New Favorite?

Hey Bloggies!! 🙂

First things first- gotta do some VitaTop reviews! Again THANK YOU SO MUCH to the Vitalicious company!!
Craig & I decided to try the Banana Nut & Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip first. I took one of each & then cut it in half so we could each sample them.

his & her vitatops

Here’s my review:
Banana Nut: This one was good, but honestly I could use more banana flavor. It might be because I’m a banana FREAK but I thought it just had a banana hit of flavor.
Fudgy Peanut Butter Chip: This was by far our FAVORITE!! We both LOVED it. I think we could of eaten a whole box of these in about 5 minutes, if given the opportunity. We both looked at each other after a bite & just shook our heads “yes” in response to that one. The flavor was awesome- I mean, you can NEVER go wrong with the chocolate peanut butter flavor in my opinion 😉 The only thing is I haven’t seen this flavor in the grocery store by me. Hopefully they get it soon.

and next….ok ok, we had to justify that it was totally fine for us to eat something else after just sampling two halves of the VitaTops- I mean, it was only a 100 calories 🙂 So, we were on to the next one..

VitaBrownie!!

topped with nuts..perfect!

These were great! They were the perfect texture- and I even heated it up in the microwave about 30 seconds before eating it. These were the perfect amount to satisfy that sweet tooth. We split this as well, but I could of easily eaten a whole one 😉

Can’t wait to try more tonight!

This morning’s workout was a weight one- Arms, with focus on the triceps:

Exercise Weight
Plie Squat 25lb.
Dumbbell Rows 15lb. Each hand
Alternating Dumbbell Curl 12.5lb. Each hand
Chest Press 15lb. Each hand
Shoulder Press 15lb. Each hand
Tricep Extension 15lb.
Single Legged Deadlift 15lb. Each hand
Dumbbell Pull over 15lb. Each hand
Bench Dip Body Weight
Tricep Rope Pulldown 35lb.
90 degree tricep cable pull 15lb. Each hand

I did this circuit FOUR times & then headed over to do some ab work..surprised?!
-Right Side plank: 30 seconds
-Left side plank: 30 seconds
-Regular plank: 30 seconds
-50 crunches on the Bosu ball
-30 crunches on the ab machine with 70lb.

Total time at gym:   47 minutes, 212 Calories burned

For breakfast, I tried something new. After seeing some delicious looking oatmeal on Julie’s page last week, I emailed her & asked her how she made it- like with water or milk, for how long, etc. She said she uses either water or milk..and lets them simmer about 20 minutes. So….I followed her advice 🙂
Into the pot went:
1/2 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup steel cut oats


And then after it was boiling, I added:
-5 cut up strawberries
-1/4 cup banana
-about 2 tsp. cinnamon
-a few tbsp. splenda
-a squirt (<– hate that word) of honey

Look @ how good that is!!

oatmeal + iced coffee to go

Ok, you all know that I LOVE my Green Monsters…but this oatmeal was so freakin’ good!!!!! I will definitely be using the more as a go to for breakfast- of course I’ll change up the mix-ins, but I love cooking oatmeal this way, with the big steel cut oats. Craig even saw it before he left for work & was quite a bit jealous 😉 I told him I’d make him some tomorrow. Spoiled boy 😀

Has anyone else noticed how MUCH better steel cut oats are compared to quick coating oats??! This morning I had an eye-opening experience at how much more tastier they are.

For lunch, I had my usual planned- Greek yogurt, apple, some animal crackers, etc etc. BUT we had a seminar at work & it was at Ruth Chris Steak house. I wasn’t 100% sure how it worked- like if we would be having lunch, or getting back to the office for work, since this one was my first one. Well, turns out we were served lunch. You had the choice of:
-a steak sandwich
-a crab cake sandwich
-a chicken caesar salad
Well, since I don’t eat cows or pigs, & I’m really picky about crabmeat- since I’ve been to Maryland & had the REAL stuff, I don’t really like to order it out if I don’t know what I’m getting- Krab or Crab- so I went with the Chicken Caesar Salad. It was good, but I didn’t eat much of it & I didn’t finish the chicken. I probably ate like 2oz. chicken breast + some romaine lettuce, cherry tomatos, some cheese & croutons. It was good, but it was hard to talk & eat food at the same time. I’m always afraid I’m going to spit it out, that stuff might fall out of my mouth while talking. Embarassing..at least to me. I’m weird about it.

