Publix Made Our Dinner

We finally watched Avatar this afternoon & I was VERY surprised at how much I liked it!!! It was actually really good. I did not think I was going to like it- seemed to sky-fy like, but it was great. I recommend you see it if you haven’t.

It finished around 7pm- I was planning to cook, but since it was so late, we ran out & grabbed some food from Publix. I got a Turkey wrap (ate 1/2 tonight…will be good leftover for tomorrow’s lunch) with lettuce, tomato, bell peppers & extra banana peppers with honey mustard on the side.

Turkey Wrap

Craig got sushi:

Crab & shrimp sushi

And we both had some Baked Cheddar & Sour Cream Ruffles.

Perfect dinner! Love Publix for many reasons 🙂

While we were at the store, I picked up some strawberries- they were on sale- only $2.50 a carton!!! I thought of a great idea for a recipe on my way home…and of course it involved strawberries!! I made strawberries and cream bread:

Ingredients 

 

1/2 cup margarine, softened

3/4 cup sugar substitute

2 eggs

1 container strawberry Greek yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup whole wheat flour

¾ cup all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3/4 cup chopped fresh strawberries

1/2 cup chopped walnuts, toasted, divided

Directions: 

 

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Add Greek yogurt and vanilla; mix well.

Combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon; stir into creamed mixture just until moistened. Fold in strawberries and 1/4 cup nuts.

Pour into a greased 8-in. x 4-in. loaf pan. Sprinkle with remaining nuts. Bake at 350° for 65-70 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes; remove from pan to a wire rack to cool completely. Yield: 1 loaf.

The ingredients in the bowl

Ready for the oven

And out of the oven:

My piece 🙂

Love this recipe!

What is your favorite kind of bread??

I like this one & banana bread a lot.

Anyways, I’m off to spend some time with Craig.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. oooooo that bread looks amazing! I will have to make it! 🙂 thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  1. Spring Is in Sight! « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

