Trying Something New!

Good Morning!

This morning I got up & went to the gym.

Started with a 10 minute Quick Run- got it from Janetha! You start out at 6.0 and then increase the speed .3 every minute. I did 1.28 miles, and burned 148 calories (according to Garmin :)) & my max heart rate was 173.

After that I moved on to Incline walking. I have never really walked on the treadmill- except for like a 2 minute warm up before a run, but after I read on Lindsey’s blog about her workout yesterday, I figured I would try it.

I just modified her’s a bit- here’s what I did:

Minute Speed Incline
0-5 3.5 5%
5:00- 15:00 3.5 10%
15:00-20:00 3.3 12%
20:00-25:00 3.2 15%
25:00-28:00 3.5 10%
28:00-29:00 3.5 5%
29:00-30:00 3.5 0%

I did like the workout- it was something different & I felt it in my legs & butt- which were already REALLY sore this morning as well- so I think it was good that I only did a little run this morning. I did a total of 1.55 miles in 30 minutes, burned 121 calories, & my max heart rate was 154 (I was hoping for higher). I liked the change in workout- and I got to read my new Self magazine as I walked πŸ˜‰

After that I did some arm stuff- bench presses- first with 5lb. on both side of the bar (15 of them), then 2.5lb. on each side (15), and then just the bar (10). I then did some bicep work with :

It was 20 lb.

I did 3 sets of 10- bicep curls, and then 3 sets of 10 of pulling the bar up – using my shoulders.

I then moved on to ab work- first “X” crunches- where you lay on the ground in the shape of an “x”, then reach to one leg with your hands, and then back down & switch to the other side. (does that make sense?- I couldn’t find a picture) I did 30 of those- they are PAINFUL!! Then 30 v-up crunches:

Like this, but your leg are in a "v" the whole time.

and then 25 torso twists with an 8 lb. medicine ball.

After that I did some work on the Bosu ball (my favorite :)) – 20 pushups, 10 lunges- each leg- with 10lb. weights, 20 bridges,& 20 squats with 10 lb. weights.

Last, but not least: Butt exercises!! I will show you a few of my favorite:

Fire Hydrants

And then also, I like to do fire hydrants where you kick out when you reach the top, and then go back down & repeat (could not find picture)

Butt Lift

And for breakfast:

a Green Monster!! Into it:

-1/2 scoop whey protein powder, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/4 cup water, 1 frozen banana, 7 fresh strawberries, 1 tsp. peanut butter, 1 tsp. cocoa powder, LOTS of spinach, and ice

Nice & Layered πŸ™‚

And the finished product:

I have to say, this has become one of my favorite breakfasts πŸ™‚

Hope you all have a great Wednesday- 1/2 way there!!! πŸ™‚

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Did you hold onto the handles on the treadmill? If so, try it without holding on to increase intensity.

    If you didn’t hold on, then I would increase the speed, you may need to as your cardio endurance is probably very high from running to get your HR up! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I didn’t hold on to the handles- going to up the speed next time πŸ™‚ Loved the workout though- & that 15% incline is killer on the legs! I’m walking around like an old lady!! lol! Thanks for sharing it πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • That must be why I am so sore today! I have not done an incline treadmill workout in a long time. My legs are screamin’! haha!

        Wow, I’m impressed with your cardio fitness level…must be your running background. My HR got to 180 on the 15% incline…I need to work on my endurance!

  2. yeah not holding on is KILLER!

    on monday i did some incline walking—on about an 8, at speeds 3.8-40! Couldnt last too long!

    Reply
  3. peanutbutterfingers

     /  April 21, 2010

    your green monster sounds great! i’ve been meaning to add frozen strawberries to mine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

