Fresh Berries Galore

I promised a picture of the COOLEST piggy bank EVER…& here ya go:

piggy front

piggy side

piggy design close up

COOLEST piggy bank EVER right??! And it’s huge- I LOVE it. I’ve had it since I was a little bity baby. Someone at my Dad’s work made it for me when I was born…I think this is how my LOVE LOVE LOVE of pigs started. πŸ™‚ I would show you my whole pig collection…but then you might be REALLY sick of pig talk. Ok, I’m done πŸ™‚

After my delicious fruit filled oatmeal this morning I was sad that I was out of fruit, well strawberries & blackberries so I had to go & grab some more…and *cross my fingers* that my favorite cashier was there. Well, he wasn’t, but I still stocked up! It’s hard to beat blackberries & blueberries for $3.99 & Strawberries for $2.50! Woohoo!

fresh fruit

Β I also got some more apples…because, well, they are a staple in this house πŸ™‚

FUJI, of course

You know when I was at the store I kept thinking how expensive it can be to eat healthy. I mean, of course you can always find deals, but I can understand how people sometimes find it hard to eat healthy due to budget. For Craig & I it’s not too bad- even though I admitted to my $100/ week grocery habit 😦 that I’m trying to break- but for a family of 4 to eat healthy it’s EXPENSIVE!! For example, I could by regular lettuce for $1.69 OR I could get nutritional spinach for $3.99/ a bag – and that $3.99 is less ounces that the regular lettuce bag. It’s just something I noticed.

Do you ever notice stuff like that in the grocery store?

I also picked up some new WORKOUT gloves!! πŸ™‚ I am sick of seeing callouses on my hand..and my hands just hurting in general after lifting or doing those hanging abs- those are KILLER on your hands.

New Gloves

I picked them up at Target for $13.99- I was hoping that they would be cheaper..but hey, not too bad πŸ™‚

For lunch I was in a Green Monster mood like yesterday.Β I made it similar..but it was more of a purple/ gray color today..I think from the additional blueberries & blackberries.

spinach, blueberries, blackberries & strawberries! yum!

mixing it all up

I also really need to get that xanthan gum in order to thicken up my smoothie. I wasn’t planning to add protein powder to my smoothie today, but after I tried it without the powder it really needed it! My protein powder has xanthan gum in it, so it helps thicken it. But I would like to get some just to have on hand so that I don’t always have to add protein powder to smoothies.

That was lunch. I think I’m going to probably need a snack this afternoon. I was doing really good with adding afternoon snacks to my day, but then I just got out of habit..but I know I need to add them back in to keep that metabolism up!! πŸ™‚

What’s your favorite afternoon snack?

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. 1. I love your piggy bank!!!
    2. Fuji apples are one of my favorites!
    3. The first time I made a GM with blackberries it turned very purple!
    4. My favorite afternoon snack right now (it changes all the time) is almonds or a kashi cookie.

    Reply
  2. Aww HAHA That IS the coolest piggy bank EVER!

    Reply
  3. LOVE the pig! And I love a good bowl of oatmeal for an afternoon snack πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. I need to get some of that xanthan gum too!
    I really like snacking on kashi crackers with hummus as an afternoon snack. (or a gigantic chocolate chip cookie…) πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

