Eggs to Go!

Hey there πŸ˜€

Since I already told you my workout in my last post, I figure I’ll just jump straight to breakfast. This morning I made something totally new. I made a pita out of Joseph’s Pitas with 1/3 cup of Better than eggs, spinach & fat free cheese.

Egg substitute

pita- only 60 calories!

egg substitute with spinach

breakfast!

This was a great breakfast on the go. I wrapped it in foil & took it with me in my car.

& some coffee too.

My lunch was pretty boring, well not to me, because I thought it was DELICIOUS..but it was the same as yesterday πŸ™‚

spinach, strawberry, reduced fat feta, 1 hard boiled egg white & some pecan pieces

hearty oat loaf with PB

I also had some animal crackers on my way home from work to hold me over until dinner.

Afternoon workout:
Speed Interval on Treadmill

Minutes Speed
0- 5:00 6
5:00- 6:00 8
6:00-7:00 6
7:00- 8:00 8
8:00- 9:00 6
9:00- 10:00 8
10:00- 11:00 6
11:00- 11:45 9
11:45- 12:45 6
12:45- 13:30 9
13:30- 14:30 6
14:30- 15:15 9
15:15- 16:15 6
16:15- 16:45 10
16:45- 17:45 6
17:45- 18:15 10
18:15- 19:15 6
19:15- 19:45 10
19:45- 20:45 6
20:45- 22:00 6

I then walked for 3 minutes at 3.5. Then I headed to the Arc trainer & did 15 minutes on there at resistance 5. Then of course…headed to do some ab work.
3 sets of 10 reps of each of these:
-Double dumbbell crunch (used 5 lb. weights)
-Side planks (30 sec each side), 25 bicycles, sides crunches
-Hands on knee crunches
-25 crunches on bosu ball
Then I walked for 2 minutes on the treadmill @ 3.5..just to see how much more time Craig needed. πŸ™‚ While I waited for him I did some inner/ outer thigh moves on the machine. 2 sets of 10 reps (each- inner & outer thigh)

Total time at gym: 1 hr, 1 min.; Max HR: 189, Avg. HR: 130; Calories burned: 485

Then we headed home. Craig fed the baby ducks- he LOVES doing that. I got the rest of my recipe that I started last night, ready tonight. This time I didn’t spill an entire bottle of spaghetti sauce everywhere!!! πŸ˜€

Tonight’s recipe was from Hungry Girl as well- Nacho-rific Chicken breasts
Ingredients:
1/2 cup fat-free refried beans
1/4 cup shredded fat-free cheddar cheese

4 wedges The Laughing Cow Light Original Swiss cheese
Β 
1/2 cup Fiber One bran cereal (original)
8 low-fat baked tortilla chips (like the kind by Guiltless Gourmet), crushed

Target brand Organic Blue Chips

1 tsp. dry taco seasoning mix
2 dashes cayenne pepper, or more to taste
Four 5-oz. raw boneless skinless lean chicken breast cutlets, pounded to 1/3-inch thickness
1/4 cup taco sauce

Optional toppings: fat-free sour cream and/or salsa

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a large baking pan with nonstick spray and set aside.

To make the filling, combine beans, shredded cheese, and cheese wedges in a bowl. Mix thoroughly and set aside.

Using a blender or food processor, grind Fiber One cereal to a breadcrumb-like consistency. Remove blender from base, and add crushed chips, taco seasoning, and cayenne pepper. With the lid on, give it a good shake to mix. Transfer crumb mixture to a plate and set aside.

Lay cutlets flat on a clean, dry surface. Spoon filling onto the centers of the cutlets, evenly dividing it among them. Carefully roll each cutlet up over the filling (which may ooze a little, but don’t worry!) and secure with toothpicks.

chicken with filling

Cover each stuffed cutlet with 1 tbsp. taco sauce, using the back of the spoon or your fingers to coat. Carefully roll each cutlet in the crumb mixture, making sure to coat all sides — use a spoon or your fingers, if needed. Gently transfer to the baking pan.

Cover the pan with foil, and bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

Carefully remove foil, and bake in the oven for anotherΒ 15 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through and outsides are crispy.

Let cool slightly and, if you like, serve with sour cream and/or salsa. Enjoy!


On the side:

more blue chips with salsa

Β 

my plate- 1/2 chicken breast, veggies & some chips

close up of chicken- nice & cheesy

I’m LOVING these hungry girl recipes!! Can’t wait to make more πŸ™‚

Anyways, I’m off to spend time with my hunny bunny. Hope you have a great rest of your night!

What’s your favorite Hungry Girl recipe, if you have one?

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. love that egg pita! i love those pitas! i hate that you can only find them at wal-mart though …i never go there anymore! 😦

    Reply
    • I know, I hate that too. I happened to run in there after work one day b/c it’s on my way…and I remembered that I actually need them for a recipe Thursday night, so I just figured I would use them for other stuff too πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. LOVIN that hearty oat loaf!!
    I just had to throw the last of mine out…started to get moldy 😦

    Reply
  3. I’d say mine so far is the Turkey Taco Meatloaf. Which HG cookbook are you working out of? Do you have the new one yet?

    Reply
  4. Your boy must love you for all the new recipes you’re always trying. Someday I’ll cook something! Hahahaha

    Reply
    • Oh, he’s spoiled πŸ™‚ No, but really I love to cook! It helps relieve my stress @ the end of the day. I know that might sound weird (it does to most people- lol!) but it’s just so relaxing to me…unless of course I’m spilling jars of tomato sauce all over my floor πŸ˜€

      Reply
  5. That brekfast looks awesome!!! That heart oat loaf looks awesome…where is that recipe from?

    Reply
  6. I am allllll about the Hungry Girl butternut squash “fries”. They are soooooooooo good. Your pita looks so yummy- it’s so much less expensive to make your own breakfast sandwich instead of buying one and really if you do it in the microwave it takes virtually no time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

