Fluff Smoothie

Good Morning!! 

Today I woke up quite sore- you know when you do some new exercises & you wonder if they are actually working because you don’t feel ‘it’ right away, but then the next day- it’s like whoa, guess those exercises DID in fact work. Do you know what I mean? That’s how I felt this morning. Jillian has introduced some great new exercises to me (& my body) 🙂 

Today I did Day 9 of the 30 Day Making the Cut:

Circuit 1:

-Wide-grip Lat pull-downs (drop set): 1-3 reps at maximum, drop 1/3 of the weight then perform 6-8 more reps

-Medium-underhand grip pull-downs:15 reps, then hold a midpoint position until muscle failure (Grab the bar @ lat pull station with an underhand grip(palms facing you), hands shoulder width apart)

-Seated Hamstring Curls: 15 reps

-Jumping Lunges: 10 reps on each leg

-1 min. hill run at incline 12, speed 6 mph

Circuit 2:

-Terry Pulls (pyramid up with weight): 1st set 20 reps, 2nd set 12 reps, 3rd set 6-8 reps (Stand between a cable cross station with two pulleys (one in each hand). Your arms should be outstretched with your palms facing up. Exhale & slowly pull your elbows down to your rib cage.)

-Standing lat pull-downs: 10 reps (Grab the bar so that your hands are a little farther apart than your shoulders & your palms are facing down. Hold the bar at eye level; pull bar down towards your thighs)

-Back Kicks with Shoulder Press: 10 reps on each leg

-1 min. hill run at 12 incline, 6mph

Circuit 3:

-Seated Cable Rows: 1-3 reps at maximum, drop 1/3 of the weight, then perform 6-8 reps

-Step-ups: 40 reps on alternating legs

-Butt Kicks- 1 min.

Circuit 4:

-Incline Bicep Curls- 10 reps on each arm

-Pike Crunches/ Prone jackknifes on Body Ball- 25 reps

-Seated Hamstring Curls- 10 reps on each leg

-Butt Kicks- 1 min.

Circuit 5:

-Supermans- Hold midpoint position for 1 min.

-Boat pose- hold for 30 sec.

-Reverse Plank- hold for 1 min.

-Jump Rope- 1 min.

I did these circuits TWICE. 

Some of the exercises I had NEVER heard of- such as the Terry Pull & the one thing that I don’t like about the “Making the Cut” book is that there are not pictures with each of the exercises. Yes, most of them do have pictures, but then there are quite a few that do NOT have pictures, just a written description- which is sometimes confusing. I definitely prefer pictures/ videos over written descriptions. 

After I did the circuits, I did some ab work- including 50 crunches on the Bosu ball, 10 bridges on the Stability ball, 15 ball passes, & 25 regular crunches on Stability ball. 

For breakfast, I decided to switch it up again- I made a protein smoothie this morning with: 1 scoop whey protein, 1/2 banana, 4 strawberries, water & ice. 

Pink Swirl!

Pink Drink, Pink Straw

This drink/ smoothie was like pure fluff- I went to pick the cup up & it was SO light. I don’t know that I really liked it too much- I mean, I liked getting all of the protein, but I like when smoothies are more like smoothies- not fluff. 

How do you like your smoothies?? 

I also had 2 pieces of Sara Lee Low Calorie Whole Wheat Bread with Strawberry Preserves. 

 

I have been hearing a lot lately about the Miss USA contest since it is this weekend. There has been a lot of controversy about this year’s contest because of the pictures that the girls have taken. They are very revealing & sexual. The debate is over whether or not these girls should be allowed to take these pictures. In the past, some of the women that have been involved in this contest before have gotten into trouble over pictures being uncovered that showed them in questionable clothing. But now it’s almost like the contest is PROMOTING these type of pictures, when in the past they have condemned them.Here is the link for the story.

What are your thoughts? Do you think they should be allowed to take these type of pictures? 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I don’t really care about the Miss USA contest to be honest! LOL!

    Reply
  2. I’m totally not a fan of this contest and the fact that they have punished previous contestants for these very same types of pictures..crazy to me!

    Reply
  1. Workout & Brunch « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

