Turtle Burgers

HI! 😀 Happy Saturday!!

Did you do anything exciting today?? Today I actually slept in a bit today, which was SO nice. Last night we watched Brooklyn’s Finest, & it was actually really good. I did like it, but I didn’t like Richard Gere’s part- it was weird seeing him as kind of a tough guy- I’m used to him in like Runaway Bride- haha. But overall, it was really good. If you like the ‘shot ’em up’/ police/ gang kind of movies, then you will like it. I actually prefer those kind of movies, or war movies. What are your favorite kind of movies?

FIRST things first, I received my package from Lisa!!

So awesome, right??!

 The things I’m MOST excited about..

Justin's peanut butter!!!!!!

I have yet to try this stuff & I’m STOKED that she sent me some 😀 She’s the best!!
THANKS LISA!!

Oh, & I finally finished up the stuff for my give-away- for the 1000th comment. I went to 3 Publix’s to get these Alternative Bagels 🙂 Long story as to why so many stores, but they are SO worth it.

vanilla goldfish, 2 lara bars, 1 cliff z bar, blueberry alternative bagels, soy crisps, $5 starbucks giftcard, & a sample of some dark chocolate peanut butter 🙂

Now, on to today. Like I said, we got up a bit later than normal- yay! I made some breakfast- 2 egg whites with spinach & a Sandwich thin with peanut butter & banana pieces.

hers & his iced coffee

upclose of my eggs 🙂

After that, we were going to head to the gym, but then I had a lot I needed to prepare for dinner tonight since my parents, sister & brother in law were coming to our house. I just wanted to get things prepped & get all of the groceries that I needed, so I headed to the store after breakfast.

Following my trip to the grocery store where I got all of the necessary supplies for the grocery store, Craig & I headed to the pool for a bit.

Then it was time for the gym. Today I did a workout similar to one I had seen on Katie’s site.

Exercise Reps Weight
Barbell Deadlifts 10       50lb. Barbell
Walking Lunges 10 (each) 10lb. Each
Barbell Deadlifts 4 sets, 8 reps 60lb. Barbell
Walking Lunges 10 (each) 5lb. Each
Barbell Deadlifts 4 sets, 8 reps 85lb. Barbell
Walking Lunges 10 (each) 5lb. Each
Barbell Deadlifts 4 sets, 8 reps 60lb. Barbell
Walking Lunges 10 (each) 5lb. Each
Barbell Deadlifts 4 sets, 8 reps 30lb. Barbell
Walking Lunges 10 (each) 5lb. Each
Split Squats 4 sets, 10reps 20lb. Barbell
SUPERSETTED WITH    
Prisoner Squats 4 sets, 10reps body weight
Leg Presses:    
*1 set normal stance 8 x 4 45lb.bar + 10lb each side
*1 set toes facing out 8 x 4 45lb.bar + 10lb each side
*1 set feet together 8 x 4 45lb.bar + 10lb each side
Calf Raises:    
*1 set normal stance 8 x2 45lb. Weight
*1 set toes facing out 8x 2 45lb. weight
*1 set toes facing in 8x 2 45lb. Weight
Walking Lunges 4 sets, 10 reps 5lb. Each
Sumo Squat & Calf Raise @ end 4 sets, 8reps 30lb. Dumbbell
Squats 2 sets, 8 reps 45lb. Bar+ 15lb. Each side
Squats 2 sets, 5 reps 45lb. Bar+ 20lb. Each side
Single Leg Squats 4 sets, 4 reps 10lb. each
Glute Pushbacks 4 sets, 10 reps 15lb. On cable pull
Bosu Ball crunches with wts. 2 sets, 25reps 30lb. Behind head
Stability ball passes 3 sets, 10 reps body weight
Stability ball crunches(legs straight) 3 sets, 10 reps body weight
Ball crunches, calves on ball 3 sets, 10 reps body weight

Total time @ gym: 1 hour, 17 minutes, 350 calories burned, Max HR: 144, Avg HR: 111

this workout was intense- REALLY heavy weights & I totally feel it now, especially in my lower back, but SO worth it!! Katie really kicks butt @ the gym 😀

After the gym it was kind of late to each lunch- 5pm & I wanted to start making dinner for everyone, so I grabbed one of these Muscle Milk’s– Light Vanilla

160 calories & 20g PROTEIN!

