Dinner For One

Good Morning!

Hope you enjoyed your weekend. Now it’s back to the grind :) This weekend seemed like it went by really fast..but I think it’s because we were so busy. It was one of those weekends that wasn’t really relaxing, more go -go- go. You know what I mean? It’s not like it was a bad thing, just really busy.

On Saturday I spent the afternoon with my Mom & Aunt. They got to see where we are getting married- I showed them around & they both commented on how nice it was. The pictures online really do NOT do it justice. After that we went to lunch, & then they dropped me off at home so that I could pick up Craig to head to my sister & brother in laws to watch our nephew.

Along the way we grabbed some coffee- first coffee of the day- I couldn’t believe I made it until 4pm without a cup of coffee. Haha! :D Once we got to my sister’s house, she went over everything we needed to know. (feeding time, different things Ethan likes to do, etc.) I knew my sister would be nervous because this was their FIRST date out since before Ethan was born. I assured her everything would be ok & that we would take very good care of him. :)

He was PERFECT. Seriously, absolutely PERFECT!

(^She’s training him early- they are Phillies fans :) )

Ethan LOVES to be in motion, constantly. You cannot sit on the couch with him on your lap- he wants you to hold him & walk around…or he loves to go for walks in his stroller. I ended up taking him on an hour walk around the neighborhood & he fell asleep for about 30 minutes during the walk.

(^sleepy baby- in his stroller :) )

Once he woke up, I took him back inside & we gave him his second bottle. Then we played with him some more- he loves bright colors & he LOVES when his Uncle Craig dances. ;) Uncle Craig kept him very entertained with his dances- Ethan was laughing so much…and he has the CUTEST smile!

(^isn’t he just the CUTEST baby you have ever seen???? I LOVE that smile :D )

Erin & Hank (my sister & brother in law) came back from their date night around 9:30pm. They said it was so nice to get out and have some couple time. :) I’m just glad they felt very comfortable with us watching him. I told them ANYTIME! I will watch my little nephew whenever it is needed. I enjoyed every minute with that little boy, he is perfect in every sense of the word. :)

Once Craig & I got  home, I went straight to bed. I was pooped! I also knew I wanted to get up early to get my grocery list together for grocery shopping on Sunday morning.

Yesterday morning I was up bright & early. (total wedding brain– I think of things for the wedding ALL of the time– once I start thinking of it I just can’t get back to bed.) But it gave me time to get my coupons together & my list all straightened out for the week.

Today was spent laying by the pool & reading Something Borrowed.

I’m LOVING that book.

Before we went out to the pool I prepped dinner. Last night’s dinner was ALL for C-R-A-I-G. Definitely NOT something that I would eat, but I know he loves them. I decided to make him ribs. I just came up with this recipe for the sauce- just a basic rib sauce recipe. I figured that I would share it with you, since it’s SUPER easy & you use the slow cooker for most of the recipe.

Slower Cooker Fall Off the Bone Rib Recipe (<– anyone want to think of a shorter title for the recipe?! ;) )

Ingredients:
-salt & pepper
-1 cup ketchup
-1 cup BBQ sauce (your favorite)
-1 tbsp. hot sauce (your favorite- I used Frank’s)
-1/2 cup brown sugar
-1/2 onion, diced
-3-4 lb. rack of ribs

Preparation:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place rack of ribs on a greased oven safe pan, or greased baking sheet (use make sure the sides of the baking sheet is raised so that the grease does not flow off the pan).
2. Take the ribs & lay them on the pan or baking sheet. Sprinkle salt & pepper on both sides of the ribs.

3. Cook ribs for 15 minutes on one side, then flip to the other side & bake for another 15 minutes. (this helps to get some of the grease off of the ribs- makes for easier cooking in the crock pot.)

4. Place the ribs in the crock pot & add the onion on top.

5. In a medium bowl combine the ketchup, BBQ sauce, brown sugar & hot sauce. Stir to combine & then pour over the ribs & onion.

6. Let the ribs cook on low for about 7-8 hours, or until the meat is starting to fall off of the bone. About every hour I would go in & stir the sauce around, and rotate the ribs. I served the ribs with some extra sauce that was in the slow cooker, but Craig said they really didn’t need it.

Craig said these were really good- fall off the bone good. I was so happy to hear that, since I know that’s what you want when you eat ribs. Obviously I did not try them, since I do not eat pork…but they sure did make the house smell good :)

Instead of the ribs, I had some leftover Coconut Chicken Tenders & some of the sides that I made to go along with the ribs.

