Chia Banana Bread

Good Morning!

Happy Monday…and happy new week. :)

I have something to start out with today that I kind of confused about & I’m hoping maybe you guys have some answers! ;) When I went to one of my weekly chiropractor appointments (I try to go 2-3 times a week, as per her recommendation), she told me that it’s actually WORSE to run on a treadmill rather than running outside.

Needless to say, I was a bit shocked. I had always heard that the opposite was true- that you SHOULD run on a treadmill because it has more cushioning for you joints. I told her that my previous chiropractor had recommended that I run on the treadmill rather than outside, because he said it was one of the main causes of my lower back pain. She told me that a few years ago this was true, but she has been doing a lot of research on it & has been to a bunch of continuing education classes about treadmills and how they are WORSE for your joints.

I explained to her that I actually prefer to run outside, but the whole having Crohn’s disease thing has put a daper on being able to run outside (& running in general). Although I’m hoping to get back outside really soon! :D

She always recommends the elliptical to her patients, as it is much easier on your bones & joints, but I just don’t feel like I get as good of a workout from the elliptical as compared to running.

I don’t know why I always give the elliptical a bad wrap, I know it can be a good workout, but I guess I’m just so used to the treadmill & running. Maybe I should start to use it more because of all of my back issues, I just need to find some good workouts. I just don’t think I could ever give up running. I feel like it’s such a part of me & my life.

Have you ever heard that it’s better to run outside rather than on a treadmill??

This weekend was spent relaxing & playing around with my new DSLR! :D

There is SO much you can do with this camera, it just takes time to learn everything. I was walking around the house just finding random things to take pictures of. One of my main focal points was of course, Craig. ;)

Oh, and he wasn’t posing AT ALL ;) Haha! I thought this picture was hilarious- what a ham!
He told me he was ‘making a face’ for this picture. Ha!
This is the ‘alright H’ enough pictures of me.

Sooooooo I moved on to our little ducks outside :) (& some other random bird, I don’t know the type of bird that it is)

And then it was time to take pictures of my lunch. (A protein shake with chia seeds in it- LOVE the addition of chia seeds)

Oh, and then I found these nasty things on my kitchen counter…

I cannot STAND bananas like this- YUCK! I mean I don’t hate them, I just won’t eat them when they get even ONE little brown spot on them. Eek! And since I couldn’t eat bananas this past week (just the thought of them made me sick) I decided to make banana bread. When life gives yous you brown bananas, you make banana bread…of course! :D

This wasn’t just normal banana bread though, it was CHIA banana bread. I decided to add some chia seeds to the batter, since they are a superfood…

It says it on the container, so it MUST be true. ;) They are huge in omega 3’s, antioxidants, fiber, calcium, and fiber! They are also easy to add to different meals, smoothies, and just to sprinkle them on toast.

Chia Banana Bread
(adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp chia seeds, soaked in 1/4 water and set aside for 5-10 minutes
  • 1/2 cup white/all purpose flour
  • 1.5 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup egg substitute (or 1 whole egg)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 mashed bananas
  • 1 Tbsp melted butter
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla

Preparation:

  1. Mix the chia + water and let sit while you get the rest of the ingredients ready or until they’ve started to gel.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the egg substitute, brown sugar,  bananas, butter,  vanilla & chia seeds (once they are gelled)  on low speed.
  3. Once all ingredients are combined, stir in the flours, baking powder, salt & cinnamon.
  4. Pour in greased loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 40- 50 minutes.


It’s even better with a little pat of butter.

Delicious…and healthy- hard to beat!

I think I may have found a new favorite banana bread recipe. The chia seeds add the perfect texture to the bread, and don’t worry the bread is not gummy and it does not have a ‘gel’ like texture either. :)

Well, I’m off to get ready for a new week! Just kicked my own butt in the gym, and now I’m ready to tackle the day! Hope you are off to a good start as well, I have a feeling that this is going to be a good week!!

