TWO New Recipes

Let me just tell ya about tonight’s dinner. Boy was it GOOOOO-OOOOOOD!! I used Allison’s recipe for Turkey Taco Quinoa Stew…but I had to improvise, since I couldn’t find quinoa at the store today. I got couscous instead, I figured it was close enough. It worked REALLY well!! I used a cup & a half of couscous because that was how much was in the box that I picked up- I didn’t want to save a 1/2 cup…then I would forget it was in my pantry 🙂
Here’s my improvised recipe: (based totally off of Allison’s)

  • Browned 1 package of lean turkey meat (93%) & 3/4 chopped onion..and I added green peppers here too…instead of later.
  • Once the onion and meat are browned – add whatever vegetables to the pot that you would like – in my case, (I just followed Allison’s ingredients here) 1 can of pinto beans, 1 can of kidney beans, &1 can of corn.
  • Add 1 packet of taco seasoning to the veggie, turkey mixture – and make sure you coat all the vegetables really well

    my mix of spices that I used- 1/4 cup taco seasoning, 1 tsp. cumin, 1 1/2 tbsp. minced garlic, about 5 tbsp (maybe more) Frank's Hot Sauce, 1 tbsp. Chili powder

  • Then, once all the meat and veggies are coated, add 1 can of diced tomatoes with chiles, and 1 can of broth (use whatever you have around)
  • Add 1 & 1/2 cups whole wheat couscous
  • Season according to your liking
  • Bring the whole pot to a boil, then cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally

    ready to devour!!!

     I prepared it how Allison suggested- with shredded lettuce on the bottom & some shredded cheese on top. She also suggested sour cream…but I didn’t have any on hand…& I’m not a big sour cream person myself. I also added some salsa to my bowl as well- the spicer the better 😉

    HIS bowl HER bowl

  • My bowl, close up

    This was UN-BELIVABLE- better than I ever expected!! Seriously, you NEED to try it- you WON’T regret it!

    For dessert I tried a new recipe that I found on Hungry Girl’s website for a healthy apple cobbler.  I figured I would try it & kind of add my own touches 🙂 Here’s my version:
    Ingredients:
    3 cups peeled apple chunks (any sweet, not tart, variety) I used two apples- Fuji
    1/2 cup Fiber One bran cereal (original)

    1 cup Annie’s graham cracker bunnies- mixed variety

    2 tbsp. egg substitute
    2 tbsp. applesauce

    3 tbsp. Splenda, divided
    2 tbsp. brown sugar (not packed)
    1 tbsp. cornstarch
    2 tsp. cinnamon, divided
    1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
    1/4 tsp. salt

    Directions:
    Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine 2/3 cup of cold water with brown sugar, cornstarch, 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon, vanilla extract, salt, and 1 tbsp. of the Splenda. Stir well.

    In a medium-sized pot, combine apple chunks with this mixture.

    Heat the apple mixture over medium heat, stirring occasionally. Once liquid thickens to a syrupy consistency and begins to bubble, reduce heat to low and cover. Allow to simmer for 5 minutes, and then transfer mixture to a medium-sized round baking dish. Set aside.

    Next, break the bunny crackers into small pieces. Place bunny pieces and Fiber One in a blender or food processor, and grind to a breadcrumb-like consistency. Transfer crumbs to a microwave-safe dish, and add egg substitute, applesauce, 1 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon, and the remaining 2 tbsp. of Splenda. Stir well. Microwave graham mixture for 1 minute. Use a fork to break up the toughened mixture as much as possible, and then allow it to cool for a few minutes.

    Transfer graham mixture to a food processor or blender, and pulse until crumbly and uniform. Evenly distribute graham topping over apple mixture. Place the dish in the oven, and bake for 10 minutes. Allow cobbler to cool slightly before serving. MAKES 4 SERVINGS

    cobbler

    I haven’t tried it yet….but I will let you know tomorrow what I think of it. It sure smells good though 🙂

    Today has been really good- feel like I accomplished a lot. Not quite ready for it to be Monday yet…but I’m going to make it a great Monday!- it’s a fresh start.

    Have a good night!! 😀

    Oh and Lisa’s doing an awesome give away! Check it out.

    Next Post
    Leave a comment

    11 Comments

    1. Now that cobbler is right up my alley.

      Reply
    2. I can’t wait to hear how the cobbler turns out! The bunnies make an interesting addition, but I can see how the cheesy taste would go well with the apples!

      Reply
    3. I pretty much think anything taco flavored is right up my alley!

      Reply
    4. Apple crisp/cobbler is my all time fave dessert…definitely going to be trying your version! Thanks for sharing!!!

      Reply
    5. Oooo those recipes both look SO good, I will have to make that first one for my Man for SURE. You DID accomplish lots. Hope you’re having a great day pretty girl!

      Reply
    6. Boyfriend told me I’m not allowed to go vegan until I learn to like beans. What’s the least nastiest kind? Hahahha

      Reply
    7. Nice substitution! Sounds delicious! 🙂

      Reply
    8. Ooooh I’ve been looking for quinoa recipes!!! Both meals look sooo good!!!

      Reply
    9. Curious about the cobbler!!

      Reply
    10. LOVE apple cobbler…let us know how it is! I have 2 of the hungry girl cookbooks sitting here at my house 😀

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

