Stuffed Red Velvet Cupcakes

Good Monday Morning!

I know, Mondays are always hard. Just to get back into the groove of the regular routine, but I always like starting out with a tough workout in the gym. Today’s workout was back to ‘Routine A’ from Jackie Warner’s book. I find ‘Routine A’ to be the hardest, and it’s definitely because of the UFC’s. KILLER quad move! After I finished the routine, I headed over to the treadmill to complete a 20 minute running workout. Now I’m ready to tackle this work week :D

Now I have a sweet way to start you Monday, check out this recipe for Cream Cheese Stuffed Red Velvet Cupcakes! I got the recipe for Red Velvet cake from the one & only Jessica. I know you are not one bit surprised by that ;) Yes, she ROCKS at creating recipes!! Her recipe is for Red Velvet cake, but I just used it to make red velvet cupcakes.

This recipe is step by step for my dear friend Lea. She has requested that I be as detailed as possible, so that is exactly what I’m goin gto do. Some of the steps might seem silly to some of you, but just bear with me :)

I have copied this recipe from Jessica’s website, so please check out her page for much more beautiful pictures!

Stuffed Red Velvet Cupcakes
(Adapted from Jessica’s amazing Red Velvet Cake Recipe!)

3/4 cup shortening

2 1/2 cups sugar

3 eggs

3 tablespoon cocoa

3 tablespoon red food coloring

3 cups cake flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cup buttermilk

1 1/3 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 tablespoon vinegar

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1. Preheat oven to 350. Get cupcakes pans ready- either put paper liners in them, or grease them with cooking spray. (I used paper liners)

2. Cream shortening and sugar. Shortening is that gross stuff that feels super greasy & I actually HATE cooking with it, but you HAVE to use it for this recipe. It’s worth the greasy hands, I promise. :)

^That’s the gross stuff known as shortening ;)

To cream the shortening & sugar, just use a mixer & put the speed on medium low to medium. (just depends on the mixer. I used a Kitchen Aid, but I’m sure you could just use a hand mixer too!)
It should come out looking sort of like this:

^Kind of like little crumbs

3. Add eggs. Slowly add cocoa and food coloring.

You can purchase cocoa & food coloring in the baking aisle. Some stores might have the food coloring in the spice aisle. You just need the red food coloring, and they do sell it separately. If you can’t find it, you can always ask someone. :)
For the cocoa powder, make sure you buy the POWDER. It should be in a plastic container. It is NOT liquid.
^Cocoa Powder

^Red Food Coloring.

4. Mix everything together…your batter will be a pretty color now. :)

5. Stir together cake flour and salt.

6. Add flour mixture alternately with buttermilk beginning and ending with flour. (<– make sure you follow that step!)
You can purchase buttermilk next to the coffee creamers, typically, or near the regular milk.


^adding flour

^adding buttermilk

7. Add in vanilla and beat for 2 minutes. (You can purchase the vanilla extract near the spices in your grocery store)

8. Mix baking soda and vinegar together. Add and stir until combined. (Make sure you mix these in a cup, I used a teacup, because it will start to bubble up!)

9. Pour the batter into the cupcake pan- I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup so that they all got equal batter. The batter is kind of thick, so you kind of ‘plop’ the batter into each cupcake hole.

^Cupcakes are DONE :D

Now, time to make the cream cheese frosting!! I also got this recipe from Jessica’s website…of course ;)
The frosting is super easy to make, but you DEFINITELY need a blender or a mixer. You cannot do this by hand, it just will not work.

Cream Cheese Frosting

3-  8oz blocks of cream cheese

1 stick of butter, softened

1/2 tablespoon vanilla

~ 16 oz powdered sugar (1 bag)

Cream butter and cream cheese. Add in vanilla. Gradually stir in powdered sugar until the frosting reaches desired consistency.

Now, to stuff the cupcakes, cut a small hole in the center of each cupcake using a butter knife.

Now take your cream cheese frosting and put it all in a gallon size ziplock bag.

Cut a small hole in the corner of the ziplock bag, this is what you will be using to frost the cupcakes.

Take the ziplock bag & put a bit of frosting into each of the holes that you cut in the cupcakes.

Then take the rest of the frosting in your ziplock bag & frost the rest of the cupcakes.

There ya go! That is it! :D I told you it was VERY step-by-step, but I hope it helps make this recipe easier. I think anyone can cook & bake…it just takes practice. Trust me, there will be lots of mess ups- I have had a ton- but that’s ok! It’s not supposed to be perfect everytime. Overtime it will get easier & easier.

I also have a recipe coming up for a meal- which will also be step by step! :) If you have any requests for recipes that you would like step by step instructions, just let me know- I’m here to help! :)

I hope you have a GREAT day!! :D

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. They look amazing! Enjoy your Monday :)

    Reply
  2. Those cupcakes look amazing!! I wish you could stick one in a box and mail it up to PA for me : ) Happy Monday Holly!

    Reply
  3. Yum – cupcakes are the best way to start Monday! I love the color of your Kitchenaid, by the way. Mine is a pastel color as well – light blue.

    Reply
  4. These look SO yummy!

    Reply
  5. yummy! Looks delicious :-) Reading about your red velvet cupcakes is the perfect way to kick off my Monday!

    Reply
  6. Yum! I want to eat one right now :) Hope you have an awesome day!

    Reply
  7. Yummy. Those look seriously the bomb.com. Red Velvet is my fav!

    Reply
  8. Those cupcakes look delicious! Red Velvet is my favorite :)

    Reply
  9. WOW! Those look amazing!

    Reply
  10. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

     /  June 20, 2011

    GReat job with the step by steph, Holls! Did you make the frosting a different day? Or just do a polish change in between?! Hahaha, I noticed the light pink to the purple! ;)

    Reply
  11. These look AWESOME!! I love step-by-step tutorials…especially for things I’ve never done like making stuffed cupcakes!!!

    Reply
  12. These look amazing! Can you come bake for me?? :D

    Reply
  13. FYI: I joined JUST so I can read your blog and comment :) My darling beautiful Holly… you are AMAZING… =) THANK YOU SO SO SO MUCH. This looks so HARD! Ahh ( don’t laugh – remember now… I am going to attempt making these tomorrow!..This is coming from someone who BURNS water)…. So I love the step by step…. expect a lot of phone calls between now and then :) I am so excited to make this… ummm ok I guess I should get my butt to the store…. you are such a fabulous awesome friend to have…. and I love you mucho…. :)

    Reply
  14. Perfect color on those babies, and I love the idea of putting the frosting inside too :D

    Reply
  15. Oooh these look so yummy! The last time I made red velvet cupcakes, I ran out of red food dye and ended up with pink velvet cupcakes, haha!

    Reply
  1. A Step By Step Guide to Dinner « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