Questions before you go:
1. Have you heard that running on a treadmill is worse than running outside?
2. Do you have any nuts/ grains/ seeds that you like to add to baked goods for extra texture or for nutritional value?
3. What’s one thing you are excited about this week??

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. i prefer trails too! But do think TM’s are great for speed work. Short and to the point.

    oh, those bananas would drive me insane! haha.

    Reply
  2. Love that you’re enjoying the camera – looks like Craig is too! ;)

    Chia seeds in banana bread sounds like a great idea – I would think it’d make it a bit more dense?

    Reply
  3. Wow, that surprises me that treadmill running is worse than outside.

    I’m looking forward to finding out if we got the townhouse this week!

    Reply
  4. Looks amazing! I bet the chia seeds do add the perfect little cruch!

    Reply
  5. Yes yes yes. The treadmill is worse. Well for me that is. Wahh. I logged too many miles on the treadmill and not enough outdoors and it along with over training caused my stress. Running on pavement is worse than running on cushiony trails but both are I guess better for the joints than treadmill running.

    Reply
  6. Wow– I had no idea that running on a treadmill was worse on your bones and joints! I did know that running is not the easiest exercise on your body, but jeez louise!

    I do prefer running outside also, though :)

    Reply
  7. Love this recipe – there are two over ripe bananas at home just begging to be made into bread!

    Reply
  8. I think that white bird is an egret? We have a TON of them down here. I am terrified of hitting one with my car lol — they are ALL over the place!!

    I love love love baking with chia! Just gives everything such a moist texture.

    Reply
  9. I just got some chia seeds so the recipe is perfect timing. I am beyond excited that this is a 4-day work week for me. We’re going out of town for our anniversary.

    Reply
  10. so glad you tried the bread! i haven’t made that in a while.

    Reply
  11. Chandale

     /  August 22, 2011

    Love the camera…I keep watching the sale ads too…we have a SLR (from when we got married many many years ago:) @the picture of Craig hamming it up….that must be the Notarange/Kelly family thing…as they have taught Liam to do that as well:)

    Shawn said running outside is better….but not on sidewalks. However if you run on the road, you have to watch that you aren’t running on the slight downward slope on the same side all the time, as that can mess your legs up.

    I add flax seed to bread, baked goods, and some meals. No one has noticed yet:) I haven’t heard of adding CHIA. I’ll have to look into it.

    I’m excited that my Mom surprised us and came up for a visit….rang the doorbell Saturday night and is here to help for a few days:)

    Reply
  12. Mmm, you can never go wrong with banana bread!

    I’m excited for a week with no travel — I’ve been too go-go-go and I need a week to get back into my routine =)

    Reply
  13. James

     /  August 22, 2011

    Breathing is also bad for you, so you shouldn’t do it…..my point is, that someone will have an opinion of one thing that is better or worse for you. if the only way you can run is on a treadmill then do it….the mental therapy is worth it…..if you were 40 lbs overweight then you should consider elliptical only…

    Banana bread should always be made with chocolate chips, its the law..

    Excited about a three day weekend, and playing some golf, and going to the aquarium in Monterey…..

    I have no comment on Craig’s pix….i’ll spend the rest of the day trying to erase them from my mind…

    Reply
    • Haha- thanks James- I agree about the whole treadmill there. It seems like there is a different opinion every year.
      Oh, Craig would totally agree with you about the banana bread with chocolate chips- I like it with nutella.
      You guys will have to take pictures at the aquarium!!
      & I was laughing so hard at your comment about Craig’s pictures- lol!!! :D He told me that he has now informed you that you are to tell him about all pictures of him on the blog- ha! I have like 20 more of him- I was just randomly taking them around the house…but then he was getting annoyed, so I stopped & started taking pictures of crazy stuff.
      Enjoy the weekend! :D

      Reply
  14. This recipe looks great! I am the same way with my bananas. I won’t touch them with a 10 foot pole if there is one brown spot on them. I actually prefer my bananas to be a little green.

