Alice Springs Chicken

For my afternoon snack, I intended to have a Chobani peach yogurt….buttttt I completely forgot to put my lunch bag (which had my yogurt in it) back in the fridge after I got my lunch out. So,ย I didn’t want to eat it when it had been out of the fridge for 2 hours- lukewarm yogurt just does NOT sound good to me. So I put it back into the fridge for tomorrow…and had a serving of vanilla goldfish ๐Ÿ™‚

Tonight I continued the ‘Craig’s Favorite Meal Week’ & decided to make Alice Springs Chicken from Outback.

I made this a few months back & was really surprised at how good it turned out. I have honestly never ordered Alice Springs Chicken from Outback because I do not eat bacon, and that is one of the main ingredients, but I really liked the flavor of the sauce.

First you have to make the sauceย & ย marinade the chicken for at least 2 hours in 2/3 of the sauce. (reverse the other 1/3) So I did that before heading to work this morning.

Second cook the chicken in the pan for about 3-4 minutes a side- until golden brown.

Third, cook the bacon- if you use it. I made 2 for Craig with bacon.

Fourth- assemble the chicken. – On top of chicken you put the bacon (criss-crossed shape), then add the mushrooms & cheeses. (oh and a little drizzle of sauce from the reserve)

with bacon- the baby one is mine, withOUT bacon

Assembled, before baking

Then you bake it for about 7-10 minutes until the cheese is melted!

On the side we had sweet potato fries & roasted squash & zucchini. The fries did not get crispy like I was hoping, but I still liked them ๐Ÿ™‚

pre-cooked

veggies seasoned with garlic powder, kosher salt& crushed red pepper <--adds a GREAT spice

my plate sans the sweet potato fries- they needed to be cooked a bit more

& here they are! ๐Ÿ™‚

plus a few more fries ๐Ÿ™‚

I wasn’t feeling myself tonight- was not really hungry for dinner…but of course I knew I couldn’t just skip it. That’s why I went with the small piece of chicken…I’m feeling ok now. I think I’m just pretty tired- you know the feeling?

But I MIGHT have to make a little bit of soft serve banana ‘ice cream’ tonight for Craig & I ๐Ÿ™‚ Might just be what is needed!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll be sure to let you know in the morning ๐Ÿ™‚

Sorry the recipe below ran together, I just copy/ pasted it from Word..and it looked like that.

Outback Alice Springs Chicken
ย ย 
Honey Mustard Marinade:

1/2 cup Grey Poupon Dijon mustard

1/2 cup honey

1 1/2 teaspoons vegetable oil

1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

Chicken:

4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

2 cups sliced mushrooms (10-12 mushrooms)

2 tablespoons butter

salt and pepper

paprika

8 slices bacon, cooked

1 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese

1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese

2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh parsley

Using an electric mixer, combine mustard, honey, 1 1/2 teaspoons

oil and lemon juice in small bowl. Whip mixture for about

30 seconds. Pour about 2/3 of marinade over the chicken breasts

and marinate them (covered) in the refrigerator, for about 2 hours.

Chill remaining marinade until later. After the chicken has marinated,

preheat oven to 375 F and heat up an ovenproof frying pan

(large enough to hold all four breasts) with 1teaspoon of oil over

medium heat. If you dont have an ovenproof skillet, transfer the

chicken to a baking dish for the baking. Sear chicken in pan for 3-4

minutes per side or until golden brown. Remove the pan from heat,

but keep the chicken in the pan. As the chicken is cooking,

saute the sliced mushrooms in butter in a small frying pan.

Brush each seared chicken breast with a little of the reserved honey

mustard marinade (not the portion the chicken marinated in), being

sure to save a little extra to serveas a side. Season chicken

with salt, pepper, and a dash of paprika. Stack two pieces of

cooked bacon, crosswise, on each chicken breast. Spoon the

sauteed mushrooms on the bacon, being sure to coat each breast

evenly. Spread 1/4 cup Monterey Jack cheese onto each

breast, followed by 1/4 cup of Cheddar. Bake the pan of chicken

for 7-10 minutes or until the cheese is thoroughly melted and

starting to bubble. Sprinkle each chicken breast with 1/2 teaspoon parsley.

Question: Do you have any ‘imitation’ restaurant recipes that you like to cook?

ย 

ย 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I can never seem to make my sweet potato fries crispy either! Luckily I will devour them regardless ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Alexis brand Sweet potato fries are where its at. So good!!

    Reply
  3. I love the Alexa brand sweet potato fries. I found my fries get crispier if I bake them at 400 for about 25 minutes and flip halfway through.

    Reply
  4. Great take on the Alice springs chicken!! Looks delish! I think I’ll totally be making this soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  1. 8 Ingredient Steps to Dinner + Biceps/ Triceps « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