This was REALLY good- it was perfect for on the go. Of course I wouldn’t normally use it as a meal replacement, but I was in a bind & this was perfect for a quick re-fuel 🙂

For tonights dinner, I made quite a variety of things…and one thing is DEFINITELY NOT vegetarian approved…just a warning.
But, I’ll start with the Barley & bean salad recipe that I made. I just changed a few things- I’ll cross out what I changed.

Barley & Bean Salad

Ingredients:

1 cup (Quick cooking- what I used) pearl barley

2 cups water
1 cup canned 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup canned kidney beans 1 can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup fresh corn cut off the cob, or canned corn kernels, cooked according to package
1 can of corn
1/2 cup red onions, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced

Dressing:
1/3 cup red wine vinegar
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp dried parsley
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
2/3 cup 1/3 cup olive oil

Directions:

1. In a large saucepan, bring 2 cups water to boil. Stir in barley and reduce heat to medium-low. Cover and simmer 30-40 minutes or until tender 10- 12 minutes (since I used quick cooking barley). If using a rice cooker, increase water to 2 1/2 cups. Allow barley to cool.
2. In a large bowl, combine the cooled barley, beans, corn, red onion and bell pepper. Mix well.

3. Combine remaining ingredients, whisking in olive oil. Pour over salad and toss well.*
4. Serve at room temperature or chill in fridge for several hours.**

chilled about 4 hours, or more, & served!

This was DELICIOUS! I recommend this for any barley lover. It got rave reviews by EVERYONE…and they will give me their honest opinion- they know it doesn’t bother me if they say they don’t like something. You know, like how some parents will just say they like it if their kid makes something, not mine. I want complete honesty & they know it. So I can HONESTLY tell you that this was really good 😀

Now, on to what I made for the boys…WARNING out there to you vegetarians- there is a LOT of meat in these…
TURTLE BURGERS. First I have to tell you how this idea came about. I got this email yesterday from Craig, that was titled ‘Can you make this?’ & I opened it to a picture of this:

Now, when he sends me stuff like this, of course I HAVE to take him up on the challenge. I didn’t know when exactly I would be able to make these, but as soon as I found out that everyone wanted to come here for dinner, then I was ALL about this recipe!! 🙂 Here’s what I used for the ingredients:
-1 1/2 lbs. ground beef (the 85/15 stuff- you don’t want the super lean stuff because then it won’t be quite so juicy)
-2 lbs. bacon
-7 hotdogs
-4 slices American cheese

meat, meat & more meat

First, make the burgers- however you normally make burgers- I added some breadcrumbs (about 1/2 cup), some hot sauce, some BBQ sauce, onion powder, garlic powder, & Salt & pepper. (I didn’t measure sorry, just kind of poured/ sprinkled until I was content)

Then you make a bacon weave- just weave it in & out, as if you were sewing. This took up a lot of space, so I had to clear the counter.  

After you complete the weave, cut it into 4 equal pieces & place a burger in each piece.

add cheese

Then roll up the bacon around the burger- you might have to use toothpicks to make sure it stays in place.

For the hotdogs, cut them all in half- lengthwise & crosswise. For the pieces that you are using for legs, cut 3 little cuts in each of them- for the toes, for the tail- shape it into a tail (like a point), & for the head, just keep it round. After you have shaped them, kind of cut the places in the bacon wrapped burgers, for example, for the legs, cut 2 holes in each side so that you can put the legs in.


