Mixed Breeds

Good Morning! Happy Monday. Hope you are off to a good start! :)

As you know, we are in Jacksonville for the Ravens v. Jags game tonight!! Sooooo this post is going to be short & sweet. I will be back to my regular blogging later this week- I’ve just been enjoying time with my parents & being DISCONNECTED! It’s SO nice taking a break from technology. I mean I love it & all, but sometimes you really just need a break!

Anyways, on Saturday my Mom & I went to the mall & did some shopping. Well while I was there I remembered that The Avenues mall also has a pet store inside of it. There is no way that I can walk by without going to look at all of the puppies..they are just too cute! (Even though I think it’s terrible how they have them pinned up in little crates :( It kind of breaks my heart..and I want to take all of them home! )

Once we walked inside I was just looking around & petting all of the puppies…but then I locked eyes with this little guy:

(plesae excuse the bad quality of these pictures…they were from my phone)

I fell in love…hard. He is a ‘Hava- Chon’ which is a mixture of a havanese & a bichon frise.

PLUS

Equals

How cute is he?!? He looks kind of yellow because the poor thing needed a bath. (another reason why I hate those puppy stores)

I was this close to buying him. I’m not even lying. He was $900, which of course is really expensive, but honestly the kind of dog that Craig wants to get (that was like my dog growing up that he fell in love with) is anywhere from $1500- $2500!! (the type of dog is a Maltese) So I really didn’t think that was too bad.

I really wish that we could adopt a dog, but with Craig’s allergies, we can only get a hypoallergenic dog. (which are the dogs whose hair grows..and they don’t shed- like a Maltese or Bichon frise)

Needless to say, I did not buy him…but I really wanted to. The only reason that I didn’t was because my Mom told me that buying a dog is something that we BOTH really need to be involved in. Which I agree, but I really just need a need to bring a dog home one day because I know for a fact Craig will fall in love with it…especially if it look similar to the dog I had growing up…because he loved that dog so much!

I have never been without an animal in my life for so long, I’m just not used to it. Growing up we always had a ton of pets- at least 2 dogs & 3 cats..all at the same time. I just love animals. Craig never had a pet growing up (well I think he had a hamster..but that doesn’t really count :) ), so he’s kind of leary about owning our own pet. I also realize it’s a lot of responsibility..but we are at a point in our lives where it’s a good time to get one. We are home every night (we are not partiers…the closer it gets to 8pm each night, the sleepier I get :) ), we do not have kids (yet.), and I just think it would add a nice little addition to our family. :)

Well that was kind of a ramble..oops! I intended for this to be ‘short & sweet’- guess it got a little longer than anticipated.

I am off to study for my Series 65 before we head down to tailgate for the game. I also need to get my workout in too…so I best get moving!! :D

If you are in the area, or going to the game tonight- let me know- we can root on the Ravens together!!

Have a great Monday & GO RAVENS!!!

Questions for you:
1. Do you own a pet? If so, what kind? If not, do you want a pet?
2. What is your favorite kind of dog?
3. Do you love all of these ‘mixed breeds?’ (like goldendoodles <– LOVE those, but too big for Craig..he wants a little dog; or Havachon’s, or Labordoodles)

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. i LOVe that dog. i’ve been thinking about buying one for the past couple weeks — one exactly like that too. i love poodles and bichons! so cute. goldendoodles crack me up. i’d totally get one.

    Reply
  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

     /  October 24, 2011

    Aw what a cutie! I had no idea Maltese pups were so expensive. I have a Maltese/Yorkie at home that we found him on the side of the road. He’s a sweetheart :)

    Reply
  3. I am a huge lover of animals – -huge! We have a mixed breed dog: German Shepherd / Chinese Sharpei and she’s adorable. I also have two orange tabby cats that I love. I say the more animals the better!

    Reply
  4. So adorable!! Brian and I were really close to buying a boxer puppy yesterday too! We haven’t completely counted it out and are still discussing but its such a big commitment…we don’t know if we want to make it JUST yet!

