Honey Curry Chicken

Hey Guys & Happy Beginning of the Week!!

Sorry I was M.I.A on the blog this weekend, just lots to do. Might be kind of here & there posting on the blog, but I promise that I am still here :)

I’ll give you a little re-cap of the weekend- only the fun parts, of course! On Friday night I told Craig that I wanted to take him on a date. And not just any date, I wanted to try out a new restaurant & get all nice and dressed up. He asked me why, and I just said because we have not done it in a while & I think the wedding stuff is about to get really hectic. (We only have¬†about 6 weeks to go) I thought it would be a good idea to just take a step back from it Saturday night & enjoy a night out together!

I went on Restaurant.com to see what kind of coupons I could find. Have you ever been on that site?? It is FANTASTIC for great deals on places to eat. The other part about that website that I like is that it makes you want to try new restaurants. The restaurant I picked was Hannibal’s Lounge in Winter Park. I got a $50 gift certificate for only $6!! The only obligation was that we had to spend AT LEAST $100. At this place it is really easy to do that…so I thought it was quite the bargain!

The food was OUTSTANDING & we will definitely go back! One other neat thing is that I was looking at all of the vodkas that this restaurant had, & I happened to notice two Absolut Vodka flavors that I had never seen before- Brooklyn & Boston. Of course it got my curiousity & I asked our waitress what the flavors were. The ‘Boston’ flavor was Black Tea & Elderflower.

And the Brooklyn flavor was Red Apple & Ginger.

I asked her what kind of drinks they made with these flavors. She told me that honestly she had no idea because no one had ever ordered either flavor from her. She said she would go & ask the bartender & see what he could come up with. She immediately came back & said he could just make a drink up- I decided to go with the ‘Boston’ flavor since I am NOT a fan of apple martinis.

The drink he made from this ‘Boston’ flavor was SO good! It wasn’t too sweet (I’m not a fan of sweet martinis) & it had a hint of tea flavor- delicious! So glad I decided to try it :)

If you drink liquor, do you have a favorite flavor? Typically I always get diet coke or pepsi with grape or cherry vodka. The grape flavor always makes people cringe, but I LOVE it. :D

It was REALLY easy to spend over $100- our bill was actually $130, but with $50 that’s not bad, especially for a restaurant in Winter Park.

After dinner we both wanted something sweet. Since we gave up ice cream & frozen yogurt for Lent, we weren’t sure what to get. I suggested this place near our house called Sweet! By Good Golly Miss Holly. (I mean it MUST be delicious with a name like Holly in it ;) ) It was PACKED when we got there, but the line moved super quick! We both picked out cupcakes- I got two mini ones & Craig got a big one.

Minis: Red Velvet & Banana.
Big one: Chocolate peanut butter.

I LOVED the banana one. I wish that could be our wedding cake flavor, but Craig is not a big fan of banana flavor. Boo! The red velvet was good too, but I just wasn’t feeling it- I let Craig eat most of it. I tried a bite of his chocolate peanut butter one- HOLY YUM! But it was chocolate OVERLOAD for sure! :)

After we ate our cupcakes the rest of the night was spent watching Dexter on DVD. Love that show!! :) We are on Season 4 right now, but trying to space it out since Season 5 is not out yet on DVD.

Sunday was just a LOT of wedding errands & little things to do. I had to get a bunch of stuff from Michael’s for the wedding & Craig was working on his vows. (Don’t know if I mentioned with are both writing our own vows) After running my errands I got in a really good run- nice & fast¬†:) and then I started on dinner. I have the recipe to share with you- I think you might like it if you like honey mustard! It kind of reminded me of Alice Springs Chicken at Outback.

Honey Curry Chicken

Ingredients:
-2 tbsp. butter or margarine, melted
-1/2 cup honey
-1/4 cup prepared mustard (I used 1/8 cup spicy mustard & 1/8 cup regular mustard..just to add some spice)
-1 tsp. minced garlic
-salt & pepper
-1/2 tbsp. curry powder
-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, sliced in half lengthwise (or you can buy them already sliced thin)

Preparation:
1. Prepare a marinade for the chicken. Add all ingredients except chicken to a medium sized bowl & mix well. Prepare marinade about 4-5 hours before you are ready to eat the chicken.

2. Place chicken in a greased 9 x 13 inch pan. Pour marinade over top of the chicken & let it sit in the refrigerator for about 5 hours. (Makes the chicken extra juicy!)

3. After it is done marinading, heat oven to 450 degrees. Cook chicken for about 15-17 minutes, or until no longer pink in the middle. Make sure you keep an eye on it because it can over cook really quickly since it is so thin.

