DANGER of Artificial Sweetners

Hey There 🙂

Hope you’re Monday is off to a good start…or rather Monday afternoon- since it’s almost 3pm here.

This morning I decided to think outside the gym & do something at home. I actually decided this last night. I like to have one day (@ least) outside of the gym. It helps me get even mre creative with my workouts & think of new stuff to do.

Today I started out with a little bit of Jillian…oh ya..love her!!
I did some of the Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism video.

This one is my favorite video for cardio moves. I know the video very well & I picked out the most intense circuits.
I did:
Warm up
Circuit one (lots of kickboxing kind of moves- side kicks, front kicks, etc.)
Circuit two (lots of jumps- squat jumps, burpees, plie jumps, & 180 jumps)
Circuit four (lots of basic plyometrics- butt kicks, high knees, et.)
Circuit six (hardest..I think- lots of crazy jumping moves- including standing high knees, squat jumps, etc.)

I LOVE this video & I have never worn my heart rate monitor with it before…until today! Now, remember, I skipped over the ‘slower’ circuits – like the ab ones & just focusd on the hard circuits with lots of jumping & running around.
Now, for only about 28 minutes of this video, I burned 200 calories!! Crazy, right?? I had NO idea that I was burning this much while doing this video..I mean, I knew I would get super sweaty & breathe heavy, but I always underestimated the amount I burned. So I was really happy to found out the truth & see how much I was actually burning. One day I will do the whole video & find out exactly how much I burn during the whole thing.

After this, I did more plyometrics 😀 I found this fun workout on Heather’s page: (I just changed the amount of time that you do each exercise from 20 seconds to 30 seconds & I didn’t take any rest)

Set 1:
Sprint @ 9.0 (on treadmill)
Push ups- regular
Plyo Jacks 
 
Set 2:
Sprint @ 9.0
Burpees
Line taps
 
Set 3:
Sprint @ 9.0
Squat Jumps
Split Jumps/ Jumping Lunges
 
Set 4:
Sprint @ 9.0
Wide-arm push ups
Plie jacks
 
Set 5:
Sprint @ 9.0
Spider Push ups
Squat jumps
 
Set 6:
Sprint @ 9.0
Split Jumps/ Jumping Lunges
Speed Skaters
 
Set 7: 
Sprint @ 9.0
Air Jacks
Walking Lunges

Total time: 48 minutes, Calories burned: 400!!!!!

I have been receiving a few emails on some good workouts for those that don’t go to the gym, or canno afford it- this workout is GREAT!! The Jillian Michaels DVD is only like $14.99, but I bet you could find it cheaper on a site like Craigslist.com or Ebay.com.

I really enjoyed this workout & it was a nice break from the gym. Sometimes it really does help ‘think outside the box (gym) 😀

Now on to an important topic to me- Artificial Sweeteners. A while ago, I had seen a post that Courtney had done on how the artificial sweetners affect her stomach. It got me thinking…
As you know, I have Crohn’s disease (as I did  post about this earlier) & I was having a lot of pain from it- it isn’t as bad now thanks to my wonderful medication 😀 But when she said this, about the negative affect of the artificial sugars having on her stomach, it made me do some research on it. I am a HUGE Splenda fan & use it frequently. I actually never realized how MUCH I use of it, until I read her post.

Just when I decided to do a post about this topic, I get an email from Craig’s mom about this EXACT topic!! Crazy, right!?! I think it was MEANT TO BE that I talk about this today.

If you have time, here is a story about the affects of artificial sweetners, that I pulled from the email: 

In October of 2001, my sister started getting very sick.  She had stomach spasms and she was having a hard time getting around. Walking was a major chore.  It took everything she had just to get out of bed; she was in so much pain.
By March 2002, she had undergone several tissue and muscle biopsies and was on 24 various prescription medications.   The doctors could not determine what was wrong with her.   She was in so much pain, and so sick she just knew she was dying.


She put her house, bank accounts, life insurance, etc., in her oldest daughter’s name, and made sure that her younger children were to be taken care of.

She also wanted her last hooray, so she planned a trip to Florida (basically in a wheelchair) for March 22nd.

On March 19, I called her to ask how her most recent tests went, and she said they didn’t find anything on the test, but they believe she had MS.

I recalled an article a friend of mine e-mailed to me and I asked my sister if she drank diet soda?   She told me that she did.   As a matter of fact, she was getting ready to crack one open that moment.

I told her not to open it, and to stop drinking the diet soda!   I e-mailed her an article my friend, a lawyer, had sent.  My sister called me within 32 hours after our phone conversation and told me she had stopped drinking the diet soda AND she could walk!  The muscle spasms went away. She said she didn’t feel 100% but, she sure felt a lot better.

She told me she was going to her doctor with this article and would call me when she got home.

Well, she called me, and said her doctor was amazed!  He is going to call all of his MS patients to find out if they consumed artificial sweeteners of any kind.   In a nutshell, she was being poisoned by the Aspartame in the diet soda… and literally dying a slow and miserable death.

When she got to Florida March 22, all she had to take was one pill, and that was a pill for the Aspartame poisoning!   She is well on her way to a complete recovery.  And she is walking!   No wheelchair! This article saved her life.   

