Barley for the First Time

Thanks for your comments on my last post..and I sure hope you don’t think I’m a bad person. I feel like I did the right thing for me.

Anyways, on to my breakfast that I am so excited to share!! It was SO random- I was going to have an apple, but then I decided to dice it up. Well, after dicing it & putting it into a container, I decided to sprinkle it with cinnamon..& that just led to a bunch of other add ins. It included: (I decided measure anything)
-1 apple, diced
-about 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
-2 tbsp. oatmeal & whey protein powder
-2 tbsp. old fashioned oats
-about 3 tbsp. Sugar Free syrup
1 packet Splenda

my creation

I was really was unsure of how it would turn out- I was kind of skeptical as I was throwing all of the stuff in, but I figured whatever…mine as well try it. Let me tell ya, it tasted JUST like apple pie filling!!! πŸ˜€ YUM!! I also had some coffee too- I totally forgot to press the start button on my coffee maker as I was getting ready, so as I came down the stairs to leave & get my coffee I discovered that I had no coffee
😦 BOO! Thankfully I had a few minutes to spare (barely) but I waited for my coffee to finish brewing.

coffee to go

Today at work I spent a LOT of time studying for my 215 license. I should be done with the online course soon so that I can go ahead & take my state test. It’s kind of mind-numbing sometimes, but I just want to get thru it so I can take the state test asap.

For my morning snack, I tried the Raisin Bran VitaTop.Β I gotta say, the CranBran is STILL my favorite, but this one was good too. The fruit ones are definitely my favorites.

no PB2 on it today, just plain. πŸ™‚

For lunch, I had my usual yogurt mess- sorry for the repetition. Kind of boring, I know.

Oikos Greek Yogurt- blueberry, strawberries & blueberries, 1/4 cup Raisin Bran, 1/4 cup Fiber One.

Mix-y Mix-y Mix-y & ya get…

yogurt mess! best. lunch. ever.

Everyone that was walking by my desk was like “what is THAT?” so then I had to explain that it was a yogurt mess & everything that was in it. I also think I have the office all convinced that they should switch to eating Greek Yogurt instead of regular yogurt πŸ˜€ I mean, it is SO MUCH better!!

Afternoon snack- blueberry Alternative bagel + 1 packet strawberry jelly

After work, I headed home while eating some animal crackers. I swear I never get sick of those things.

My afternoon workout:
-35 minutes on the elliptical- resistance of 5.
-3 sets of 10 inner thigh exercises on machine w/ 50 lb.
-3 sets of 10 outer thigh exercises on machine w/ 50 lb.

Short afternoon workout- total time: 40:48; total calories: 250; Max HR: 150; Avg HR: 131

Now for the best meal of the day…Dinner. I made up a new recipe tonight. I have been seeing all sorts of ideas for things to use instead of pasta- like quinoa, Carba Nada noodles, & various other things..but tonight I focused on barley. I’ve never really cooked with barley, but I really like it.

Chicken, Asparagus, & Mushroom Barley
Ingredients:
-2 chicken breasts,diced; Β I marinated them in this: (for about 1 hour)

Light Balsamic Vinegarette

-12 oz aparagus, or one frozen package

-3 1/2 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
-1/4 cup chopped onion

-1 small can mushrooms- 4 oz. or you can use fresh mushrooms

-3 cloves of minced garlic (I just used the stuff in the jar)
-1 1/2 cups quick-cooking barley

-1/2 cup dry white wine
-1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese, or cheese of your choice
-Pepper, to taste

Preparation:
1. Spray pan with non-stick cooking spray & saute chicken in the pan until it is half way cooked, set aside.

2. Bring broth to a simmer in a sauce pan or in the microwave; keep warm.
3. Microwave aparagus according to directions- about 5 minutes, and set aside.
4. In the same pan that the chicken is in, add the onion, mushrooms, & garlic- & continue cooking about 4-5 minutes until chicken is thoroughly. Add barley to pan & cook for about 1 minute more. Add wine & stir until evaporated, about 1 minute.

5. Add about 1/2 cup of the hot broth & cook, stirring frequently, until most of the liquid has been absorbed. Continue cooking, adding enough broth, 1/2 cup at a time, and stirring frequently, until the barley is tender & the mixture has a saucy consistency- about 10 -12 minutes.
6. Remove pan from heat & stir in the cheese & the reserved asparagus. Season with pepper- as much as you would like.

7. Eat & Enjoy!!!

my plate.

This was really good. Barley is AWESOME! Can’t wait to create some more recipes with it. One word of suggestion- be sure to use reduced- sodium chicken broth- I made it with regular chicken broth & it was way to salty for us. – that’s why I put reduced-sodium broth in the recipe. Or, if you really like salt, then you could use regular broth πŸ˜‰

If you try it, let me know what you think!!

Have a great night! We are going to watch the Real Housewives of NY Reunion Part THREE- goodness that is a LONNNNG reunion.

See you tomorrow- it’s FRIDAY!! πŸ˜€

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I love barley. That vinaigrette is such a great marinade isn’t it?! It’s really good on portobellos. If you like barley, you should also try wheat berries. They take longer to cook, but are so worth it.

    Reply
  2. Dinner looks sooo good, now I want to try barley!!! TGIF almost!

    Reply
  3. I love that you always have a cooked dinner. Good work girl.

    Reply
  4. Don’t ever apologize for yogurt messes…I could eat them every day!! πŸ™‚
    P.S. – AWESOME lookin’ dinner!

    Reply
  5. Dinner looks tasty…barley is such a good grain! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. i LOVE ur stir-fry.. it totally looks like something i make when i make my stir-fries, except ive never used barely only brown rice but urs looks INSANE!! ❀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

