What to Read Wednesday

Happy Wednesday!!
I know I’ve told you before, but I am just not a fan of ‘happy hump day,’ it just sounds extremely awkward to me. Whenever someone says that to me I’m like, ‘ummmm thanks??’ Not in a mean way, just like a ‘how do I respond to that kind of way’ ;)

Anyways, on to more important things. I have another round of what to read Wednesday! There were SO many touching posts this week, but I have narrowed it down to just five, and one is an AMAZING recipe that you HAVE to try, even though I haven’t YET…but more on that later.

The first post is from my FAVORITE ‘shoe lady’- Shanna!

(How cute is she?!!?)

Not only do I love Shanna’s blog because of her weekly ‘Shoesday’ posts, but because she is honest. She doesn’t pretend to live the perfect life, like I’m sure you have seen in the ‘blog world.’ She tells it how it is! I LOVE that. One post that she wrote about ‘The Truth About Exercise’ was just proof of how REAL Shanna is. She talks about how sometimes LIFE gets in the way of exercising…and how LIFE is WAY more important than exercise. You only get one life & there is NO reason that you should skip ‘life stuff’ in order to exercise. She also talks about how you should NEVER compare yourself to how other bloggers exercise. Everyone is different!

Another one of my favorite ladies, Janetha, wrote a great post about ‘scale talk.’

(^ her family portrait :) & how cool is it that her wedding colors had black & purple too?!!? )

In Janetha’s post about ‘Food & Fitness’ she discusses how IMPORTANT it is to not base your health on a number on a scale, but rather your OVERALL fitness ability. Even though I’m not going to lie & say that I still don’t have issues with the scale, I have made progress. I try my hardest to not let a number dictate how my mood for the day will be. I know how much weight can fluctuate, but sometimes it’s hard to remember. You should really read this, especially if you are having ‘scale issues’ too!

You all already know how much I adore Jessica & all of her recipes.

(how GORGEOUS is she?!?!)

The other thing that I love about Jessica is that all of her recipes come with a story. She is one of the BEST writers that I ‘know.’ She has the best description of food, where as I always use things like ‘it was so delicious’ or ‘it was so tasty’ or ‘what a great meal’- you see my descriptions are pretty limited- lol! But Jess makes your mouth water at all of her descriptions of food…even if without pictures. But, oh man!, those pictures- HOLY COW- to.die.for! Anyways, I saw this recipe for a nectarine mint milkshake, I knew EXACTLY what I wanted for my treat on Easter. Since I gave up ice cream & frozen yogurt for Lent, I cannot wait to dive into it on Easter! This combination of flavors sounds like the PERFECT treat following a good month & a half without ice cream.

The post that I am about the share with you REALLY touched my heart. Alyssa wrote a post about breast cancer  & I was in tears reading it.

(so, so, so cute, right?!)

Last October I posted what breast cancer means to me…and how it has affected my life. When I read that Alyssa’s VERY young sister was just diagnosed with breast cancer I was in shock. I could not believe it. Even though I do not know her personally, she is just SO SO SO young to have to deal with this evil disease. I was SO glad to hear that she caught it very early & that it will **hopefully** be a very quick & easy treatment to get rid of the cancer. Please remember to keep Alyssa’s sister, Alyssa & Alyssa’s family in your thoughts & prayers!

Last but not least, is a post from Jess.

(they are such a beautiful couple!)

Her post is about how eating disorders do NOT just affect the people that is going thru the disorder, but EVERYONE around them. I know when I was going through treatment for anorexia a LOT of my treatment involved my parents as well. My psychologist had my parents involved VERY much through out the whole process- I think it was to try to help them understand what I was going through, but also for my doctor to try to explain their feelings to me. It’s easy to forget that everyone in your life is affected by the disorder…they are not used to the person that the disease has made you become. But if you work together, you can lean on EACH other for support.

I hope you have enjoyed these posts :) All of these ladies are amazing people & I enjoy reading their blogs every day.

If you have read any blog posts that really stood out to you this week, please feel free to link them on here!!

I hope you have a great day! Don’t work too hard ;)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. you’re so sweet! thank you so much!

    Reply
  2. I’ve read all of them but the last so I’ll be sure to check her out :)

    Reply
  3. Thanks so much for sharing these posts they’re all great:) and Happy Middle of the Week Day!

    Reply
  4. Wow these posts are great, obviously why you chose them. I’m in love with every single one of Jess’s recipes. They make my mouth water every single time.

    Reply
  5. Thanks for sharing, a couple of those blogs are new to me!

    Reply
  6. I’m excited to go explore these new blogs!!

    I also totally teared up reading Alyssa’s post about her sister. I can’t take stuff like that!

    Reply
  7. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  April 20, 2011

    Yet again another awesome “What to Read Wednesday” post! I love that you’re using your blog to share other great blogger’s posts. I have read some of these but will definitely be checking the rest out soon (hopefully)!

    Reply
  8. I love that you are continuing to do this! I have only read two of the bloggers you mentioned, and am surely going to check out the rest today :)

    Reply
  9. Wow- I want to read every one of these right now. I wish I didn’t have to work! Why can’t we blog and read blogs all day? :-) Breast cancer has definitely affected my life in many ways so I’m looking forward to reading that post.

    And I agree with you on Jessica’s recipes and words. She’s amazing. I’ll check out the recipe…but it’s doubtful I’ll be able to make it. I am an almost-baker in training. I’m not ready for anything too complicated/not instant. haha :-)

    Reply
  10. Oh dear Holly, I love you so ;) Thanks for the super stellar shoutout! I’m glad my post resonated with you on exercise!

    I was just thinking this morning about what shoes to post next week and I think I’ll be posting my purple shoes in honor of YOU!

    Reply
  11. That’s great how you recommend interesting blogs to read! I’m excited to be reading yours and theirs now!

    Reply
  12. All wonderful blogs that I love reading. Such gorgeous women! :D

    Reply
  13. This is a great way for me to fine new blogs to read….procrastination!! Great idea though, it’s fun to read posts like this :)

    Reply
  14. Aw I really liked this! :) Definitely good to see some of these posts… I hadn’t seen them out on the blogosphere :)
    <3
    n

    Reply
  15. Holly, you are so sweet :) Thanks for the shout out! You are a beautiful girl!

    Reply
  16. Thanks for the shout out! I love you to bits!

    Reply
  17. oh my gosh, I’ve been so MIA in the blog world and am just catching up after numerous trips out of town.

    THANK YOU so much for the feature, girlfriend. You’re the sweetest. And thank you, thank you, thank you for the prayers. <3

    Reply
  1. Well-Being Wednesday | Amazing Asset

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