Here are the KEY things that I also learned (in case you don’t have time to read the story, READ THIS):

I will explain why Aspartame is so dangerous:   When the temperature of this sweetener exceeds 86 degrees F, the wood alcohol in ASPARTAME converts to formaldehyde and then to formic acid, which in turn causes metabolic acidosis.  Formic acid is the poison found in the sting of fire ants

The methanol toxicity mimics, among other conditions, multiple sclerosis and systemic lupus.

Many people were being diagnosed in error.   Although multiple sclerosis is not a death sentence, Methanol toxicity is!

‘If you are using ASPARTAME (Nutra Sweet, Equal, Spoonful, etc) and you suffer from fibromyalgia symptoms, spasms, shooting, pains, numbness in your legs, Cramps, Vertigo, Dizziness, Headaches, Tinnitus, Joint pain, Unexplainable depression, anxiety attacks, slurred speech, blurred vision, or memory loss you probably have ASPARTAME poisoning!’  

Diet soda is NOT a diet product! It is a chemically altered, multiple SODIUM (salt) and ASPARTAME containing product that actually makes you crave carbohydrates.

It is far more likely to make you GAIN weight!

These products also contain formaldehyde, which stores in the fat cells, particularly in the hips and thighs. 

Formaldehyde is an absolute toxin and is used primarily to preserve ’tissue specimens.’

Children are especially at risk for neurological disorders and should NEVER be given artificial sweeteners.

All of this stuff sounds crazy!! I REALLY need to break my habit.

Any advice on how to do this?? / What did you use instead??

Do you use a lot of artificial sweetners?? I actually used SIX packets today 😦 – in unsweet tea….and  then I had Sugar Free jelly on my toast this morning. Oh, & artificial sweetner in my yogurt too 😦 Goodness, I’m in for some WORK & ASAP!

I actually do get dizzy quite often, not frequently, but often. I also do have blurred vision here & there. I realize it does not mean that for a fact it’s from these artificial sweetners, but it definitely COULD be. It just worries me & I think I should stay away from them. (even if not for all of the other reasons, but due to the affect they have on your belly– bloating, gassy kind of feeling- yuck)

Any advice or other information that you have to give would be MUCH appreciated!!

I’ll catch ya later 😀

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Ah so glad you tried the workout! Nicely done. I like that you added time to the exercises. The reason I did 20 secs was mostly b/c that’s about the space I had room for a sprint – much longer and we’d have been in the woods (since we were at the lake) LOL. I try to stick to stevia when possible and very rarely drink diet sodas. I don’t buy many sugar-free products now that I’m thinking about it. But, I know artificial “stuff” pops up in the most unlikely places.

    Reply
  2. Jae

     /  July 12, 2010

    Im trying to drastically reduce my consumption of diet sodas and sugarfree gum because aspartame apparently causes hypothyroidism anddd gives me migraines ><

    Reply
  3. Crazy, right? I’ve been using PureVia (stevia) and have really taken a liking to it. It took a little time to get used to it, but now it’s definitely my sweetener of choice! I’ve heard its good in liquid form too, but I haven’t been able to find that yet.

    Reply
  4. I love Jillian’s workouts! They’re definitely a nice chage from the gym routine. I used to have a lot of Splenda but I cut back about a year ago. I tried stevia but I didn’t like it (I noticed a bitter aftertaste). Now I use honey and I really love it. Plus, honey has a lot of health benefits (and if you buy it local it helps with allergies too). Hope this helps! 🙂

    Reply
  5. I recently gave up Splenda too, so I know how difficult it is. I’ve switched to Truvia, which is from the Stevia plant. It’s very much like sugar and I love it. I’ve also cut out diet soda, unless it is the only thing offered to me at a friends house. I scour labels on cereals, sauces and yogurts to ensure I’m not eating the fake stuff. It’s not easy, but it can be done! I’m not saying I’m perfect, but I definitely pay attention to it a lot more now.

    Reply
  6. Scary stuff! I recently gave up all artificial sweeteners…instead I have the real deal in moderation.

    Reply
  7. Michelle

     /  July 13, 2010

    I use stevia! It’s all natural. I use to use splenda and OMG is al i can say. it gave me horrible stomach pains, headaches, and made my dizzy. I will NEVER go back. I also cut out the Sugar free gum, and diet coke from life. I’m telling you i feel SOOO much better!!

    Reply
  8. So funny, I just took that video out from the library yesterday!

    Anyway, I try to avoid artificial sweeteners after reading Skinny Bitch. I really don’t think they are doing you any good, Holls. I suggest using a little bit of honey in your tea and such.

    Reply
  9. I used to be ‘addicted’ to splenda and nutra sweet~ until I found stevia! I use NuStevia..its the only brand that i have found that doesn’t have artificial flavor or weird after taste!

    I use it in coffee/tea/etc! It’s wonderful! 🙂

    Reply
  10. Laura

     /  July 13, 2010

    Just use sugar, honey, maple syrup etc. What’s wrong with real sugar? It’s not like you have to use a ton of it.

    Reply
  11. I want to get more of Jillians workout DVDs. I havent heard anything bad about them yet.

    I used stevia or truvia quite a bit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

