• Enter your email address to subscribe to get my daily ramblings sent directly to your inbox :)

    Join 113 other followers

  • Like Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices on Facebook!

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Holiday Breakfast & Brunch Ideas

Hey!!

I know I have been kind of hit or miss with this blog, but honestly I haven’t been in much of a blogging mood. I kind of go through phases, and this happens to be a no blogging kind of phase. I’m sure it will come back to me eventually, but I figure I will just go with it! No point to blog if I’m not in the mood, right??! Winking smile

Anyways, I do have some good stuff to share with you! I hope you are ready to be bombarded with food pictures. I have a TON of awesome recipes to share with you. None of them are my own, but I have all of the links for you!Smile  I know a lot of you are looking for some good breakfast/ brunch ideas for the upcoming holidays, so I thought I would recommend a few to you!

A couple of weeks ago Craig’s work had their annual holiday breakfast, and like last year they asked me to cater it! I always look forward to this event each year- I really like to kind of go all out & try a bunch of new recipes. You all know my #1 ‘go to’ recipe blog- Jessica’s of course!! And sometimes I swear she can read minds. The week before the breakfast, she posted a recipe for Eggnog Breakfast Crumble Crunch Cake. Sounds pretty amazing, huh??  As soon as I read the recipe I knew that would definitely be on the breakfast menu.IMG_3263

Can you see the glaze just sitting on top of the cake?? That glaze is heavenly. I had to taste it before I poured it on top of the cake…you know, just part of the cook’s job. Winking smile I may of considered just drinking the glaze on the spot..but the better side of me decided to follow the recipe & pour it on top of the cake. Smile

IMG_3275<—Can you see the layers?? The crumble topping was AWESOME.

DO you want to hear something funny? I don’t even like eggnog, but I LOVED this cake. I took a piece for Craig & I to try, and we both were RAVING about it. This was my favorite item that I made. I knew at first bite that this would be a HUGE hit at their holiday breakfast. I guessed right- this recipe got 5 stars!! Star I think I might make this for my family when they come down for Christmas. It will be the perfect way to start the holiday!

There was another recipe on Jessica’s blog that I had been eyeing for awhile. Ever since I got my donut pan, I had been wanting to create a Red Velvet Donut recipe. Well guess who posted a Baked  Red Velvet Donut recipe LITERALLY the day after I mentioned it?? YEP, you guessed that right- Jessica! Open-mouthed smile I told you, she reads minds.

IMG_3278

IMG_3281

Craig’s boss loves red velvet cake, so I thought I would make something red velvet for breakfast. It’s kind of hard to justify having a big red velvet cake for a breakfast, although it does have eggs & milk in it Winking smile, so these are the perfect substitution! They were perfect. As long as you don’t overcook the donuts- these will be your new favorite donut. Smile I agree with Jess- the cake flour does make a difference. I have just used regular flour in the past for donut recipes, but I bought cake flour for this recipe since she recommended it. It does make them more ‘cake-y’ which is what I like in a donut.

Ok, just more more to show you that I ‘borrowed’ from Jessica. Told ya, it really is my go to site! I never doubt that any of her recipes will be good. It’s always a guarantee when I use her recipes. I told her that all I want for Christmas is a cookbook from her. Open-mouthed smile

I think this next recipe may just be the most indulgent of them all. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Stuffed Cinnamon Rolls. Yep, you read that right. STUFFED cinnamon rolls.

IMG_3233
IMG_3248

IMG_3283

Is your mouth watering yet??? Winking smile

One recipe that was a surprise hit was Buttermilk Banana Bread. It wasn’t a surprise because it wasn’t a good recipe (it was a great recipe! that’s why I picked it!) but I just didn’t think people would compliment this bread so much. Apparently this was one of the big hits at the holiday breakfast. I honestly made it because I wanted something more ‘traditional.’ Craig told me it would be a good idea to have something more ‘normal’- that people have heard of before..so I figured banana bread would be a good choice. Well this bread was an EXCELLENT choice. I think it’s the combination of buttermilk & bananas- it just keeps the bread extra moist & brings out the banana flavor.

