Crab Snob.

Good Morning to ya!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my sister Jennifer!! Love you :)

Well, good news, we made it past Monday! :D That’s always a plus, right?!

I don’t know about you, but I am REALLY OCD about certain things.

Like the other day I was ironing a bunch of Craig’s shirts for work. We used to get them dry cleaned, but it just seemed like a waste of money & they always came back with something wrong. So I told him that I would just do it..rather than waste money on a job poorly done. Whenever I iron, I kind of take a long time. I just let the shirts pile up that need to be ironed during the week, and then just do a bunch of them at once.

When I was ironing the other day Craig happened to look over & say, ‘H, you really don’t have to spend that much time on each shirt.’ That’s when I realized…I am SO OCD about not having ONE wrinkle in his shirts. It bugs me & I will keep ironing until there are no more wrinkles. I would have to say I spend at least 15 minutes per shirt… I know, it’s a bit ridiculous!

Another thing I’m REALLY OCD about is having a clean kitchen. I will scrub & scrub until the counter is spotless!

(I only WISH that was my kitchen ^ ;) )

One big pet peeve I have is a dirty kitchen. Nothing grosses me out more. It’s because that is where food is prepared & I don’t want to have any kind of funky stuff in my food.

My closet can be filty & messy, but I do NOT want a dirty kitchen!

One thing that I started being a bit OCD is crab meat. This all started because of meeting Craig. I never ever cared what kind of crab meat I had until I went to Maryland & had the REAL stuff!

Now there is NO way I will eat ‘krab!’ Call me a crab snob, I don’t mind…but I want the real stuff!

Well one thing that is hard to find in Florida is REAL Maryland crab…unless I want to pay an arm & a leg. And by ‘an arm & a leg’ I mean about $18- $22 for like 4 ounces of crab meat. OH YES, you read that right- $18- $22 for FOUR ounces. YIKES! That would really put a hurting on the ol’ bank account.

The thing that kind of sucks is that I love crab cakes. Like really love them. Like they would be in my top 10..maybe even 5 foods. With Kraft Mac & cheese being number one….always has been & always will be…oh yes, I have very rare taste. ;) The only thing is, like I said, it is really hard to find good crab here without paying a FORTUNE.

So….I needed to find a substitute for my beloved crab cakes. Enter SHRIMP cakes!

Shrimp Cakes
(slightly adapted from Can You Stay for Dinner)
(serves 2, making 2-3 thick patties)

•1/2 lb raw shrimp, finely chopped
•1/3 cup panko bread crumbs
•1/2 cup cooked rice (I just used the kind that you can microwave in the bag- Uncle Ben’s, for example)
•2 teaspoons minced garlic
•1 tablespoon dried chives
•1/4 teaspoon salt
•1/4 teaspoon pepper
•2 teaspoons hot chili sauce (recommended: Sriracha)
•1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
•1 egg, lightly beaten
•1/2 tablespoon Old Bay Seasoning

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well with your hands. Refrigerate the mixture for 30 minutes to allow all flavors to marry. Preheat the oven to 400° F. Form two (or three if two seems too big) even patties from the mixture. Sprinkle each with a dash more Old Bay seasoning.

Place them on a lightly greased baking pan.

Bake for 13-15 minutes, or until the visible shrimp pieces have turned pink and opaque.

These cakes were a HOMERUN! Craig & I both kept commenting during our whole dinner how MUCH we were enjoying them. The thing that we both liked was how well they stayed together. Sometimes crab cakes will fall apart so easily, but these stayed together nicely. They also had a really nice consistency & they did not need any dipping sauce or topping. Their flavor was spot on! Oh, and I feel like Old Bay should be mandatory on any seafood dish. ;)

Along with the shrimp cakes I made some buffalo shrimp egg rolls. These were based on a recipe for Buffalo Chicken Rolls from Andie at ‘Can You Stay for Dinner.’ But I decided to use shrimp instead of chicken.

Buffalo Shrimp Egg Rolls
(adapted from Can You Stay for Dinner)

makes 6

6 egg roll wrappers (roughly 4 square inches)

1 cup raw shrimp

1/3 cup Frank’s Red Hot Sauce + additional for serving

1/2 cup reduced fat crumbled blue cheese

1 cup cole slaw

Small bowl of water

Nonstick cooking spray

Light Ranch dressing, for serving

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Lay egg roll wrappers on a clean work surface. In a small bowl, stir shrimp and hot sauce until well coated, using more or less sauce depending on your spice preference. The shrimp should be moist with sauce.

Begin by placing one tablespoon of the broccoli slaw on the diagonal of the bottom right corner of one of the wrappers. Next, place 2 tablespoons of shredded spicy chicken evenly on top of the slaw. Spoon 1 tablespoon of the blue cheese crumbles over the chicken. Do not overfill.


To fold: Fold the bottom right corner over the stuffing mixture so that it covers it completely, with the tip of the corner now pointing to the center of the egg roll wrapper. Fold in the bottom left corner, followed by the right, so that you now have formed an envelope. Roll the wrap upward one time, leaving the top left corner open. Wet your index finger in the small bowl of water and press to moisten the top left corner. Now fold that down on top of the filled roll, sealing it like you would an envelope.

