Changes Changes Everywhere

Hi Guys 😀

Hope you were able to check out my last post about your sleeping position & personality tie in. It’s pretty interesting.

For today’s breakfast, I decided to head back to my roots…a GREEN MONSTER!! I haven’t had one in FOREVER & I figured today was the day to have one.
Into the mix went a TON of fruit:
-1 apple (well, 3/4 in the smoothie, 1/4 I ate while making it 🙂 )
-1/2 banana
-handful of strawberries
-handful of blueberries
-1/4 cup 0% Greek Yogurt
-about 1/2 cup Almond Milk

more like a purple monster 😉

Then it was on to lunch – which was the same ol’ same ol’. BUT I did have some watermelon today!! WOOHOO!

before

after

Today I was reading Lexi’s blog & she was talking about how it is BAD to eat the same thing every day because your body gets used to the calorie amount. Instead, you should change the amount of calories you eat everyday- that way it switches things up on your body & it has to adjust. Of course that doesn’t mean go absolutely crazy one day & eat tons of calories & then the next restrict calories. It means stay with in a range, but fluxuate within that range. Say for instance, your range is 1300- 1700- try to change up how much you eat daily. One day eat 1350, the next 1500 & then 1700, then 1300, etc etc. You get the idea, I’m sure.  Even though my dinner’s are usually different, I think I really need to work on changing my repetitive breakfasts & lunches…and for your sake it will be more interesting 😉
What do you think of this? Do you vary your calorie intake daily?
I don’t necessarily count my calories everyday..but I pretty much know how how much I’m eating at every meal. I need to CHANGE some things…& switch up my meals.

This afternoon I had some iced coffee that I made from the packets of Iced- coffee to- go that I got from Starbucks.

I used a 1/2 packet.


I ALSO switched from this:

To This:

STEVIA!!

I added ONE packet to my iced coffee & OH MAN this stuff is ‘strong’- as in, really sweet. One packet went a LONG way.
Here’s a quote from the Stevia website about the product:
‘Stevia is the world’s only all natural sweetener with zero calories, zero carbohydrates and a zero glycemic index.  Harvested from a plant in the daisy family, stevia provides a truly delicious and healthy alternative to sugar or chemical sweeteners. The sweet part of the stevia herb is extracted and converted into an intensely sweet powder. This sweet powder is then blended with other all-natural ingredients to create the delicious and healthy sweetener.’

I definitely will be sticking to this stuff!! Not only is it better for you & will hopefully help some of my stomach issues..but it also will probably save me $$ since I won’t be using as many packets, like I would for Splenda.

For my afternoon snack I had:

Quaker True Delights Bar

Quaker Cafe Squares- Dark Raspberry Mocha– DELICIOUS!! I really liked the flavor of this bar/ square…but I don’t know if I was just REALLY hungry this afternoon, or if in fact it wasn’t enough, but it didn’t fill me up enough. I was STARVIN’ MARVIN after this, I think it actually made me hungrier. But, I really enjoyed the flavor. I will definitely continue buying these..and trying other flavors 😀

I also had some cherries:

This afternoon I had to run some errands- like BJ’s & the dry cleaners…and to Best Buy to check out Sirius Radio. Does anyone have that?? Do you like it?? Please let me know, would love some feedback 🙂

For dinner we just had leftovers- STOUP!!- EVEN better the 2nd time around. Like they always say, with soup & stew- it tastes better after it sits for a day or two. YUM!

bowl of stoup + piece of bread

Now I’m off to continue watching the Bachelorette- Team Roberto!!! 🙂 Actually, I like BOTH of the guys left- now that Frank is gone!! WOOHOO- I never really liked him anyways- 30 years old & living at home..No thanks.

Hope you have a great night & YAY we made it past another Monday!!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’ve heard all kinds of things about changing up calories and carb cycling all the way to eating the same thing every day. I know my calories do vary, but likely not by too much. I would do more research on it before changing how I ate. Also, I do think that each person is different and has different needs based on their activity levels, types of workouts, etc.

    Reply
  2. It’s calorie cycling or zig zagging. I used to do this at times. Too much work for me. And I truly believe if you are eating intuitively, your calories will naturally zig zag bc one day you might not be hungry so you will eat lower calories–the next day you will be hungrier b/c cals were low the day before and you eat more. It works itself out.

    There are many methods of ways to get the perfect body. None of them are worth it to me anymore–too much work, mind games, and trying to “on” with calories.

    By the way–were those fruity cheerios?! If so, those are my fav cheerios! YUM!

    Reply
  3. I know varying calories can be helpful, but I don’t think it has to be planned out too closely and that it happens naturally. I think it is more important to switch up what we eat to get different nutrients, vitamins, etc in. I know I could work harder on it though. I tend to eat repetitive lunches and dinners too because it is so much easier and makes for a cheaper grocery bill.

    Reply
  4. Liz

     /  July 20, 2010

    Idk about varying the number of calories so much as varying your work outs… But that’s my opinion! I stick to the 1200-1500 cals a day range depending on appetite, etc.

    On a side note, your watermelon & bings look so delicious. I like to think of fruit as Mother Nature’s candy. Now I have to go plow through my strawberries. 😉

    Reply
  5. Can I just say that I love that you have fruit loops in your yogurt? 🙂

    As for the calorie thing, my nutritionist said to keep your calories within 100-300 calories of each other each day…for me, I eat under 1400 during the week and then will eat nearly 2500 on the weekend..no bueno!

    Reply
  6. Nice job on the sweetener switch! 🙂

    Reply
  7. I forget what it’s called, but there is this diet where you eat like… only 500 calories one day and then like, 3000 the next day, and keep alternating. That’s definitely not what I talked about in the post! I think if you’re eating the exact same number of calories every day though, you probably aren’t getting enough variety in your food.

    Reply
  8. i know i dont eat the same calories everyday because i dont eat the same thing everyday. i eat generally the same things but never the exact same bfast/lunch or whatever. i think i stay in a range though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