^ you can really see the curry powder flakes in the picture :)

I served it with some sweet potato coins (I cut up 2 sweet potatos into 1/8″ slices, then I added them to a greased pan & sprinkled them with 1 tbsp. light brown sugar, about 1 tbsp. kosher salt & then about 1 tbsp. olive oil) & some mixed vegetables.

It ’twas quite tasty, if I do say so myself ;) Perfect Sunday dinner!

Of course a little white later we were both thinking it was time for something sweet…and I have been CRAVING Angel Food cake. I happened to have a box of angel food cake mix, so I whipped one up really quick.

I don’t know if you can tell in the above photo, but I added purple dye to the mix. I wanted to make it pretty…and well, I have an obsession with purple if you haven’t noticed yet ;)

I served the cake with sliced strawberries the size of my HAND!

^ You can tell strawberry season is here- this thing is HUGE! & they were ALL this size!! & yes, I have freckles on my hand :)

I made it even more special for Craig & added a little bit of chocolate syrup (the boy loves his chocolate! ;) )..no syrup for me.

Now I want more angel food cake…and it’s 6 in the morning…ooooof ;)

I know my Mom is jealous about this dessert…one of her favorite desserts is Angel food cake. But is has to have TONS& TONS of whipped cream- like so much so that you can’t even see the cake anymore. :) Love you Mommy! Come visit me & I’ll make you one. :)

Well, I better get my tush a movin’- lots to accomplish today!

Hope you’re off to a GREAT start!! Catch up with ya later, alligators :D

Previous Post
Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. I love angel food cake too!! We always have it for my Mom’s birthday (it’s her favorite). I love that you put purple food coloring in it – totally cute!

    Reply
  2. I think that’s great that you and the FH (future hubs) went on a date! It’s important to spend time with each other and not just focus on wedding stuff. (Although, how much fun is THAT?! ;)) Glad you tried the Boston- an ode to me, I assume!!!??? Haha. That angel food cake looks DIVINE!

    Reply
  3. I seriously want to go and buy all the Cupcakes-they look amazing.

    I’m glad you guys went on a date because you needed it girl! :) Relax, and I swear the blogging world will always be here for you.

    Reply
  4. That dessert you made looks incredible!!! I love the purple cake! Purple is my favorite color too! :)

    Reply
  5. I love restaurant.com. You can get some fantastic deals. I love strawberries with angel food cake. It’s a great combo that’s not too terribly sweet. I’m not a big cake person, but this works for me. I hope you have a good week!

    Reply
  6. I’m a lover of Angel food cake. I actually haven’t had some in a while! I think I just might make some for Easter! It will be a nice light dessert after a big Easter dinner. :)

    Reply
  7. Oh the wedding tasks never end! I am still 5 months out and super busy!

    Reply
  8. Angel food cake is one of my faves since it is so light and airy. Your date night looks like a sucess!!

    Reply
  9. Love angel food cake…one of my favorites for sure! And the cupcakes look so freakin’ good.

    Also date nights are the best, especially when you can dress up.

    Reply
  10. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  April 11, 2011

    Those cupcakes looks so awesome! I am going to try making banana bread in a Nesco soon. We’re still without an oven at my house (new one is backordered :( ) but I have two bananas that are very ripe so something needs to be done. Cross my fingers baking in a Nesco works out OK lol!

    Reply
  11. I don’t know how you manage to blog at all with all you’ve got going on. AND you cook. Amazing girl :-)
    I love making Angel Food Cake. I usually make it into cupcakes and throw in a little bit of chocolate sprinkles. You’re looks wayy more delish – love the purple add.

    Reply
  12. I have freckled hands too!! :)

    Those cupcakes look soooo good. I love chocolate overload :D If someone ever tells me something is ‘too chocolatey’ I know I’ll love it!

    Reply
  13. How fun to get all the weddings things in order :) Aww too bad Craig isn’t a banana lover. I would love to get a banana chocolate chip cake yum! Best of both worlds. I’ve never tried red velvet before but I heard it’s pretty tasty. Love the angel food cake, so cute with the strawberries and purple coloring :D

    Reply
  14. i want those cupcakes. like now.

    Reply
  15. good golly holly those cupcakes look yummy!!
    thanks for the tip about the gift certificates – excellent idea to take a minute to yourselves before the craziness of the wedding planning coming on!

    Reply
  1. Weekend Recap « eatdrinkloveandexercisedotcom
  2. I was Feeling a little snacky « eatdrinkloveandexercisedotcom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