IMG_3244
IMG_3246

Two other favorites that were requested that I made last year were Monkey bread & Mixed Berry Coffee Cake.
IMG_3285
IMG_3256

I also had another idea when I was in Starbucks…it’s a place I frequent at least twice a week. I know, it’s a bad habit…but there are worse habits, right?! Winking smile I also stare into that little case with all of the delicious looking breakfast foods & sweets, but I have only bought one thing from there- a petite vanilla scone. BUT, then my blog bestie recreated them & now I prefer hers. Sorry Starbucks, you don’t even stand a chance against her scones!! But something that I also look at longingly are the pumpkin muffins. Welllllll after doing some browsing on the good ol’ internet I happened to run across a recipe that was a ‘copy cat’ of the Starbucks cream cheese muffins. It’s from another one of my favorite recipe blogs- Annie’s Eats. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe if you are looking for a little twist on a typical pumpkin muffin.
IMG_3251
IMG_3252

And to round out everything, I figure a sweet is definitely needed to round out a good breakfast. Smile Nothing wrong with a little treat after a hearty breakfast in my mind…helps make the day even better Open-mouthed smile

I always see fudge around Christmas time, so I thought I would make some fudge. I didn’t want to make just any fudge though, so I found a recipe for CAKE BATTER FUNFETTI FUDGE. Yep, I had to make it all capital..just wanted to make sure you read it right. Hard to believe, huh?! Cake batter + fudge??? Heaven on earth maybe? I switched mine up & just made it a bit more “Christmas-y.”
IMG_3241
IMG_3240

And last but not least, I attempted to make a different kind of cookie this year. Typically I make Christmas mice, but this year I wanted something new since I have made the mice every year. I happened to stumble upon this recipe on Pinterest. Ummm how ADDICTING is that site?! I can’t get off of it sometimes. SO many good ideas that I want to try. But these little cookies really caught my eye. Melted Snowmen Cookies. Need I say more?
IMG_3267
IMG_3268
IMG_3269

Not going to lie, some of my snowmen look a bit crazed! Ha! I loved making them, but making the faces/ scarves/ etc was pretty challenging!! I got the wrong size black gel- I got the large tube, which is more of a frosting, rather than a gel- but I tried my best to make them work. Smile They were a hit, but next time I would definitely get the right gel.

As you can probably tell I had a BAKING FILLED weekend, but honestly I LOVED every minute of it! I look forward to this every single year.

Well, I’m not quite sure when I will be on here again. My blogging may be kind of spontaneous. This weekend is a BIG weekend in our family- my nephew Ethan is going to be a YEAR old on Friday! How time FLIES. It’s crazy! If I’m not on here before Christmas/ Hannukkah- I hope you have a WONDERFUL holiday!! Open-mouthed smile

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I miss you so much… I feel so out of the loop with your life, etc. :( We NEED a phone date!!

    Great recipes- Jessica is amazing… imagine having her as a guest at a party you hosted?!?! She’d bring the best stuff. THanks for the shout out! xoxo

    Reply
  2. holy cow, you’ve been busy! share some of that love here! i am drooling of course. Good to hear from you.

    Reply
  3. SO many goodies – yum! I’d love for you to come cater a holiday party for me ;) Those snowman cookies are SO cute! I want to try to make them. Happy Holidays :)

    Reply
  4. Wow, that’s a lot of baking, Holly!! Everything looks so delicious. I really want some of those cinnamon rolls … like now.

    Miss seeing your posts. But I’m glad you are just enjoying life right now! ;) Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

    Reply
  5. You are killing me with these recipes!!! Seriously they all look amazing. I LOVE eggnog, so I’m sure the eggnog one is AMAZING.

    Reply
  6. Wow, everything looks amazing!! :)

    Reply
  7. Oh I am drooling over everything in this post! wow!

    Reply
  8. Yess!! The Red Velvet Cupcakes!!! :)

    Reply
  9. Oh my goodness this entire post made my pants too tight looking at it! Excellent! :)

    Reply
  10. GIRL!!! Everything looks incredible and now I NEED one of those donuts. Good for you to not force yourself to blog when you don’t feel like it. You are a smart smart girl:) HAPPY ALMOST NEW YEARS and thanks for being such a good blogging friend!

    Reply
  11. oh my gosh this post is making me crave everything sweet in the worst possible way! wat’s more is i’ve never even thought/heard of some of those combinations and i have to say i’m in LOVE with the idea of cookie dough stuffed cinnamon rolls…say what?!?! anyways, i hope all’s going great on ur end and u welcomed in a wonderful start to 2012!!

    Reply
  12. I love Red Velvet Cake – I have to try this recipe stat.

    Reply
  13. MISS you gorgeous girl! Hope everything is going good! You are amazing and these pics safe still making me drool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