Bake them @ 400 degrees for 40 minutes.

baked turtles

inside

WHOA baby- those things were HUGE. They kind of picked the bacon off…well…except Craig- he ate it all. He regretted it after though, he said he doesn’t want bacon for MONTHS. Everyone (even those, including myself, who didn’t eat these) thought they were adorable. I love the idea, & the cool part is that you COULD make them all soy/ vegetarian if you wanted 🙂

Now, I had a wrap- on a Joseph’s Lavish Wrap bread:

I topped it with some plain hummus (there was no garlic 😦 ), some spinach, some slices of turkey, & 1 piece Laughing Cow Garlic & herb cheese

And then I baked it for about 10 minutes, just to make it warm 🙂

Now with my dinner, I also enjoyed some watermelon, & some barley & bean salad.

my dinner

Now onto dessert- I made Chocolate Peanut Butter Nirvana Cake that I found on JIF’s website. I only made a few changes.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Nirvana Cake<!–

This Recipe Has Not Yet Been Rated

–>

Ingredients:
CAKE
Crisco® Flour No-Stick Spray
1 (18.25 oz.) box Pillsbury® Devils Food Cake
1/2 cup Crisco® Pure Vegetable Oil Apple sauce
1 1/4 cups water
4 large eggs
1 (3.9 oz.) package instant chocolate pudding and pie filling mix
2 cups (12 oz. pkg.) semi-sweet chocolate chips
FROSTING
1/2 cup Pillsbury® Whipped Supreme® Vanilla Frosting
1/2 cup Jif® Creamy Peanut Butter
1/4 teaspoon almond extract vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
Chocolate curls Reese’s pieces for garnish (optional)
Directions:
1. HEAT oven to 350°F. Spray a 12-cup fluted pan with flour no-stick cooking spray.
2. COMBINE cake mix, apple sauce, water, eggs and pudding mix in a large bowl with an electric mixer at low speed until moistened. Beat 2 minutes at medium speed. Stir in chocolate chips. Pour batter into prepared pan.

before baking

3. BAKE 50 to 55 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 20 minutes. Invert onto serving plate. Cool completely.

baked & ready to frost!

4. BEAT frosting, peanut butter, almond extract and milk in medium bowl with electric mixer until well combined. Spoon frosting over cooled cake. Garnish with Reese’s pieces, if desired.
Pretty good looking, huh? 🙂 I didn’t have a piece…YET…only because I’m pretty full- might have some tomorrow. But I did take a bite of Craig’s & it was DELICIOUS!! So easy to make, & so good. And, it’s peanut butter & chocolate- you CAN’T go wrong with that 😉
Well, that has been my day so far. I LOVE spending time with my family! They are still here- watching a movie…but it’s nice having them around. I have gotten to see them a lot lately, which is so nice.
I hope you have a great night & I’ll see you in the morning!
Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. you are a MACHINE in the kitchen. Love the burgers—so cute and fun. Perfect for a party! and the cake…yum!

    oh, and they discontinued the cinnamon Justins PB–so savor those packets. You will never be able to buy them again!

    I’m so glad you liked the package—some of its just some random stuff, but I figured you might like it!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much- you rock 🙂
      I didn’t know that about the cinnamon- I was so excited about that one too…because I just love cinnamon. Bummer. I will definitely savor it though- thanks for sharing it, even though your supply is limited.
      I do like your mom’s postcards as well, they are beautiful! I’ll send the site around to everyone.

      Reply
  2. oh, and spread the word about my moms cards if you like them! Get all your family to buy them! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Judy

     /  July 10, 2010

    lol that’s ingenious 🙂 I really like that idea.
    thanks for the tutorial!

    oh and your style of writing is really easy to read, and by that I mean you dont make it all complicated. Just a nice smooth style that is good:)

    Reply
  4. Ah that salad looks great. Aren’t food goodie packages the best!!

    Reply
  5. That’s alot of cooking and baking for you tonight! Those turtle burgers look craaaaazzzzyyyyy.

    Reply
  6. oh girl, you are the ONE WHO KICKS BUTT!! I freakin love you. thank you for the shoutout- it made me smile so big!! Im so glad you loved the workout.. just wait til tommo and the day after when YO BOOTY AND LEGS ARE SO SORE!! its a good sore tho 🙂 UMMM THOSE BURGERS LOOK AMAZING TO ME!! I must make those ASAP!

    Reply
  7. I love spending time with my family too! 🙂 I love the burgers how cute are those!?!? That flat bread is the bomb too! 100 cals and soooo big! 🙂

    Reply
  1. My 7 Links & Puppy Update « Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices

Leave a Reply

