Information Overload?

Hey Guys!

First- I wanted to telly you that I did NOT get up & workout this morning- I enjoyed my extra bit of sleep. But this afternoon I have ONE HECK of a workout prepared. I cannot wait to do it!! I came up with a combination of a ton of things…it will be pretty interesting- can’t wait to share it with you. Oh & I have a new recipe too! πŸ™‚ It’s kind of a family recipe- nothing too special, but OH so tasty. Soooo pretty much come back later. πŸ˜‰

Anyways, on to what I initially wanted to say- I’m not sure if you have heard of this website: www.livestrong.com, but my Dad told me about it. He knows I’m into all of the fitness/ health stuffΒ – he reads my blog sometimes (HI DAD!!!) – so I he told me to check it out.

ItΒ IS a great website- I was reading a bunch of articles on there today, but this one I really enjoyed. It was all about probiotics. Now, you all know how I feel about my yogurt…hence myblog name…but I also know that besides the AWESOME taste that it is also very beneficial to you. One of the main items that contains probiotics is yogurt. But, here is a little background on them- the information is taken from the article on the website.

Overview
Probiotics “may help with digestion and offer protection from harmful bacteria,” says Mayo Clinic nutritionist Katherine Zeratsky. Probiotics may also provide relief from some chronic health issues.

Description of Probiotics

Probiotics contain live and active cultures that help change the bacteria in your intestine or reintroduce bacteria to your body. Probiotics increase the “good” bacteria in the intestines or suppress the growth of “bad” bacteria. People often take probiotics to aid in digestion or to help protect themselves from bad bacteria.

Commercial Supplements

You will find probiotic supplements in pill form and in capsules that contain powder. Choose a supplement with a variety of strains of good bacteria, at least eight. Try to find a supplement that also includes a prebiotic, such as fructooligosaccarides, or FOS, to help protect the good bacteria against the acidic environment of the stomach.

Food Sources

You can easily add probiotics to your diet. Yogurt, miso and some fortified beverages–juices, soy drinks and acidophilus milk–contain probiotics. Check the food label for a statement indicating the presence of “live, active cultures.” Commercial forms of probioticsinclude L. acidophilus, Bifidobacterium, S. thermophilus and Saccharomyces.

pure l-o-v-e

Benefits

Probiotics may help in the treatment of diarrhea–especially following treatment with antibiotics–irritable bowel syndrome and lactose intolerance, according to the American Dietetic Association and MayoClinic.com, and in the prevention and treatment of vaginal yeast infections and urinary tract infections. Other benefits may include prevention and treatment of eczema in children, hastening recovery from some intestinal infections and reducing the severity or frequency of colds.

To read the entire article, just click on the link: How Probiotics Work

I actually do get a lot of probiotics in my diet- not only do I typically have one greek yogurt a day (kinda like an appleΒ a day keeps the doctor away…) but I also do take a probiotic in pill form. The pill that I take is actually a prescription – from my gastro.

The probiotic prescription that I take.

The reason that I got a prescription for this probiotic is due to my Crohn’s disease. Now, I’m not sure if you have even heard of Crohn’s disease. Have you? because most people have not. But, here is some background on that as well. (sorry if all of this info is boring…I hope not though)

What is Crohn’s disease?

Currently affecting an estimated 500,000 people in the United States, Crohn’s disease is a <!–chronic inflammatory bowel disease–>chronic inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) that causes inflammation of the digestive tract, also known as the gastrointestinal (GI) tract.

Crohn’s disease can affect any part of the GI tract, though it usually occurs at the end of the small intestine, also known as the ileum, and the beginning of the large intestine, also known as the colon. Crohn’s disease often is mistaken for other GI disorders that cause similar symptoms, such as ulcerative colitis, diverticulitis and irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

Here’s a good website if you want to learn more about it. That is where I got the information from above.

I was diagnosed when I was 16 years old. For some reason EVERY summer for about 2-3 years I would have the WORST stomach issues. (no details- don’t worry) but my doctor could NOT figure out what was wrong with me, she thought I just had a weird stomach flu.

Well, my Dad kept saying that he thought I should get tested for Crohn’s (you can take a blood sample to see) because HE has Crohn’s & it is hereditary. Well, guess what?! My dad is a genius!! πŸ™‚ I did in fact test positive for the disease.

Come to find out there is a varying degree of the disease & I am on the severe end. Basically the disease REALLY SUCKS…but THANKFULLY there are ways to relieve the symptoms & pains associated with it. With the disease I just get a lot of abdominal & stomach pains, & you have to go to the bathroom a LOT (like 12-15 or MORE times a day)…but, with the medication it helps all of these.

I have learned that I have to be on the medication for life. I CANNOT get off of it, even if I am feeling better- no pain, no other symptoms, etc. because if I go off of the medication my symptoms kick RIGHT BACK IN..and in FULL gear.

So I am REALLY curious if you have ever heard of Crohn’s disease or if you know someone with it?? Do you have any questions about the disease?

I hope you enjoyed this post & all of this information didn’t bore you to tears πŸ™‚ I’ll be back later with LOTS to share.

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I have heard of Crohn’s and I know a few people who have it as well. Very cool info on probiotics!
    The other day we bought the 12 pack of Chobani at Costco and I thought of you!!!

    Reply
  2. I have known 2 people with Crohn’s disease. I hate to hear that you have it. But, there is so much going on with medicine and research these days that you have to be hopeful. Can’t wait to hear about the workout!

    Reply
  3. This was NOT borning AT ALL! I love learning more and more about you and all the Crohn’s information was very interesting. My aunt thought she had it but it turned out she actually had a gluten-intolerance. I am going to check out that website for more information!

    Reply
    • I’ve actually thought about trying to go Gluten-free due to the affects (or it is effects…I can never remember)that gluten can have on your stomach. I’m wondering if it would help..and I’m wondering how hard it would be. Maybe I can do a one week trial….
      Thanks for the idea:)

      Reply
  4. wow thank you so much for this article πŸ™‚
    I actually haven’t heard much about Crohns disease, but I think its great that you got tested for it since your father had it!!

    ps. can’t wait to hear about the workout!

    Reply
  5. Hi Holly πŸ™‚ I love the info on Crohns – and definitely a good idea to get tested. Also, I LOVE how sleeping in totally makes for a stronger workout later in the day. Sleep is magical πŸ˜‰

    Meg

    Reply
  6. marshall has crohns. no bueno!

    Reply
  7. Loisann

     /  June 25, 2010

    I have crohn’s and I’m very Interested in Probiotics.Where do they have the Yogurt Chobani to buy.

    Thanks Loisann

    Reply
  8. I did know a girl with Crohn’s disease once, and I remember her hair falling out? Does this happen when you first get on the meds or something? I’m really sorry to hear you have that 😦 I have stomach issues like crazy, I’ve had an ulcer among other things, so I always sympathize when someone has issues like this 😦

    Reply
    • I never had this happen, but I’m SURE it could be a side effect. I know when I INITIALLY was diagnosed they tried to put me on steroids, but I refused…but I’m wondering if maybe they put her on steroids & it was a side effect that she had to it.

      Reply
  9. I was tested for Chrons actually. When all my tests came back negative they ended up telling me I was lactosintolerant though. I don’t really care though. I eat what I want πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

