Banana Bread FAIL

This afternoon I turned to my yogurt mess for lunch 🙂

Mixed a Chobani Peach yogurt with 1/2 cup Kashi Go Lean & then I had an apple sliced up on the side.

Greek yogurt

Apple slices

the 'mess' 🙂

and I also had a handful or two of some baby goldfish

addiction

After lunch, I decided to try to make my own recipe…HA! This was interesting…

It all started because I had some old bananas on my counter…I thought I would create my own banana-type bread. Well, I mashed the three bananas, added 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 cup Splenda, 2 eggs, 1 Snack Pack sugar free pudding, & put pecans on top. HAHAHAHA!! I should NOT create my own recipes…I need to stick to my usual version of recipes- taking one & making it healthy, NOT making my own. I pulled the bread out after baking for 45 minutes at 350 degrees & it was like a BRICK. I thought I would at least try it, I mean, hey why not?! I tried it…and it wasn’t even a little sweet..and it was just blah! LOL!! I didn’t even take pictures because I was embarrassed!

After looking over some recipes for banana bread, I realized I missed quite a few things…like salt, baking soda, baking powder…

Oh boy!! Well, at least I tried 🙂 I sure hope the dumpster is hungry, because that’s where it’s headed!

What has been your biggest cooking mess up??

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Lol that sounds like something I would do. I also like trying to make juice in a blender because I don’t have a juicer. Grosssss.

    Reply
  2. I love trying to make new recipes and 90% of the time..they’re awful! It’s still fun though and it makes the few that work totally worth it!

    Reply
  3. Haha, I’m FINALLY getting the hang of baking and figure out what healthy swaps I can make for certain ingredients…it’s definitely a challenge!! I’ve always heard that baking with Splenda is difficult, though! I tried to make a chia pudding concoction awhile back and it didn’t turn out too well either…

    Hope your week is off to a great start!

    Reply
  4. Haha..this is cute. I am not a beef eater and tried to make a pot roast for Mr. KD’s parents one time. It was a TOTAL disaster. I was horrified!

    Reply
    • That’s funny because I do not eat beef either…so it’s definitely NOT my expertise in cooking….usually I always undercook it, because I know most people say it’s better undercooked than over cooked. But, then it’s just really pink…lol!!

      Reply
  5. Kara at MyWellnest

     /  May 17, 2010

    Not too long ago I followed a banana bread recipe from allrecipes exactly and it came out tasting like it had no sugar in it at all. Total fail! And a waste of 2 good ripe bananas!

    Reply
  6. LOVE the yogurt mess! 😉
    I attempted a black bean brownie recipe which was pretty much, straight up black beans. They were completely disgusting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

