Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

I have told you guys about my love of lemon before…well, I have another lemon recipe to share with you! :)

I might be the only one on the planet that is not a big fan of the new Lemon Chobani.

 I pretty much am in LOVE with all of the other flavors, but I just can’t get past the lemon flavor. I know it’s really odd because I normally really like any lemon flavored things. I think it’s because I like to eat my yogurt for breakfast with different fruit mixed in. Banana + lemon is just not a good combination, in my opinion.

But to bake with the Lemon Chobani, well, now that is a WHOLE different story ;) I have been trying to think of the perfect recipe to use this flavor in…and I think I found it! Remember when I made the Double Strawberry muffins? In that recipe I used Strawberry Chobani Greek yogurt. I changed that recipe up & have used it to make Lemon Poppyseed Muffins. To make it even better, they are only about 130 calories each!

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

Ingredients:
-2 cups whole wheat flour
-1 cup Splenda (or your choice of sugar substiute)
-1 tsp. baking powder
-2 tsp. baking soda
-1/4 tsp salt
-1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
-1 (6 oz) container nonfat lemon Greek yogurt (I used Chobani)
-2 egg whites, beaten
-2 tsp vanilla
-1 tsp poppyseeds
-1/2 tsp lemon peel

Preparation:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2.Mix together the flour, Splenda, baking powder, baking soda, & salt in a large bowl.
 3. In a separate bowl mix together the applesauce, Greek yogurt, egg whites, & vanilla.

4. Once combined, stir in the flour mixture into the yogurt mixture. Mix until moistened.
5. Stir in the poppy seeds & lemon peel.

6. Pour into greased muffin pan & bake about 20- 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

If you feel the need to fancy your muffins up, as I did, then you can use a powdered sugar glaze. All I did was take about 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar, a few drops of almond milk, & 2 drops of lemon juice- that was enough for 2 muffins.


*Drool*

^Just wanted to show you a picture of the inside of the muffin as well.

These are really good, and you know what? I really like poppyseeds..like a lot! (I keep typing ‘poopy’ instead of ‘poppy’- oops! :) ) They kind of just pop in every bite. I guess it just goes to show I like texture in my food.

If you are not a fan of whole wheat flour, then you can also use all purpose flour. I know some people just prefer regular flour because some people don’t like the ‘grain’ taste of whole wheat flour. Personally, I do, but to each is own :)

Here are some fitness/ exercise/ health sites & links that I have found interesting this week, maybe you will too. :)

Foods That Send Your Metabolism Soaring

Living Room Workout (<— LOVE those!)

The Key to Eating in Moderation: Know When Enough is Enough by Tina! :)

Anyways, hope you have a great day!! It’s actually my Friday because tomorrow we are taking off to go to a bunch of meetings for our upcoming wedding! On the list of meetings:
-Meet with our director @ the resort that we are getting married at
-Meet with the florist
-Meet with the bakery & have a CAKE tasting!! Woohoo :)

Any advice on things I should ask the florist or bakery??

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Yum. I’m not a big muffin eater, but one of my faves is lemon poppyseed. I apparently MUST get my butt out there and find this Chobani flavor. I keep seeing everyone rave about it.

    Reply
  2. Yuuuuuum! I need to make lemon poppy seed muffins again soon!

    Reply
  3. Those look so yum! I haven’t tried Lemon yet, I’m not sure I’d really care for it in yogurt.

    Reply
  4. That’s the one flavor of Chobani I haven’t had!

    Ask the florist about delivery charges. Also ask then who transports the larger pieces from the Church to the reception (you do *not* want to have anyone else do it). If you do candles and hurricane vases, ask them if it is more cost effective for you to buy/provide the vases (often it is). Ask to see a ton of examples so you know just what you want and be explicit. It’s okay to negotiate the price a bit too!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for all of your advice :)
      One of the good things for us is that we are having the ceremony & reception in one spot- so much easier! No worry of transporting things!
      HUGE thank you about the price negotiation advice- I wasn’t sure if I was allowed to do that.

      Reply
  5. Those Lemon muffins look so yummy!! And everyone definitely seems to love Lemon, when I made my post yesterday Lemon was the biggest favorite. I’m not really into Lemon so I probably wouldn’t like it too much.

    Reply
  6. I actually wasn’t the biggest fan of the lemon flavor either but I’m so glad you came up with this recipe! I loved your strawberry muffin one so I’m sure I will love this. Also, I found that subbing chia seeds for the poppy seeds works well. I bought a big bag but then wasn’t too big a fan of adding it to other things. But in muffins, it’s all good :)

    Reply
  7. I love adding chobani to muffins – I am not a big fan of Lemon in general so I’m not sure if i would like the lemon chobani and I have a container in my fridge to use… I think I’ll make these!!

    Reply
  8. You’re not the only one!! I think the flavor is a bit to lemony – as in, fake lemony. But maybe baking with it would tone it down. I’ll have to try it out!

    Reply
  9. Oh yum those sounds really good!!!! I haven’t tried the lemon yogurt yet, but from the looks of what everyone’s saying, I may steer clear of it anyhow haha.

    Reply
    • Hey Monique- this may sound silly, but how do I leave comments on your blog? I just went to leave one, but couldn’t figure out where the button is to add a comment. Just wanted to tell you that I pick Kansas to take the whole thing too :D

      Reply
  10. oh I love lemon too! That flavor would be so refreshing! Great recipe girl! Good luck with the florist! Look at lots of options.

    Reply
  11. I have to say I am not a huge fan of ANY of the Chobani flavors! I really enjoy the Plain one though and then adding my own flavorings, such as a bit of maple syrup, cinnamon and nutmeg.
    I haven’t tried the lemon yet, but I really want to sample it with this recipe! The muffins look tasty and healthy too :D
    Lemon flavored treats are some of my favoriteeee, I used to get the “iced lemon loaf” at Starbucks almost everyday after school in fifth grade…good times haha

    Reply
    • I actually know someone just like that- only eats the plain flavor. You know sometimes they are just WAY too sweet. The only ones I tend to buy now that are flavored are the black cherry flavored ones (they are my favorite!!) & vanilla. But a lot of the other flavors (like Mango) are wayyyy to sweet in my opinion.

      Reply
  12. pawsitivelife

     /  March 21, 2011

    These look fantastic! Im trying to teach myself to like greek yogurt (because its so good for you) and I am trying to incorporate it in my everyday food. I will have to try this for sure! Great post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

