Lesson in Pears, Please

Good Morning!! πŸ™‚ Hope you’re off to a great start so far.

This morning for my workout, I did Jillian Michaels Making the Cut- day 8.

Circuit 1:

-Scorpion Push-ups- 20 reps

-Dumbbell Flys on Body ball with crunches- 10 reps (I did these with 15 lb. weights)

-Leg Extensions(ON MACHINE)- Pyramid weight up- 20 reps 1st, 12 reps 2nd, & 6-8 reps 3rd

-Jump Squats- perform until muscle failure

Circuit 2:

-Decline Dumbbell Presses- 10 reps each arm

-V Cable Flys- 15 reps (use cable cords & stand with one foot in front of the other- bring palms up from waist & into a V shape.

-Squat Thrusts- 20 reps

-Side Lunges- 20 reps on alternating legs (10 on each leg)

Circuit 3:

-Close Grip Push Ups- perform until muscle failure

-Plank Ups- perform until muscle failure

-Jump Squats- perform until muscle failure

-One-leg squats- 10 reps on each leg

-Jumping Jacks for one minute

Circuit 4:

-Military Shoulder Press- perform 8 reps (I did these with 15lb. weights)

-Wood Choppers- 15 reps on each side of body (USE CABLE)

-Knee Tuck Jumps- 10 reps

-Static lunges with Lateral Shoulder raise- 10 reps on each leg (bring out from side& up)

-Reverse Crunches- 5 reps

-Hanging Abs with a twist- 10 reps on each side- 20 total (keep legs straight, not bent)

Circuit 5:

-30 second wind sprints-perform 5 over 5 minutes- 9 mph- 30 sec. on, 30 sec. off

I did these circuits TWICE & then I did some more ab work (surprise…surprise ;)) -30 v-up situps, 30 v-up crunches, 10 ball passes& 20 regular crunches

After the circuits & ab work, I did 10 minutes of incline walking on the treadmill-14% incline & speed between 3.0& 3.2

My max. heart rate during the workout: 202, Average was: 141, Calories burned: 507

For my weights, I decided to up the amount that I was lifting/ using, thanks to some encouragement from Lisa!Β She said just to try to lift more ‘it’s good for the body!’ Love that πŸ™‚ She was right- it just takes a try to lift more, that’s all! And you might surprise yourself πŸ™‚

For breakfast I had an Alternative Blueberry Bagel with margarine & grape jelly; and I also hadΒ a Bosc pear on the side. I need some advice from JulieΒ on how to cut a pear better- Mine looked ridiculous! haha! Hers always look so perfect & thinly sliced. Also, I don’t know if I picked the pear out right..? It was kind of really crunchy- it was good, but I have had pears before that weren’t quite so crunchy. I think I need a lesson in pears!! πŸ™‚

My crazy chopped pear! πŸ™‚

Alternative Bagel

These bagels are DELICIOUS! And they aren’t flat- they are like a normal bagel- nice & full of bread πŸ™‚ I REALLY liked these!!

Breakfast!

Loved my breakfast today- I like adding fruit with it! I also picked up some kiwis at the store as well- can’t wait to get into those πŸ™‚

Hope you have a GREAT day! See ya this afternoon.

Questions: Do you eat alternative forms of bagels or do you eat regular bagels? And what is your favorite?

I have tried Bagel thins, Alternative Bagels, & various 100 calories Mini bagels. My favoriteΒ so far is the alternative bagels. The 100 calorie bagels are just too small. I still really like the bagel thins as well, but I would pick the alternative ones over the bagel thins.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. So glad you lifted heavier! It’s great to challenege yourself like that!

    I love alternative bagels, but I Can’t find them here :(.

    Reply
  2. peanutbutterfingers

     /  May 11, 2010

    haha you’re too funny! i totally agree about the alternative bagels – they’re the only ones that really seem like REAL bagels. the bagel thins just don’t cut it!

    as for the pears… i’ve been lucky b/c i’ve had some perfectly ripe pears & a fantastic knife. your pear slices look pretty darn delicious to me!

    great job on increasing the weights!

    Reply
  3. I have picked out bad pears before too…I like when they are soft and sweet!

    I have never had an alternative bagel….I usually by “nature’s own” light bagels, which are very good! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. I really want to try alternative bagels, but I can’t find them sold near me. I was all set to order them online, until I saw that the shipping costs would cost MORE than the bagels themselves! Looks like I’ll have to wait for now 😦

    Reply
  1. Dead Batteries « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

