Review of Making the Cut

Sorry that my post didn’t publish last night. I went to go & look at my page this morning & noticed it was not there. So I checked the ‘drafts’ folder & it was in there- SO WEIRD! I swear I hit ‘publish.’ Last night was definitely NOT my night, so that was probably just another part of it- LOL 😀

If you missed my review of my version of the Hungry Girl apple cobbler, check out my post!!

This morning I got up and headed to the gym…as usual 😉 Today was my LAST day of Making the Cut! 

Making the Cut- Day 30

Circuit One:
-Standing Lat Pull- Downs: 8 reps with HEAVY weight
-Lunges: 50 rapidly on alternating legs

Circuit Two:
-Plank Rows: 20 reps, 10 each arm
-Jumping Lunges: 20 reps
-Swing Kicks: 30 reps, 15 each leg 

Circuit Three:
-Seated Cable Rows: 12 reps
-Pendulum Lunges with Hammer Curls- 20 reps, 10 each leg
-Step-ups: 20 reps, 10 each leg 

Circuit Four:
-Frog Kicks: 20 reps
-Back Extensions: 10 reps
-Pike Crunch: 20 reps holding dumbbells in each hand 

Circuit Five:
-Dumbbell Rows: 12 reps using a wide grip
-Military Shoulder Press Prone on Body Ball: 10 reps
-Concentration Curls: 24 reps (12 each arm) in a static squat
-Rock Star Jumps: 20 reps

After that I did 10 minutes on the Elliptical- resistance 6.

Total time @ gym: 51:44, Max HR: 161, Avg. HR: 124; calories burned: 300

My review of Making the Cut:
PROS:
-I really enjoyed the workouts and the different combinations that Jillian used. I especially like the strength & cardio moves, which is what she is pretty much known for. You will find a lot of the same moves in her 30 Day Shred DVD.
-I did notice a difference in my body- especially my arms & quads. Although I did not take my measurements before starting the workout (which I am kicking myself for now, because I know they changed- in a good way) my clothes are fitting differently- my waist is smaller. But I do have to add a sidenote, I did NOT follow the schedule exactly. I did NOT take “off days” as she has in the workouts, I did my own workouts- usually lots of cardio on those days or difference weight training exercises. I also did NOT follow her diet plan that is outlined in the book, I did my own thing, which is also healthy..but not exactly by the book.
-The workouts burned about 300-350 calories each.

CONS:
-Some of the exercises are hard to understand when you initially read them. I wish that she had pictures with all of them. She does have pictures with most of the moves, but there are still quite a few without them. I just read the description a few times, Googled them if necessary (some you cannot even find on Google), and then I understood how to do them correctly (@ least I think so 😉 )

MY OWN RECOMMENDATIONS/ what I did:
-I did all of the circuits twice, even the ones that say “only do once”
-I typed up the workouts before heading to the gym, that way I didn’t have to bring the book with me.
-Really push yourself on the “perform until muscle failure” routines.
-Push yourself on the weight amount as well. Heavier weights are a GOOD thing. They do not make you bulky.
-I will be doing this workout again at some point, I liked it that much.

Hope you’re having a great day so far!! I’ll be back later 😉

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Awesome review of the program! I am going to go check out your review of the HG apple cob because I have been wanting to make it!

    Reply
  2. congrats on finishing. hope you are happy with the results!

    Reply
  3. I think it’s fun to do the workout of MTC here or there when I get really bored in the gym.

    Reply
  4. I’m glad you can comment on my page again! That’s weird it wasn’t showing my new posts.

    Congrats on finishing Making the Cut! I’m so impressed by your workouts!

    Have a great day!

    Reply
  5. Love the review. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It’s always nice to hear what other people say!

    Reply
  6. Yeah some of her exercises are confusing and also require a lot of equipment I don’t have. I definitely agree with what you said about heavier weights. Girls are always afraid to use heavy weights and then don’t get in a good workout!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

