that looks AMAZING! yummm! so glad i found your blog :)

    Reply
  8. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  March 5, 2011

    Wow those strawberry biscuits look really good. Too bad the oven in the house no longer works :( I went with my parents to pick out a new one today…just have to wait a couple of weeks now. I don’t know what I’m going to do without and oven to bake in!

    I’m off to check out your recipe page to see if you have any recipes for shrimp. Lent is on its way so seafood is going on sale so I want to try making new stuff. And since you have such great recipes I thought I would check here first :)

    Reply
    • Oooo- that’s a good point- I will have to work on some more seafood recipes :) I’m sorry your oven doesn’t work- do you have a toaster oven?

      Reply
      • Amy @ countrystrong21

         /  March 6, 2011

        I like your idea to work on more seafood recipes :) No toaster oven in this house. I’m pretty sure we’ll get by without an oven until the new one arrives, or we’ll be going to my grandma’s to use her oven haha.

  9. WOW! Those biscuits look great! I never think to put strawberry in baked goods!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