    Reply
  5. Sososo cute!!!
    I have a yorkie puppy I’m in love with :)
    Yorkie and a Sheltland Sheepdog.
    I love mixed breeds! I like labradoodles too I so want one.

    Reply
  6. Amy

     /  October 24, 2011

    i’ll be at the game tonight too Holly. We have box seats.Maybe we’ll see you guys there.

    Reply
  7. Enjoy the game! What a cute pup! Agreed…ya’ll have to get this dog together! But, wouldn’t it have been fun to just bring it home to show Craig!

    Reply
  8. Last year my older sis and her hubby adopted a malti-poo which was perfect bc a lot of my family members have allergies. The pup has kind of been everyone’s dog since! I would LOVE to have a lab one day, I just love them.

    Reply
  9. Elise

     /  October 24, 2011

    Mixed breeds are the best (or mutts) because they have fewer health problems and a longer life expectancy. Dogs from pet stores are usually from puppy mills or breeders and there is a very high chance of them being inbred which means they are a lot more likely to have genetic disorders, cancers etc..

    I would truly recommend rescuing a dog from a shelter or foster home. There are many agencies that deal with specific breeds and also you would not believe the amount of pure bred dogs that end up in shelters(along with countless put bulls :( )

    Also, there are websites like petharbor.com and petfinder.com where you can search for specific breeds and sexes that are in shelters and foster homes.

    Sorry for the super long reply, I hope you consider rescuing a dog!!

    Reply
  10. Sarah

     /  October 24, 2011

    Cute puppy, but PLEASE don’t buy from a pet store unless you know exactly where the dogs come from. Your local shelter is best, a reputable breeder is good if you are looking for a specific breed, but pet stores all too often get their animals from people less interested in the mother dog and more interested in making a profit. Not all do this, but there are enough that do that make it unappealing to buy animals in a mall pet store. Good luck in finding one that Craig can handle, I miss having a dog too!

    Reply
  11. I love dogs. I grew up with rottweilers but currently have a black lab named Lena. She’s living with my parents until I finish my internship then I’m taking her and my cat down to d.c. I can’t wait until we’re reunited in June :) :) :)

    Reply
  12. Goldendoodles are adorable!! Also, I’ve heard great things about schnoodles. Plus it just sounds awesome to say you have a schnoodle ;) They have minis and toys I think, maybe Craig would be okay with one of those?

    Reply
  13. SOOO CUTE. I feel your pain about being without an animal! I have two dogs at home, but I’m currently away at college and its killling me not having a dog around. I want to get my own dog so badly but I know its realistically not a good idea.I have a golden retriever and cavalier king charles spaniel who I’m madly in love with..like actually obsessed with them

    Reply
  14. Pamela @ Pamcakes and Coffee

     /  October 25, 2011

    Aw he is a cutie! My favorite dog right now is a golden doodle (golden retriever and poodle). They are adorable! Growing up, we had a Peekapoo (Pekingese and poodle), and right now, our Lhasa Apso is going on 15 years old!!

    Reply
  15. Sometimes disconnecting is a very good thing. Maybe you can find a Bichon breed specific rescue? We got our maniacs through different cocker rescues.

    Reply
  16. I used to have a dog, and I miss him soooo much :-(. He was a beagle, so if I could get any dog, it would be a beagle for sure. However, I’m a sucker for labs too. Those puppies were so precious!

    Reply
  17. Aww so cute! We have a mutt that we adopted from the humane shelter where I volunteer. We’re not really sure what he is. Some mix of pit bull, boxer and dalmatian is our best guess. Completely sweet and precious is the one thing we know for sure. ;)

    Reply
  18. OOOH!!! Such a cute little bambino! We have a puppy that is a bichon mix! He is a maltichon – bichon frise and maltese. He is so spunky and cute and fun and we just love him. I mainly raised him (eg: potty trained) but now that he’s older we both take good care of all of his needs!

    I can’t wait to see what cute puppy you end up picking out! YAY YAY YAY! XOXO

    Reply
  19. Aww! Those dogs are so cute! Sadly, I dont own a pet but I would love to! My brother is allergic to cats and some dogs so my family is still trying to find the “right” pet :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

