Weights v. Cardio

hey hey!

happy ‘hump’ day! yay for mid-way points. And it’s already 2 in the afternoon- only 3 more hours of work left- WOOHOO!

this morning I got to sleep in until about 6:30- instead of my usual 5am- because I had to get my fingerprints taken (for my 215 license) & my appointment was at 10:15am- so there was no point in coming into work just to leave- so I just asked if it was ok if I just went in after. My boss happily agreed- he’s really awesome! He’s actually out of town until next week- so it is REALLY low key at the office& we can dress causual for the rest of the week- SCORE!

This morning I kind of got to take my time getting ready for the gym…ahhhh! So nice not to have to rush around. For my workout this morning I decided to do an upper body workout- focusing on the bi’s, tri’s & delts. (& some abs too 🙂 )

Warm up: 5 minutes on bike- 5 resistance

Exercise Reps Weight
Arnold Press 3 sets of 12 reps 10lb. Each hand
Dumbbell Press 3 sets of 12 reps 15lb. Each hand
Dumbbell Lateral Raises 3 sets of 12 reps 7.5lb. Each hand
Dumbbell Rear Delt Row 3 sets of 12 reps 15lb.
Hammer Curls 3 sets of 12 reps 10lb. Each hand
Alternating Dumbbell Curls 3 sets of 12 reps 12.5lb. Each hand
21s 3 sets 20lb. Barbell
Tricep Kick Backs 3 sets of 12 reps 10lb. Each hand
Bench Dips 3 sets of 12 reps body weight
Close Pushups- for tri’s 3 sets of 12 reps body weight
Decline Sit ups 3 sets of 12 reps 10lb. Weight
Decline Side to side crunches 3 sets of 12 reps 10lb. weight
Reverse Decline Crunches 3 sets of 12 reps body weight

50 crunches on Bosu Ball
2 min. cool down on bike

Total time: 45 minutes, Max HR: 153, Avg. HR: 118, Calories burned: 250

I did these exercises ‘circuit style’ – making it three circuits.

I LOVED this workout. I honestly LOVE anything that works your arms. I feel SO strong after working my arms. I don’t know what it is about it..but I just do.

As you know (if you have been reading)  my love of weight training has grown tremendously! I can’t get enough of it- pure L-O-V-E 😀 But I was talking to my dad about it this morning- remember how I told you that he asked me to help him lose a few pounds? Well- we were talking about cardio v. strength training this morning..and I was telling him how much more I include weights in my workouts & that I REALLY enjoy doing it. I also said that you actually burned MORE calories with weight lifting than cardio- due to the afterburn effect.  He said, you know, I just don’t see how you can really get your heart rate up while weight lifting. I told him that I had to disagree- that I was actually SHOCKED at how high it CAN get- I’ve had mine in the 160s. I love having a heart rate monitor to see all of this.  I told him that I know it sounds CRAZY how much of a GREAT workout that it can give you…but it’s true- then I found some articles that I sent to him- but I also want to share this one with you:
Weight Training vs. Cardio Workouts
It just backs up what I was saying. Such good info! 🙂

Here’s another article that I found about abs. I need to take the advice- says that you should really only train abs about 3 times a week. My everyday ab stuff is NO good. 😦

What do you think of ab training?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I rarely train abs. I might do a plank here or some v ups there–but thats it! And Ive got some visible abs! Your abs get engaged in all of your weight lifting exercises.

    Reply
  2. I agree – abs no more than 3 times a week. Treat them just as you would any other muscle group. It’s also good to do a variety of exercises like planks, which work the entire core.

    Reply
  3. I think people often forget how many calories you can burn lifting weights! And the best part about it is, when you lift weights you gain more muscle, thus burning calories all day long, rather than just your work out session! My favorites are arms and abs, I agree I feel SO good and strong afterward!
    As I say all this, I know I don’t do strength training nearly as much as I should. I always feel like it requires more effort than cardio. Strength training you (usually) need a gym, or a set of weights and requires some sort of routine/circuit – which is always the hardest for me!
    I’m so happy I found your blog though and you spell out every work out session, I think this will motivate me to put together my own (and use yours!) : )
    Few! Sorry I didn’t mean to write a novel of a comment..

    Reply
  4. I love working my abs! and I had no idea that you shouldn’t train more than 3 times a week!
    Strength training is my favourite because you just feel sooo strong and sculpted after a good workout!

    Reply
  5. I agree that abs three times a week is PLENTY and the rest is done in the kitchen!

    Reply
  6. I see abs the same as any other muscle. They should be worked out every other day at the MOST. But I agree with Kelly, 3 times a week is enough.

    I love having a HR monitor too but sometimes I think I get too caught up in the numbers. Today I hardly looked at it and I think I worked harder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