How do you feel about eating in front of people? Especially new people.

For my afternoon snack, I had some animal crackers. When I headed home I had prepared to do some cardio intervals on the treadmill, but when I walked in the door, Craig was like, “H, let’s just skip it today. I’m really tired. I just wanna take a nap.” At first I was like…uhhh..but then I turned that frown RIGHT upside down 😀 So I didn’t do an afternoon workout today. Maybe my body can use the break tonight. Tomorrow morning I’ll do what I had planned for tonight.

For dinner I tried another new Hungry Girl Recipe- Chick on the Barbie. Here’s my version of the recipe.

   
 

Ingredients:
1 cup low fat mozzarella cheese

16 oz. cooked boneless skinless lean chicken breast, chopped

1/3 cup of your favorite BBQ sauce, divided

4 Joseph’s Pita Bread

pita bread- only 60 calories a piece!!

1 /8 cup finely chopped red onion
1 tbsp. chopped cilantro

& about 1/8 cup fat free cheddar cheese- just enough to sprinkle a bit over each

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a dish, toss chopped chicken with half of the BBQ sauce. Set aside.

Place pita on a baking sheet sprayed with nonstick spray. Spread remaining BBQ sauce onto the exposed side of the pita, leaving a 1/2-inch border around the edge.

Sprinkle evenly with shredded mozzarella cheese. Scatter saucy chicken over the layer of cheese, and then sprinkle with onion, cilantro & fat free cheddar cheese.

Bake in the oven for 10 – 12 minutes, until pizza is hot. Slice into quarters, and enjoy!

baked

my plate

 This recipe made 4 individual pizzas. It was perfect for both of us- I had 1 1/2 pizza & Craig had 2 1/2. It was really good & the crust was nice & crispy! I love these low calories Hungry Girl recipes. I think I should buy the cook book….since I have been using the recipes so much.

Tonight I think we might be getting into more VitaTops 😉 I’ll have the reviews for you as soon as I sample some more.

I’m off to spend some time with C- we are going to be watching the Real Housewives of NYC later- it’s the reunion tonight!!! 😀 Should be a good one. And then the new show Bethenny Getting Married, although I will not be watching it tonight- too late for me….but the DVR will catch it for me 😉

Have a great night!!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Hehehe..I can’t stop eating vitatops either. I loved the fudgy peanut butter last night! I think it may have been better than the brownie! Gasp! Guess I’ll need to eat another of each just to make sure! I don’t mind eating in front of new people. I eat a little slower though so I don’t get messy.

    Reply
  2. So thanks for the link to hungry girl! I’ve been looking through the recipes and pretending I’m going to cook them. Haha. Also, I’ve never had steel cut oats but Marissa Miller eats them so I should probably eat them. Right?

    Reply
  3. Oh I totally missed Bethany Getting Married…how was it?!?!

    Reply
  4. I’ve been wanting to try those VitaTops!! I see them in a bunch of my Hungry Girl recipes and they always sound so tasty!
    P.S. – Your pizzas look totally scrumptious! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Do you know if the vita tops have artificial sweeteners and sugar alcohols in them?

    I don’t mind eating in front of people at all. I love going out to eat too! 🙂

    Reply
  6. I was wondering how the vita brownies were, they look good, glad to hear they taste good too!

    Reply
  7. I love the chocolate peanut butter Vitatops too. I couldn’t care less about eating in front of others. I’m too into the food 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

