On the Fly Chicken Pot Pie.

First things first- HAPPY FRIDAY :D

…and of course I have to say it- 2 weeks to go until we get married!!!
Not sure if you have noticed, but it’s Friday the 13th- yikes!

Hopefully nothing too crazy happens today ;)

Anyways, I have a new recipe to share with you today. It’s just something that I kind of threw together. You know those nights where you just look through everything in your kitchen and just kind of come up with something?! Well…that’s what happened with this recipe. :)

I like to call it ‘On the Fly Chicken Pot Pie.’ It’s so easy to make- perfect for a week night meal. And it’s SUPER easy! Win-win.

On the Fly Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients:
-1 onion, diced
-2 small carrots, diced (a little over 1/2 cup of diced carrots)
-2 stalks celery, diced
-2 tbsp. minced garlic (or less, just depends on how much you love garlic..as you can tell I LOVE it!)
-Salt & pepper, to tase
-1 bag Tyson Grilled & Ready Oven Roasted Diced Chicken Breast
-1 can Campbell’s Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup
-1 can Campbell’s Healthy Request Cream of Chicken soup¬†
-about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, optional
-1 small can biscuits (the can I used was 7.5 oz & they were ‘mini biscuits’)

Preparation:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare all vegetables. Makes it easier to get them all together on one plate.

2. Heat a greased skillet, or large pan over medium high heat. Add all of the vegetables, garlic, & salt and pepper to the pan. Cook for about 5 minutes, until tender.

3. Once the vegetables are tender, add the chicken, and both cans of soup to the pan.

4. Once everything is mixed together in the pan, add the mixture to a greased baking dish. (you can use an 8×8 dish, or something of similar size) This is where you can add the cheese to the top of the mixture, if you would like cheese on it.

(I only did half- for Craig- my half had no cheese)

5. Top the mixture with the canned biscuits. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until the biscuits are golden brown.

(I wanted to get a picture of the can of biscuits that I used, so that you had an idea of what I meant- they are Target brand)

Enjoy!

This recipe is healthy, but it also TASTES good. That’s key in my book :) It tastes like traditional chicken pot pie- very creamy…but not so heavy. If you try it, let me know!

I know I have said it before, but I have to say it again because I feel bad. PLEASE please understand if I am not reading your blogs as much as I was…work has just been SO busy & with the wedding coming up I feel like I have ZERO free time. I am trying to keep up though- my poor Google reader is about to tell me that’s it’s at it’s maximum! Haha! Thank goodness it can’t really do that ;)

This is how about not keeping up with my favorite blogs:

I HATE it…to say the least. I’m sure once the wedding planning is over & everything is back to normal I will be able to keep up. :) I do miss my daily blog reading dosage though. Please¬†know that I haven’t forgotten about you– I love you all! <3

Do you have any fun plans for this weekend? We are having another wedding weekend- full of wedding stuff! We are also going to get our fair share of some sun too…and of course some gym time :) I’m thinking of getting a long run in this weekend too!¬† It is getting SO humid in Florida (with a heat index of 102- ALREADY..and it’s only May)…so I want to enjoy the little tiny tiny bit of spring that we may have left!

Hopefully I can also catch up on some blog reading this weekend too ;) Sounds like a great plan to me!

I hope you enjoy your day! It’s almost the weekend :D

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Yaaaaay happy Friday!! I love how SIMPLE this recipe is!! Definitely one I’ll have to try out on Max after he’s done low-carbing :)

    Reply
  2. I love the outfit you are wearing! So adorable!

    I love chicken pot pie, but my parents do not so we never have it at our house blech.

    I graduated on Friday the 13th and I came out…uh okay. ;)

    Reply
  3. Happy Friday!! The chicken pot pie recipe looks so easy!! I LOVE easy dinners.

    Reply
  4. I can’t believe it’s two weeks til your wedding! How exciting! Don’t let your self get too stressed out.

    Reply
  5. I feel ya! I hate being too busy to read my favorite blogs. It makes me feel lost in the world. haha. Plus, since my real job isn’t that exciting, when I don’t keep up with blogs,I’m bored. Love this chicken pot pie recipe. Huge fan of the tyson ready made chicken, so this recipe is perfect for me :-)

    2 weeks til the wedding! WOO HOO!

    I have a fun weekend packed with a broadway show, brunch with friends and hopefully some running. Happy Friday!

    Reply
  6. Definitely making that potpie soon! It looks delicious! And hello you have your wedding in 2 weeks!!! You do not need to apologize for having a full Google reader, girl!!! :)
    Weekend plans involve a trip to see the bf…woohoo! :)

    Reply
  7. Amy @ countrystrong21

     /  May 13, 2011

    Oh my gosh the wedding is approaching quickly. I can only imagine how excited you are.

    I really dislike not being able to read and comment on my favorite blogs. Soon school will be over and I’ll be working 8 hour days with 2 15 minute breaks and I’m sure part of my lunch hour to devote to blog reading & commenting.

    Reply
  8. SO SOON.

    and I promise, I AM brainstorming a guest post! I want it to be great. and I haven’t decided what I should write in order to make it great.

    so, don’t worry. it’s comin’! :)

    wanna make me some chx pot pie with ALL THAT FREE TIME you’ve got? thankyaa!

    Reply
  9. Holy cow 102 degrees!!?!!

    You are right around the corner to your wedding…seriously SO exciting.

    Reply
  10. Cute outfit, you look adorable!! And those chicken pot pies look amazing, I’ve never made it before. And omg yes Miami is a heat pit right now. Can’t be outside for more than 10 minutes. Eek :(

    Reply
  11. I love recipes like that! so fun and healthy and FAST!! Hope work gets better soon.
    We love ya no matter if you comment or not. hehe.

    Reply
  12. TWO WEEKS!?!?! i am so excited for you love!!! going to be such a beautiful bride!

    Reply
  13. Manda

     /  May 16, 2011

    HI! I’ve been a long time reader of your blog and I loveeee all the recipes that you always post! Im a recent college grad who is stuck in the job search rut and read about how you went from a job not really in your field to a career that you now enjoy. Could you do a post like that to help give some of us some insight and inspiration on your success? Would love to know how you did it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