Repeat with remaining rolls.

Place the rolls on a wire rack set on top of a cookie sheet (or just on a greased cookie sheet) coated with nonstick cooking spray. Spritz each roll evenly with nonstick cooking spray. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until the rolls crisp and turn a light golden brown.

With the egg rolls I served a sauce made with about 2 tbsp. ranch with about 1 tbsp. Frank’s hot sauce- you might have to vary it depending on your personal taste.

And our full meal…all together now:

Quite a seafood feast, if I do say so myself!

Anyways, I’m off to get ready for work!

But, before I go, I have some questions for you:
1. What is your favorite kind of seafood?
2. Have you ever had Maryland crab? (don’t you think it’s the best ever?! ;) )
3. Are you ‘OCD’ about anything?

Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Amy

     /  August 2, 2011

    Maryland crab is the best. nothing like it. I’m ocd about my house being messy i like everything put away.

    Reply
  2. I am OCD about lots of things but I won’t get into that and just say that I am super lucky my bf goes crabbing with his family in MD and I have an unlimited supply of MD crab all summer long :)

    Reply
  3. So true life. I am in love with fake crab. Is that weird…I don’t know but I really enjoy the taste. I also really love your nail color.

    Reply
  4. Maryland girl here – and I FEEL YA sista! I am SUCH a crab snob haha!

    Come to MD and have the best crabs ofyour life, right?!

    Happy Birthday to your sis!

    Reply
  5. Oh yummy! Those both look so tasty :). I love pretty much all types of seafood (except oysters and calamari). I don’t know if I’m OCD about anything haha…maybe that’s a bad thing- I should care a little more

    Reply
  6. Oh same way on ironing. It’s best I just don’t start ;-)

    Reply
  7. Happy Birthday Jennifer!!! :)

    Reply
  8. Chandale

     /  August 2, 2011

    MD Crab is my favorite seafood…there is nothing like it! Fortunately for me, Shawn’s mom makes the BEST crabcakes…better than any restaurant!

    BTW: we had salmon cakes on vacation…they were pretty good too. We also had crabcakes!

    Liam looked up one day and said, “Where are Holly and Craig? I wish they were here.” Seriously….you two were missed!

    I’m OCD about pretty much everything…especially organization….my poor husband and kids;)

    Reply
    • YUM! I love salmon cakes too :)
      Oh, and I think Craig’s mom makes the BEST crab cakes too!!! They are SO SO SO good! I always wish I could take a few back to FL with us!
      I missed you guys. Wasn’t the same without Wildwood this year. Miss you guys so much- can’t wait to see you at Thanksgiving!! & meet little Nolan!!! :D

      Reply
  9. happy birthday, jen!! i cannot stand a dirty kitchen either. omg. ew.

    Reply
  10. I love all kinds of seafood, I don’t think I could pick just one thing!

    And yes, I love MD crab – being from MD, I’m pretty spoiled!

    I’m OCD about a lot of things…my bed being made, things being put back exactly where they belong, pushing chairs in, ironing (like you) and making sure all the wrinkles are out….

    Reply
  11. Happy Birthday to your sister! Those shrimp cakes look delish :D

    Reply
  12. Those egg rolls look awesome!! I love anything “buffalo-style!!” :)

    Reply
  13. mmmm..seafood! I love seafood of all kinds. But my favorite has to be crab. I have had Maryland Crab, and it was yummy!

    I’m not OCD about much because I feel like I’m always running around too much. I wish I was MORE OCD :-(

    Reply
  14. I live in MD and loooove crab! I am seriously loving these shrimp cakes. It’s almost like a jambalaya sandwich, yum, i’m bookmarking this one!

    Reply
  15. These shrimp cakes look AMAZING : )

    I live in northern VA, so I love me some MD crab, but my all time favorite is Lobster!!! Lobster and butter…*sigh*

    Reply
  16. I am the same way about kitchens, and I have a feeling a lot of us food bloggers are! I don’t understand how people can let dishes pile up, etc. Crazy!

    I’ve never had Maryland crab, but can imagine it’s delicious! I love Old Bay though – my mom even uses it in her meatballs!

    Reply
  17. YUM! I haven’t had Maryland crab but I live in VA beach and it’s pretty good! A place near me has a Thursday special- 4 Landsharks, 1/2 lb crab legs, 1/2 lb shrimp, clams, oysters, potatoes and corn for $22 for 2 people..my boyfriend and I split it ALL the time..we’re OBSESSED. Shrimp is my fave seafood by far so I will have to try out your recipe! :)

    Reply
  18. love0209

     /  August 3, 2011

    I live in MD so i am always spoiled when it comes to crab cakes. I have been to other states in the past and have tried their crab cakes and it was totally disgusting!! so yes, being a crab snob is wonderful!! you should have craig’s family, or someone from MD mail you some crab meat!!! I could do it if you wanted. That way you won’t spend an arm and a leg to buy real crab meat!

    Reply
  19. Love love love that you tried the recipes and liked them :) Thanks, doll!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

