Tofu Keeps Gettin’ Better!

Well hello there πŸ™‚

First things first- gotta get my morning & afternoon eats in- then I have an AWESOME recipe to share with you.

Breakfast: Since I had the extra time this morning- I made 3 egg whites with spinach, & tomatos. On the side I had a Arnold Sandwich Thin with a little bit of peanut butter & sliced bananas.

egg whites a' cookin.

yummy breakfast

I wish I could have more breakfasts like these during the week- so GOOD! & it kept me full right until lunch- no need for a morning snack.

After my exciting adventure to get my fingerprints taken- I stopped @ Starbucks for an iced coffee…mmmmm..

perfect pick-me-up

Onto lunch- REALLY boring- same thing. Not gonna go into it..but I’ll show you some pics.

For my afternoon snack I had a Sweet Wheat Alternative Bagel– along with a little thing of strawberry jelly …and I also had a Kashi Strawberry cereal bar on my drive home- but that went un-pictured.

Kashi bar to hold me over until dinner.

I DID go to the gym this afternoon, since I did NOT do ANY cardio this morning- I wanted to get my legs moving. I just did 42 minutes on the elliptical- I alternated every 5 minutes (well, except for the last 2 minutes) between 5 resistance & 10 resistance.
Max HR: 160, Avg HR: 124, Calories burned: 250

NOW- on to the GOOD part. I found this recipe on Mama Pea’s blog– for Tofu Ricotta Β GnocchiΒ and honestly I had NO idea what to think. YES, I do love gnocchi..but made with tofu?!? So of course, I HAD to try it. I started it last night- that way it wouldn’t take me too long tonight.
Here is the recipe, along with my changes.

Tofu Ricotta Gnocchi

  • 1 16 oz.Β 14 oz.Β pkg. firm tofu, drained
  • my tofu - only a 14 oz. package

  • 2 T. lemon juice
  • 3 T. nutritional yeast Parmesan cheese
  • 3 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 T. fresh basil
  • 4 oz. Tofutti cream cheese Skim Ricotta
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 3/4 c. -1 c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 c. organic pasta sauce (or just your favorite sauce)

Prepare tofu ricotta by combining all ingredients in a food processor, except for flour and pasta sauce.Β  <–this is the part that I did LAST night. I also let the tofu drain for about an hour prior to putting it into the food processor.

food processor with tofu chunks

all mixed up

Place ricotta in a large bowl and add 3/4 c. of the flour, combining until a soft dough forms.Β  If your dough is too wet, add additional flour one tablespoon at a time.

tofu mix + flour

Refrigerate dough for 15-30 minutes.

Turn dough out onto a floured board and divide into four sections.Β  One portion at a time, roll dough out into a long snake, about 1 – 1 1/2 inches in diameter. <–I just rolled it into one REALLY long snake.

knead the dough

REALLLLLLLLLY long.

Using a sharp knife, cut dough into small gnocchi, about an inch in size.Β  Repeat with remaining dough.

While a large pot of water is coming to a boil, transfer gnocchi to a baking sheet.

Drop about 1/3 of your prepared gnocchi into the water at a time.

When the dumplings start to float to the surface, cook for an additional 2 minutes, then remove with a slotted spoon and transfer to a colander to drain.

Repeat with the remaining gnocchi.

complete & ready to eat.

Serve with heated marinara sauce.

YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMYYYYY!! Even Craig was in total shock- he LOVED it. He commented how I make all of his favorite recipes into something healthy. I told him I wish I could take credit for the recipe- but a big THANK YOU to Mama Pea πŸ˜€

On the side we had some roasted veggies:

squash & zucchini- only used 2 of each

chopped & ready for the oven

the spices I used- got a little heavy handed on the crushed red pepper-oops!

roasted @ 450 for about 30 minutes- flipping halfway thru

And some whole wheat bread:

my plate- some gnocchis, marinara, veggies & a piece of bread.

Loved tonight’s dinner- even though it was one that took a bit more time- we didn’t eat dinner until around 8pm- it was SO worth it.

Anyways- just wanted to tell you that I’m feeling SO MUCH better lately- just realizing what is more important in my life…and that I don’t need to focus so much on my exercise & all that stuff. I feel GREAT today & it can only get better πŸ™‚

I have decided that I’m going to sleep in tomorrow & just go to the gym @ night with Craig. We are catching up on TWO episodes of NJ Housewives- we are a bit behind. So instead of worrying about going to bed early so that I can get up at 5am, I’m just going to enjoy my night with my hunny bunny & relax.

Hope you have a great night as well!! πŸ˜€

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Your lunch looks amazing. Lots of fruit always makes for a delicious and colorful meal! And those gnocchi look amazing, I remember seeing them on Mama Pea’s blog and I’m glad to know they’re as awesome as they look! I’m bookmarking this page as a reminder to make them πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a great week!

    Reply
  2. what a GREAT recipe πŸ™‚ thanks for sealing the deal about these babies!

    haha those kashi bars always remind me of nutrigrain bars which i used to eat arouuuund the clock back in the day!

    Reply
  3. Those gnocchi are pretty amazing huh? I’m craving them again! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  4. ALL SMILES!! Yay, I’m so happy that you are feeling better and not having to wake up at 5 tmw to exercise. Enjoy your night with Craig!!

    And HOLLER at the gnocchi. I’ve never made pasta before but this one doesn’t seem TOO hard. And it looks DELISH!

    Reply
  5. Your breakfast looks delicious!
    I’ve never tried gnocchi before, it looks good!

    Reply
  6. WOW! You made homemade gnocchi! I am beyond impressed!!!

    Reply
  7. I’m feeling so totally excited for you this morning after reading this!
    1. Your breakfast looks out of this world YUMMY
    2. I’m SUPER impressed with your gnocchi – I don’t know if I’d have the patience to make it. Would you come over for dinner soon and make some for me? πŸ˜‰
    3. I am SO HAPPY that you’re feeling better – it totally comes through in your posts too girl, so keep those positive vibes comin’! I’m glad that you’re becoming more able to enjoy all the fun things! πŸ˜€

    Reply
  8. oh. my. gosh.

    That egg white breakfast looks flat out amazing. I wish I didn’t work at 5am so I could make myself something like that everyday!!

    cereal it is.

    πŸ˜€

    Reply
  9. ur snack of yogurt and berries is exactly what i just ate 5 min ago!! its the only thing to soothe my cheeks/mouth. mmm and it was tasty.

    xoxo ❀

    Reply
  10. Ive never been a fan of gnocchi but Im still impressed with your skills! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Holy COW you made gnocchi?! I’ve ALWAYS wanted to try making that but i’ve always been too scared. So much work lol Looks amazing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