    Reply
  15. I’ve never heard that about the treadmill! I think running is just hard on your joints in general, so I’m sure the surfaces are probably fairly equivalent. Yay for your new camera!! So exciting :). And that banana bread looks and sounds fantastic

    Reply
  16. I hate brown bananas too…ick! Too sweet! But they are good to make banana bread with :)

    I’ve heard a mix of things about running…so I’m not sure if one really is worse than the other. I think it comes down to having a strong core, training properly and resting, plus having good running form rather than the surface…but who knows!

    Do you do a lot of core training? I used to get back pain but when I started being very consistent with core training (low back, abs, and hips/glutes) about 3x per week it went away and my running improved.

    Reply
  17. the thing with a treadmill is that when it is on a 0 incline…it technically is on a slight decline, so can be stressful on the joints such as the knees. To mimick what it feels like running outside, the tread should be on an incline of 1% and it will be much easier on the joints….did your chiropractor give you a reason WHY the treadmill is bad?

    Reply
    • She said that it is not level & that running outside actually provides more cushion. I’m not sure what to think- I’ve just heard mixed reviews.
      I have heard that you should always run on at least a 1% incline- like you said to mimick the outside streets.
      Thanks for your comment Naomi- I always value your opinions/ advice! :)

      Reply
  18. That banana bread looks awesome!!

    I have heard mixed things about running on a treadmill vs. outside, but I definitely think running outside is better for me. The treadmill and I have a love/hate relationship. :P Quite often, it’s totally miserable for me. But sometimes, it goes well. Go figure!

    I’m looking forward to the free donuts at work tomorrow morning haha! I’m not even a donut person, but this one place in the city where I work has THE BEST donuts. And I’m very excited about them. :P

    Reply
  19. Holly, I LOVE this recipe! I just got back from HLS where Chia seeds were the word. And I had never tried any. So of course I bought some yesterday and didn’t know what to do with them. Now, I do. THANK YOU!

    As for the treadmill…that’s interesting. I’ve always thought the same way you did. I know that for my foot pain it’s been a bit easier to get back to running using the treadmill since the surface isn’t changin.

    Reply
  20. Katie

     /  August 23, 2011

    I’m a treadmill vs. elliptical girl too, but I needed a break from running. You might find success in doing a bit of both – so you feel the running burn, but you also don’t kill your joints by giving them a break on the elliptical?!

    So, where did you find the SLR? I want one, but don’t know if I can find a sale or a better place to buy one! And how are you liking it so far, and how much improvement are you seeing from normal picture taking on a non-SLR camera? Sorry so many camera Qs, I’ve been really wanting one lately!!

    Reply
    • Hey Katie!! Sorry I’ve been meaning to write you back- just got a little hectic.
      I got my SLR from my photographer that did our wedding photos! She was upgrading to a new one & I had been looking one for a while..and when she told me she wanted to sell it, I was ALL over that idea.
      I KNEW that I didn’t have to worry about it being taken care of, since as a professional photographer, I knew it was in tip top shape! & it definitely was, you seriously cannot tell that it is even used.
      I actually really LOVE it, and highly recommend one. I know that they are super expensive, but maybe if you shop around on Ebay or even Craig’s list, you might be able to find a good deal!
      The pictures are much better than with a regular digital camera! It’s crazy- they are CRYSTAL clear!! If you have any other questions- let me know :)

      Reply
  21. I have never heard that about treadmills being worse. Interesting. I usually run outside but get some treadmill work in there on occasion too. And for the elliptical – I love it but only feel like I get a good workout when doing intervals.

    Reply
  22. That banana bread looks delicious!

    Reply
  23. I always cut up my bananas that look like that and put them in a ziplock bag and freeze them for future smoothies :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