So, here’s random fact about me– I LOVE corn on the cob, but I will not eat it on the cob. I always cut it off cob. I just hate how it always gets stuck in your teeth..and I always feel so gross eating it. (you can call me weird, it’s ok ;) )

I also think it might be when I used to have braces– you know how you have to cut it off so that it doesn’t make the bracets fall off. I just really enjoy corn on the cob, but off the cob :)

Anyways, I’m off to conquer the day….I hope you have a good day as well! :)

Before I go, I have some questions for you:
1.Do you like corn on the cob?
2.Did you ever have braces?
3.Do you like baby-sitting?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  May 9, 2011

    1. Ethan is a babe!!!!
    2. SOBO is the best book. You will love Something Blue even MORE!!!!
    3. I need to make ribs for the boy. And me. :)
    4. Yes, I love corn on the cob, and I cut it off, too!!!
    5. Never had braces.
    6. Love sitting… when it’s for cute kids! ;)

    Reply
  2. I love corn. In any shape or form, it’s by far one of my favorite veggies. I had braces for 8 months and got them off 6 months early. ha. I don’t mind babysitting if the child is more than 1 year old, I don’t do well with babies at all. Like it will be a problem when I plan to be a mother.

    Those ribs look so good. Just another reason I need to get a slowcooker.

    Reply
  3. Eathan is the cutest baby!!
    I want to read that book but I will probably just see the movie because I’m lazy like that.
    That ribs recipe looks so easy – love it! My boyfriend made one of your recipes last night for me :)
    I had braces…forever!!
    I am a nanny so i of course love babysitting!!

    Reply
  4. I don’t eat corn on the cob either! But I’m actually too lazy to cut it off the corn so I just don’t eat it. :-p

    Reply
  5. Sounds like a pretty good weekend even if it was busy busy. I can’t wait for it to be warm enough for pool time. I love corn on the cob and the worst time was when I had braces and couldn’t eat it. When I got them off, that was one of the first things I wanted to eat.

    Reply
  6. I love corn on the cob but like you I don’t eat on the cob either! I totally cut off the corn!

    I had invisalign braces.

    I love babysitting! I’m hoping that at some point I will get to baby sit my friend’s daughter. She is beyond the point of adorable. I would love to take care of her. :)

    Reply
  7. What a cute baby! I like to babysit but only when the children are not little beasts haha. The last couple of families I have babysat for have had insane, bratty children that constantly fight, argue, and truly enjoy not listening to me…good times?
    I enjoy either on the cob or not, I think on the cob more though because I tend to inhale it and can do this faster when its on the cob still :)
    Had braces for two years, glad that’s over with!

    Reply
  8. ethan is SUCH a cutie!! i read that book and i can’t wait to see the movie!

    Reply
  9. Hmm, I’ve never thought about cutting it off the cob..for some reason I feel like I would lose the “flavor”..tell me that makes any sense!

    Reply
  10. I LOVE corn on the cob!! The two years I had braces were the hardest of my life because I couldn’t have it ;-) haha I’m only kidding a little bit!!

    And Ethan is ADORABLE!! I love his onesie too =)

    Reply
  11. Awww how precious is that baby?! I agree – he may be the cutest baby ever ;-)

    I cannot wait to see Something Borrowed! I’ve read the book before but may read it again for kicks.

    Corn on the cob? Love it. Eat it. Get it all over my face 90% of the time. Same thing with ribs and wings (I’m hopelessly messy). I had braces and before I got those miracle workers, I had buck teeth. Thank the lord for orthodontics.

    Reply
  12. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  May 9, 2011

    I like corn on the cob. I dislike the feeling of getting that stuff stuck in your teeth and feel like I make a mess of myself eating it but it’s so good I don’t care ;)

    I had braces for about 1.5 years while in middle school.

    I used to like babysitting when I was in my teens. I’ve found I would prefer a young child that doesn’t like me to play with them. Playing with a baby is different than playing with a school-age child yano? Especially little girls because I’m not a girly girl so I don’t like to play with Barbies haha.

    Reply
  13. Loved something borrowed—all of her books are good!

    Reply
  14. My sister and brother-in-law are phillies fans too! funny that we are the baltimore fans and they are the philly ones! :)

    Reply
  15. Oh wow, I haven’t had ribs in I don’t know how long… they are so good! How is the probiotic working out?

    1. I LOVE IT! Can’t wait for the farmers’ market to start. They have the best corn.
    2. I had them for FIVE years. Only on top.
    3. Hmmm.. not so much. I love to dog sit though!

    Reply
    • I think it’s working well- but it’s hard to tell, only because I think my stress is pretty high right now because of the wedding. but honestly, I have been feeling better..and not having to make so many trips to the bathroom. (sorry for the tmi- yikes!)
      Thank you for the suggestion! :) I cannot wait to see how I feel after the wedding is over, and the stress level is back to normal.
      Ahhh– I love to dog sit too :D
      Love you xoxo

      Reply
  16. I love your blog!! I can’t believe I haven’t been over here before – can’t wait to try some of your recipes and ST moves.

    1. absolutely!
    2. YES – for about 2.5 years- made them take them off when I turned 15 before I started my sophomore year of high school!
    3. depends on the baby – I can’t wait to babysit my new nephew!

    Reply
  17. I love corn on the cob but not eaten off the cob lol I hate when food gets stuck in my teeth, sooo annoying! And yup I was a braces girl. A whole 2 and a half years

    Reply
  18. I love corn on the cob. Sometimes I’ll eat it off the cob.. Little fact I used to work at a Farmer’s stand selling corn and when I was hungry I would shuck the corn and eat it right off the cob. They gre the best tasting corn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

